We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and not a Caribbean experience in the slightest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and not a Caribbean experience in the slightest”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Apart from its location next to the airport I would say DO NOT book this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing Caribbean break or anything other than the equivalent of an all-inclusive motel.

Rooms are extremely basic, the free internet is useless and the food/drinks are, to put it politely, "average". Some of the staff are pleasant but a lot are disinterested and half-ignore you.

The communal area is, however, perfectly comfy and the evening entertainment is fun. There is a variety of places to eat and i'd recommend booking the chinese upstairs (still free, but reservations needed in advance) as its much better than the general dining area.

The hotel does have a rather useful grill-type restaurant open all day for snacks and the staff behind here are the nicest i've come across in this hotel. Unfortunately the choice of things on the menu are very "chips and burgers".

If budget is your prime consideration then i would understand giving it a try, otherwise, dont bother.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,330
    1,877
    491
    164
    119
See reviews for
2,486
2,080
76
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,723)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This has been one of the best all-inclusive resorts I've ever been too. Clean rooms, top-notch facilities, pools and bars and location. Best of all, the staff was absolutely wonderful! Apart from the resort being great, the staff was very courteous and helpful in every way possible. There is something for everyone to do at all times. During the day, they organised activities unless you prefer to just relax in the pools all day, and in the night, they provide entertainment for your pleasure. Food was also great and the scenery provided from its location is just remarkable. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone traveling to St.Lucia and if I'm visiting again, here is exactly where I would go! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pwincess_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the Harmony section which is for adults only There was only a miscroscopic swimming pool in this area and the lack of sun umbrelas was a real problem. We think there was only about 8 in total. The main restaurants did not have a segreagted area for adults and in the evenings there was not a quiet bar exclusively for adults. The timings of the entertainment was por and apart fom the disco which was for the younger element there was virtually no live entertainment after 21.30. The beach was on the Atlantic ocean and was not really suitable for swimming, The hotel was generally rather tired and needs an update.Trips from the hotel were very expensive. On the plus side we thought the staff were fantastic and the food was generally a lot better than we anticipated.Only 5 minutes from the airport but any noise was minimal. As adults in their early 50's this holiday was nt ideal for us but we would think anyone with young children it would be perfect. we would not return here again but it was very reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: A lack of sun umbrellas in the harmony section , so if shade is important be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadeandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just spent a week here and overall had a very good time...I'd rate our whole experience more like a 3.5 with the staff getting a 5(except front desk/reception...they get a 1...confrontational, not helpful and just kinda mean... very unlike the rest of the hotel staff), hotel property a 4 and food a 3. We went with our 2 daughters(age 17 and 14) and really enjoyed the wonderful weather(86/79 everday), the genuine friendliness of the St Lucia people(hotel staffers who stood out- Big Ted, Da Joker, Skeete, Dean at the pool, Kay....too many to name but most everyone was always smiling and very helpful). the warm ocean water, 4 nice sized pools(never an issue to get a chair), walks along the Atlantic Ocean(there is some sea weed but they clean the beach multiple times a day...ocean is a little rough at times but most days kids were playing freely in the water and on the beach), the refreshing breeze, the lazy river and just hanging out playing pool or reading a book in the lobby(since the resort is off by itself, you will have some downtime and we wish we would have brought some cards and/or games to play in the lobby(lobby has free Wi-Fi that is fairly reliable...suggestion to hotel to have a bunch of games available in lobby area and also redo the pool tables and get some new pool sticks and volleyballs). Alot of families with kids under 10 visiting last week and most seemed to be enjoying themselves. My wife and I would not go back to Coconut Bay if it was just the 2 of us(again, resort is remote and very little nite life for adults on the property), but would recommend if you have a family(especially with younger kids) or traveling as a large group with multiple age levels. We stayed on the Harmony side in a newly renovated room that was clean and had a great view... I believe all rooms have a balcony with an ocean and pool view. Food was just ok....plentiful but didn't stand out....they have 3 "specialty restaurants' that you have to make a reservation for but do not cost anymore. Calabash(creole but not very hot and most sauces on the side)was the best one, Silk(chinese)was good and the Italian one was ok(better than the buffet). We rode horses along the beach from a vendor not associated with the hotel(Smallz) as we asked a couple who went on the one the hotel booked and they said the people were not very skilled at riding and they felt a little nervous. $40 for a nice walk on the beach and up a little bluff overlooking the ocean. We also booked a half day snorkel cruise on the Majestic thru the hotel and the boat and crew were great but the transportation back was over 45 minutes late picking us up and it was an hour+ ride back on a very hilly and curvy road. Also went zipling thru Treetop Adventures(we booked that directly) and had an awesome time on their Triple Adventure for $99 with Erika(aka Sunshine....everyone seems to have a fun nickname). Loved the island and the people, would go back to CB as a larger family getaway or with friends who had kids our age...as a couple I'd try one on the other resorts on the island more geared to adults.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Savs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the resort staff is WONDERFUL and the food is delicious, however, I was expecting much nicer rooms and more of a separation between the adult and kids sides of the resort. My husband and I still had a great time, but were a little disappointed with the resort. It could use an update.

If you want to go on excursions, book them by a company before your trip, the hotel has limited excursions and they are a bit pricier.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean, if you pay extra for the "ocean view" it's just on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCKB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have always vacationed in Jamaica, and due to the place we always went closing up, we decided to look elsewhere and ended up with a great deal here at Coconut Bay. We thought the getting fromt he airport to the resort and checking in was the fastest I have ever seen. All happened probably within a half hour.

The rooms - absolutely fine - however note that the sun rises probably about 5:30 and if your heavy curtain isn't closed you will be blasted with sun first thing in the morning - thats a bit too early - but can't change mother nature. The beach parties from Caribbean night to the 2nd one were fantastic. However kind of hard to pay full attention to the food in the dark but over all the food was great. We did do the caribbean restaurant one night and it was very good.

We like sitting on a beach - and unfortunately - this beach isn't the best. Lots of seaweed and although they take care of it well - its on the Atlantic side, so choppy, and cannot snorkel, which is something as a family we love doing. So it was pool side the whole week.

Mitch at the swim up bar - AWESOME. just know they do NOT skimp on alcohol in your drinks - lol, beware, but he is great and deserved his "employee of the month status". The pool itself was nice, but the kids enjoyed the waterpark with the slides and the lazy river. Bringing a 11-12 yrs olds - they were able to enjoy all those amenities on their own without mom and dad following them around, however mom and dad did partake in the lazy river and slides a bit too.

We did rent a 43 ft private sail boat for a day - they picked us up, Drove us to Soufriere, where we got the boat - and the sailed up the west coast up to Marigot Bay and then back - was an excellent day and a way to truly see the beauty of the island from the best view point - the water.

Overall - a great stay, ONly problem is getting in and out there is a single flight - we had to plan it for a layover overnight in Miami both there and back - so really spent closer to four full days of a vacation pretty much traveling, that is the downside, when you can get a 3 hr flight straight into Jamaica and start your vacation right off the bat.

Come and stay - will we be back, possibly. But the sun is hot, and again, prefer beachfront and to enjoy the beach, so Negril has probably spoiled us, but I would look for a place again with total beachfront access.

Room Tip: They are all the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I just returned from the Coconut Bay is not a bad place but the food is disgusting, the hotel is very old and in need of renovation,service is very weak, Fun for kids.
We had ocean front room our bar in the room was always empty we had to ask for water
and everything else was ok. 3 star resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xyleganka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
22.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
24.0 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 4 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing