We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great scene, food pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Plantation Yard

The Old Plantation Yard
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Vieux Fort
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant has a beautiful blend of history and culture as well as tasty local cuisine.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great scene, food pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The food is pretty good, but the scene at the restaurant is amazing! Great history and friendly staff.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“Not always ok !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We went 2 times to this restaurant, the first time we had a nice peace of tuna fish, fresh salad and rice, eveything was perfectly served and hot. The second time we ordered saltfish, in a local preparation. This preparation was ok but approx. 80 grms is not enough, so most of our dish was covered with salad and some frites, and not warm enough. We were really disapointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JVDS-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenna12, Manager at The Old Plantation Yard, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
We are truly sorry and do humbly apologise for your experience. We always aim to provide the highest levels in service and the best quality foods and beverages. We will do our utmost to ensure that no customer will ever have such an experience.
If you are still in St. Lucia, we wish that you would return, we will serve you the meal of your choice free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

On a walking tour on market day stopped here for refreshments. Good creole food, wonderful fresh lime juice and a friendly welcome. In the middle of Vieux Fort a 'real' St Lucian experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tellitasitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
1 review
“Great food, Great Jazz music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Looking for a place to have dinner, we arrived at this place downtown old Vieux Fort. We did not know the place existed although we were moored only around the corner from this place for about seven days. It seemed that they were having their jazz festival. We were greeted with some of the greatest sounding Jazz music being played by a St. Lucian saxophonist called Luther Francois and a pannist called Alison Marquis backed up by a drummer, bassist and keyboardist. I had never heard such beautiful Jazz music in such a scenic and historic looking place. The food served was delicious, free wine and h'or d'ourves added to the setting, and was complemented by the beautiful music. We had a wonderful time, the hosts Kenna and Kerlene were very pleasant and so were the staff.
We all plan to go back to St. Lucia next year for Jazz at the Old Plantation Yard.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuilly-Sauvigny, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Creole food - yummy, copious & cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The Old Plantation Yard restaurant is a bit out of the way, on Lower Commercial Street, down toward the old town fishing port of Vieux Port. We discovered it while wandering through the Saturday morning market. Like most things in St Lucia it is laid back, but also offers free wi-fi and atmosphere. Not expecting much from the meal we were pleasantly surprised. Though not gourmet it was yummy, copious and probably the cheapest meal we had on the island. Mysteriously we seemed to be the only clients at lunch. Maybe it gets busy at night. Judging from massive loudspeakers around the inner courtyard it looks like it rocks on weekend evenings.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenna12, Owner at The Old Plantation Yard, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thanks for your review. Note that the speakers are visible but we never have loud or rocking music except during our mini festival "Jazz at the old Plantation Yard" held during the first week of may.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Plantation Yard also viewed

Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to The Old Plantation Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing