We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent budget accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimatrai Hotel

Kimatrai Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vieux Fort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimatrai Hotel
Save
You added Kimatrai Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent budget accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I flew into Vieux Fort, and decided to stay our first night there before striking out for Soufriere. The Kimatrai was a short (and cheap) taxi ride from the airport, and easy walking distance to restaurants, beaches, etc. Clean, quiet, cool (window AC unit), relatively affordable, and a nice little bar/restaurant downstairs - a cool late night hangout for the locals, good conversation, and a decent continental breakfast (included).

I wouldn't stay for an extended period of time - had much more fun in the budget guesthouses of Soufriere and Gros Islet - but if I were staying overnight in Vieux Fort again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allencote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,394 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,000 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Located in the Southern tip of the beautiful island of St. Lucia this affordable hotel is a valid option for travelers on the budget. 2 BR suite air-conditioned, no luxury but all the basics $62 per night! Huge balcony with the view of the local port, the sea and the town as well as in the distance Pitons. Good restaurant on premises - considered best in Vieux Fort. 7-10 min by taxi to one of the 2 airports of St.Lucia. 5 min by taxi to the beach. The town itself has a real not touristy atmosphere. A good place to stay for people with realistic expectations. It is not a trendy resort but an interesting hotel giving you an inexpensive access to the island. The only minus ( for my husband) - loud roosters in the morning. Real pluses great price and beautiful views from huge balconies.

Room Tip: all rooms are fairly equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We spend one night at Kimatrai Hotel - after flying in to St Lucia from Europe. Arriving in the evening and very tired. So we were very tired and that was probably to our advantage. And the Kimatrai Hotel.

After the 5 minute drive from the airport (very close to the international airport, which is good reason and logic in choosing Kimatrai) we arrived only to find that the whole hotel was book to a conference. So - they had no room for us. "All full", as they said - the ladies that came to meet (not greet) us.

But - we had actually booked from home. On their own website. And a reciept to verify. After showing them that the attitude was much better. They must have realised it had happened (seems as if they had tried it before) and sort of apoligized, found us a room (..) and asked if they could bring us something to eat, as obviously all areas of the hotel was busy with the folks at the conference.

We had some bread for out daughter (age 3) and then went directly to bed. During the night we did wake once or twice to hear the music and singing from the party the conference had until late hours .. but we simply went beack to sleep. The jetlag for once coming in handy.

We had been told there would be breakfast from 7am. And breakfast was included in the room we had booked. We went downstairs at ten to 7. And the place was a big mess. They had ended the party and .. left. And no one had been around since, before we arrived.

After a while the first person showed up for work. "Do you want breakast?" she asked. "Well, yes please .." we replied and tried to find a table to sit at. We walked around the hotel a while - while a few more people showed for work - but it took them an hour to bring us something.

When it came - breakfast was toast with jam, fruit, coffee and tea. The coffee was terrible - but the weather was good, the view likewise (overlooking the very southern seaside of St Lucia), birds singing and we had just begun our holiday .. so we actually choose to ignore the mess we sat in and just wnjoy the morning.

And also - we wondered what it would be like at Kimatrai on a more regular day to day stay. We were on out way up north so we would not find out. But - to people flying into/or from St LUcia - we can't really just say "don't go there". Because we think/hope it could be a good place to stay. If you are flying in or out (can't really see other reasons for staying in Vieux Fort, it's a pretty dull place compared to most of the rest of St Lucia).

And - if nothing else - the place was great potential. It must have and perhaps it shows better .. when there is not a conference on. For the price - it is right. Simple rooms, spacious (from what we could see) and that great location (view-wise).

Or perhaps it's just really bad all togehter. Kinda hard to know from the other reviews. They seem to disagree a bit.

Bottomline: we think we came on a "bad day", but had somewhat good service when arriving and leaft again with a feel that it really can be an okay place to stay. If in Vieux Fort, that is.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaldivstgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

If you like the idea of a blood stain mattress or the thought of having to go up 4 flights of stairs with baggage, then the Kimatrai Hotel is what you are looking for. Sounds appealing dose it not it ? This God forsaken, hell hole is anything but a hotel. I have no idea what the other people are writing reviews about.. perhaps they are joking? This sham of a place was yet another disappointment to this terrible island called St.Lucia. This hotel was wildly unorganized lost our "reservations" . . as if they need reservations, no one was there when we were. I wounder why ? Hmm . . could it be the air conditioner was not working properly or maybe the fact that the mattress and sheet's came with complementary blood stains and what appeared to have sweat marks . When I informed room service I was told the room was just cleaned. Well if that is cleaning, I would love to see what it looked like before. Please save your self the trouble of coming to this hotel, because you will be sorry. Your wallet will be lighter and you will be wonderfully uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvertonic486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vieux Fort hotels

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I spent 2 nights at this hotel, warm welcome from the staff and manager, the food was delicious especially the breakfast. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep. I much comment on the flow of water when taking a shower it was wonderful it made the shower felt like a luxury or a spa treatment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltwater69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Although the Kimatrai Hotel did not look appealing when we drove up we already had reservations and decided to stay anyway....we are so glad we did!
The property is a bit run down however it is very clean and the staff made our night just perfect. We stayed at the hotel after 8 days on a sail boat charter so when we arrived we needed to be comfortable and get some rest. The room AC worked good and the bed was fine enough. The best part of our stay was the staff. They really cared about your needs and were quick to respond to any requests. The food at the hotel was one of the best if not the best meal we had in 10 days!!!! They also have a really nice view. I would recommend this hotel for a friend as long as the friend is open minded and does not require the amenities of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slcab125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The good elements first-
We loved meandering with the goats in the parking lot while awaiting service of our included continental breakfast. The staff were very warm and friendly and helpful, making a wonderful first impression of the St. Lucian people to us, an impression to be reinforced all week. The large balcony of our apartment overlooked the working fishing port, and provided nice, relaxing views after our flight. The shower had good water pressure for a restful clean up. We were pleasantly surprised to have a good wireless internet connection in the room! This is a convenient place if you just want to flop after your flight.

But flop is a good word. I don't know how other reviewers could call this place clean. We wouldn't walk into the shower without flip-flops on! The curtains in the room, plastic shower curtains, were ripped. Shower walls, windows, tile and floors were all dirty. The toilet was badly stained. The mirror was so smeared as to be useless. But the light was so dim it would not have been useful even if we could see in it. The bi-fold door for the closet was leaning against the wall next to the closet. And the bathroom sink had no water running in it. Luckily we had an apartment and could use the kitchen sink for washing up and brushing our teeth. I applied make up sitting out on the balcony with a purse mirror! The bed was mushy soft, but the sheets were clean. There were a lot of maintenance issues-lack thereof-that got us a bit nervous about our impending vacation's comfort.

Driving around Vieux Fort furthered this trepidation. It was Sunday, so not much was open in town. Groups of people were gathered socializing, some napping lying on stoops and sidewalks, mangy dogs, goats and chickens wandered around, all making a picture of a Caribbean Island on a lazy day. The poor road maintenance was a foreshadow of things to come and white knuckle driving all week. The poverty and lack of cleanliness were also somewhat intimidating. Once out of Vieux Fort, the availability of accommodations more up to American standards were available. I'd advise visitors who are driving and exploring to take a drive around Vieux Fort to see it, go up to the lighthouse (very slowly and carefully as the roads are narrow, steep, rutted and full of hairpin turns, with left side driving), check out Anse de Sables and have lunch al fresco at The Reef beach bar. Then get out of town!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkel-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
9.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
21.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 16 in Castries
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Palm Villa
Cedar Palm Villa
#4 of 7 in Vieux Fort
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Caribbean Dream
Villa Caribbean Dream
#1 of 7 in Vieux Fort
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimatrai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimatrai Hotel

Property: Kimatrai Hotel
Address: New Dock Road, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Kimatrai Hotel Vieux Fort
Kimatrai Hotel St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing