We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Coconut Bay with our 3 daughters aged 8, 6 and 4 and had a fantastic time. Like many others we had read the reviews before we left and having done so were surprised by some of the complaints. This is a great family resort and we met many families that had been there 2/3 plus times. There is plenty of space for everyone and our girls particularly liked the swimming pool with swim up bar. This is a great pool for families as it is big and there is a shallow paddling area for little children as well as tables in the water by the bar to enjoy the selection of non alcoholic (apparently 24) and alcoholic (16) cocktails. Beware of the rum cocktails as the bartenders don't hold back! The food was very varied and you could eat from 6.30am until 1am if you wanted to! In the buffet restaurant the evening menu had a different theme each night (Italian, Asian, western, American, seafood and so on) with the menu posted up each day at the entrance of the restaurant and the weeks timetable available at reception. Twice a week weather permitting tables were laid up by the family pool and the food served outside with evening entertainment on the stage. The three alternative restaurants were good and made a pleasant change and each had a couple of children's choices although the children could have any of the adult choices too. Our kids loved the free popcorn and candy floss available during the day. The beach grill was good to use if you didn't fancy going to the buffet restaurant although a selection of the buffet food also available outside. The lazy river and slides were great and the kids loved them. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor of the splash side (218/219 interconnecting) and I just can't understand why some people moan. The rooms air conditioning was effective, there was always plenty of hot water, the beds were comfortable and Veronica who cleaned our room was excellent and friendly and happy to accommodate any requests. There was plenty of storage/cupboard space too. Ok the TV was a bit dated but we didn't come on holiday to watch TV and if you did want to watch it there were lots of channels to choose from. As for the beach yes as others have said there is seaweed and it got particularly bad the last two days of our holiday but before then we swam in the sea most days and there was a platform you could swim to and jump off. The breeze off the ocean was very welcoming but be careful as you can easily burn as a result! My husband and I used the spa three times and loved the massages particularly the couples one outside ( 219 dollars) overlooking the ocean. Bliss! The ONLY thing I would say slightly negative is that the sun beds around the activity pool would benefit from some umbrellas as between activities the pool and poolside sunloungers were hardly used and we put this down to lack of shade offered. This could be easily rectified. Overall we had a brilliant time, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we would recommend Coconut Bay to others. I think there are people on here that would find something to complain about everywhere they go. No hotel is perfect so give Coconut Bay a break!

Room Tip: To get a proper ocean view you probably need to choose a 3rd/4th floor room if you are on the splash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worboys370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William104, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are appreciative to you for having spared some time to share your experience of your family holiday at Coconut Bay on the site of Trip Advisor. It has been our duty to look after you and your family and I am happy to see that as a team, we did meet up to these expectations.

We will be delighted to welcome you and your family back for another memorable holiday with us to renew these moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,192
    1,811
    474
    161
    116
See reviews for
2,384
1,983
73
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at the end of May/June in a premium ocean view room in the Adults only Harmony side. We had 2 amazing weeks. The weather was perfect, we only had a very quick shower in the daytime one day and the rest of the time it rained whilst we were in bed at night.
The hotel is nice and they do try very hard to look after you. We usually stay in a higher rated hotel so have to remember this whilst I write this review.
The food was good quality in the restaurants although the snack bar was extremelly slow and there was always a bulild up of people waiting for food to be cooked around lunchtime. I think it would have been much better to have had someone cooking and replenishing rather than cook to order.
The first week of our holiday we didnt have many children staying at the hotel and those that were seemed to be well controlled, but the second week it was half term in the UK and we had loads of children arrive. Unfortunatley the parents let them loose in the restaurants and we had impliments going from one dish to another and lids left off food to go cold and children running around the tables crashing into people and dropping plates. Dont get me wrong I do love chilren but think parents should keep an eye on them even though they are on holiday too.
The room was comfortable and beautifully clean,Our maids regularly left notes to wish us a nce time. The aircon worked well and they were updating the rooms. New furniture was arriving daily. We had a gorgeous sea view.
We celebrated our anniversary and thought they had forgotten but came home one night to find the room decorated and champagne on ice.
We visited Silks twice and Capri just the once and had good service and nice food seved by very good staff.
We did the island trip reccomended by our Sunlink Rep. "Lettice" or Romain (his real name) was our guide and he was so knowledgable, the island tour was the highlight of our holiday. We were exhasted at the end but a day we shall never forget :)
The pools were clean and the areas around the hotel were kept spotless by the tireless work of the housekeeping staff and bar staff.
The Beach was cleaned everyday and we did not find the sea grass to be a problem.
Drinks were good and we tried several of their coctails.
We did go to the managment coctail party and found this enjoyable, we saw the manager several times after this but were saddened that he didnt stop to say hello to his guests.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and I would like to congratulate all the staff that work so hard to try to ensure that we do enjoy C-Bay. We will go back to St Lucia and may well stop at C-Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salhhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William104, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our beautiful resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I just got back from St. Lucia. We absolutely LOVED the Coconut Bay Resort & Spa. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We traveled with a group of 25 people (14 adults and 9 children) and we had a wonderful time. The resort was kid friendly and the children enjoyed themselves immensely. The day camp was the best I've ever seen and the staff/counselors were great. I'ld like to thank Samantha, Francisca, Sarah, Eulia, Nasha, Neville and Alice for making us feel so comfortable leaving the kids with them while we enjoyed some well needed adults only time. I'd also like to shout out our favorite bartenders Sherma and Akon for keeping us well supplied with the best cocktails! Excellent value for the price.
But don't go to the seafood night in town.....Unless you want seafood in the hood w/plenty of stray dogs to share it with!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William104, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our resort on Trip Advisor. We’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! It’s great to hear that the kids were well taken cared of at the Kids Club and our bartenders kept you well supplied with our best cocktails.

Thank you for choosing Coconut Bay, we hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

we went may 2012 for our honeymoon and it was fantastic, dont be put off these moaners must have been to a different coconut bay to us, there was seweed but we managed to swim in the sea it didnt cause a problem, the food was fantastic, and all staff ever so friendly and as for wild dogs there were 2 one called spot who was the softest dog ever like a cross jack russell who lived at coconut bay and his mate who was so timid he didnt come near, also there were donkeys in the grounds which we used to take apples to and sausages for the dogs lol, the rooms are a bit dated but were clean and they are only to sleep in we had a fab time and would deffo return excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William104, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your home during your recent trip to St. Lucia.

I trust you have enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments indeed confirm that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for having spared some time in sharing this delightful experience to other potential visitors on the site of Trip Advisor.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

4 out of 5 for a 3 star resort. I would consider Coconut Bay to be a value priced resort compared to other Carribean locations and that you get what you pay for and probably a little more. If you read enough previous reviews then you should have realistic expectations of what to expect. My experience at the resort was consistent with the majority of previous reviews not counting the exteme "don't go" reviews (I read every review for the last 6 months). We are a family of 5 ages 6,11 & 13.

Positives -

1. Family Friendly - great kids club, water slides, drinks for kids, snacks and food
2. Smaller size resort - easy to navigate and could let the kids go
3. Buffet - better than average with great baked goods and options
4. Availability of seating at the pool and beach (except Sunday for some reason)
5. Great breezes and lobby for relaxing
6. Customs have a special line for families on arrival

Opportunities -

1. The grill and buffet always felt one person short - would have liked a faster serivce
2. No poolside or beach wait staff - not a big deal, but would have been a nice to have
3. Event staff could have been more organized

The beach - quiet with more beach than I thought on the splash side - no beach on the harmony side. This is not the carribean sea, this is the Atlantic ocean. If you are looking to spend hours in the clear blue sea snorkeling, this is not for you. However, the ocean is great for cooling off.

Our room - adjoining rooms were a great option for a family. They were relatively clean and functional, its a value resort - your not staying at the Ritz. If the rooms were sealed tighter, they could save a lot of energy with the AC running all the time and the floors wouldn't get so dusty so quickly. Don't bring or leave food out in your room.

We got lucky with very litte rain the week we stayed in July and overall enjoyed our vacation

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rich49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William104, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and the areas of opportunity which you highlighted. We are happy that you had a good family vacation. We hope to accommodate you again very soon in our Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My fiancé and I traveled to St. Lucia in April and stayed at Coconut Bay for four nights. We are planning a destination wedding in St. Lucia for next year, and put a lot of research into choosing a resort. We decided on Coconut Bay for a number of reasons: numerous positive reviews on TripAdvisor, closeness to the airport, kid-friendly policy, affordable and appealing wedding packages, etc. Our travel agent had nothing but good things to stay about the resort, so we felt confident in our decision to choose Coconut Bay for our wedding. In order to get a first-hand look at the resort, our travel agent coordinated a site visit for us.

Upon arrival at the airport, we had no problem finding the shuttle to transport us to the resort. When we got there, we loved the open-air lobby and complimentary glass of delicious rum punch. The front desk staff was extremely polite and professional. We had contacted the resort prior to our arrival date to let them know that we would arrive before 3 pm, and our room was (fortunately) ready when we checked-in. The room was not luxurious, but it was quaint and comfortable. We did have an issue with little ants in the bathroom; the front desk promptly sent someone to spray, and the issue was resolved. We didn’t have any other issues with bugs. We also had no problems with air conditioning during our stay. The shower was quite small, but we were okay with it.

We had a chance to dine at each of the restaurants, and the food was delicious. The food was never the exact same from day to day, so we never got tired of the food selection. Our first night there, we ate outside and enjoyed the entertainment in association with the “Pirate Night” theme. The combination of delicious food, ocean breeze, and wonderful music made for a great dining experience. When we dined in “Coconut Walk” the large buffet restaurant, we did have to shoo some flies away. However, we observed more birds flying around the restaurant compared to the few flies and neither interrupted you from enjoying your meal- the circulating fans also helped to keep the flies from becoming a nuisance.

One of the wedding coordinators, Chantal, gave us a tour of the resort, and, overall, we liked what we saw. The large pool area, the children’s play area, the wedding ceremony locations- we didn’t have any complaints. Chantal was very professional and personable, and we enjoyed talking with her and learning about weddings at Coconut Bay. We were also able to meet with the resort manager, who was also very professional and easy to talk to. We also met the florist, who sent us beautiful pictures of the wedding gazebo and reception area that were decorated for previous weddings. Not to leave anyone out, we met with the Officiant and wedding photographer, who were both very personable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the resort and feel confident that our wedding guests will enjoy staying at the resort next year. We are excited about getting married at Coconut Bay, and would certainly recommend the resort for anyone planning to travel to the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drmrs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The pictures are false! It's not the resort it's made out to be in the advertising! The ocean is rough! The beach is very very very smalll and dirty! The rooms are dirty! The resort is old and outdated! 2.5 stars is generous!!!! Do not book! Do yourself and your family a favour and go to one of the resorts on the carribean side of the island! Windjammers Bay and Morgan Bay are great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
22.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
23.2 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, 4 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing