We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kimatrai Hotel

Kimatrai Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vieux Fort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimatrai Hotel
Save
You added Kimatrai Hotel to your Saves list
New Dock Road, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
worcester,mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

There was 8 of us there on business. they knew that we needed a combination for breakfast lunch and dinner. they had an excuse for every dining experience . the beds were extremly hard,.bugs in the room,there toilets didnt flush and for the shower didnt have a knob too turn off and on.a pair of pliers. Were provided .word to the wise stay far away.it's what we call in the states a real hole!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concretekid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel because we missed our flight and needed to crash near the airport for 1 night. It was only $50 USD for the night, but you get what you pay for. No hair dryer, spiders in the windows and bathroom, they gave 2 towels that were sitting on a counter with ants crawling all over them, mosquitoes everywhere, "free wifi" that is only in the lobby, a restaurant that at any given time is only serving 1/2 the menu, a brochure that says they serve breakfast all day but they don't. This "hotel" didn't even have the ability to call us a taxi to the airport saying they had the cell phone number for a driver, but no cell phone credit to call. I put "hotel" in quotes because it was clear that there were prostitutes coming and going from this hotel, and I'm pretty certain its just a front for a brothel. The only good thing I can say is that it had a nice view of the ocean from the restaurant terrace and it was cheap. However, if you don't want to wake up with spider and mosquito bites everywhere like I did, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vieux Fort hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,376 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,901 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in Kimatrai about 10 month ago and we still think it is a very good choice for a budget traveler to the southern part of the island. Apparently we are back! Budget travelers to Vieux Port may know that eating out in this part of the island is not as obviously easy as in the region of Castries or Rodney Bay. Especially when you want to have nice family meals. Well that is when Kimatrai comes in handy. You can enjoy 3 meals per day of good quality at a reasonable price. Especially finding a place for breakfast gets tricky if you are not in a traditional expensive resort. You can eat both outdoors and indoors but is there any reason to eat indoors in St. Lucia?

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the port are the best. Book early, they seem to be full quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Needed an extra night's accommodation after staying in the North for two weeks. Staff were friendly and helpful. Decor was suffering from neglect. Water supply to room packed up periodically, as did the wi-fi connection. Sheets were stained but clean. However, it was just a short taxi ride to the airport - which was the main point of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidaarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great for lunch. Super view & good food. Take a cab & go see the 2nd highest lighthouse in the world less than 10 minutes away!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I flew into Vieux Fort, and decided to stay our first night there before striking out for Soufriere. The Kimatrai was a short (and cheap) taxi ride from the airport, and easy walking distance to restaurants, beaches, etc. Clean, quiet, cool (window AC unit), relatively affordable, and a nice little bar/restaurant downstairs - a cool late night hangout for the locals, good conversation, and a decent continental breakfast (included).

I wouldn't stay for an extended period of time - had much more fun in the budget guesthouses of Soufriere and Gros Islet - but if I were staying overnight in Vieux Fort again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allencote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,376 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,901 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Located in the Southern tip of the beautiful island of St. Lucia this affordable hotel is a valid option for travelers on the budget. 2 BR suite air-conditioned, no luxury but all the basics $62 per night! Huge balcony with the view of the local port, the sea and the town as well as in the distance Pitons. Good restaurant on premises - considered best in Vieux Fort. 7-10 min by taxi to one of the 2 airports of St.Lucia. 5 min by taxi to the beach. The town itself has a real not touristy atmosphere. A good place to stay for people with realistic expectations. It is not a trendy resort but an interesting hotel giving you an inexpensive access to the island. The only minus ( for my husband) - loud roosters in the morning. Real pluses great price and beautiful views from huge balconies.

Room Tip: all rooms are fairly equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
13.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
21.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 16 in Castries
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Villa Caribbean Dream
Villa Caribbean Dream
#1 of 7 in Vieux Fort
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimatrai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimatrai Hotel

Property: Kimatrai Hotel
Address: New Dock Road, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Kimatrai Hotel Vieux Fort
Kimatrai Hotel St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing