We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun”

The Reef Beach Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Vieux Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Reef Beach Cafe is open 7 days per week, from 8:00 am till 10:00 pm (Mondays until 6pm), and offers a simple but nicely varied menu of Creole and international (sea)food, a range of fast foods (including home made pizza), breakfast, fresh milkshakes, cappuccinos, cold beers and hot cocktails, at prices as low as we can keep them, making The Reef affordable to both locals and visitors. The Reef Kite + Surf is located right next to The Reef Beach Cafe, and there are tables inside as well as outside under the gum and sea grape trees on the beach.
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Fish Cakes and Bakes are AWESOME. The staff are all very friendly and remember you once you have visited for the first time. It is a little restaurant right on one of the nicest beaches in Vieux Fort. They also have a great Rum Punch, the official drink on the Island. I will be back next year for sure.....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    92
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peine, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relax on the beach”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a small beach restaurant/bar serving kiters and just beach lovers. It is less than 100 meters to the water, under trees in the shade, very good coffee, our son loved the cheese and ham sandwich, my best meal was the soup of the day which they serve with garlic bread...The toilets are very clean.
Best go to the bar to order and pay, as service out in the garden is somewhat slow.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akruege1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef_StLucia, General Manager at The Reef Beach Cafe, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks, it's always nice to see people enjoying The Reef! And yes, do please come inside and order at the bar, especially when it's a little busy. You'll notice there's no service charge added to your bill. We try to keep our prices as low as we can to keep the cafe affordable for everyone: local and overseas guests alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best spot to wait for your flight home!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Waiting to drop someone off at the airport? Waiting for a flight to arrive? Waiting with great sadness for your own departure? You can hardly do better than the Reef. It's about 5 minutes from the Hewanorra International Airport. COLD PITONS! Good food! And with free wi-fi you can track the flight so you know when you have to leave. The service is reasonably fast, too. Most tables are outside under the trees, with a nice view of the ocean where the Caribbean meets the Atlantic. Very relaxing place to sit and enjoy life, or have a last swim before you go home to freeze.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich199E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped here for a lunch prior to our departure from the nearby airport. It worked out perfectly. There are tables situated under the trees where you can watch the para gliders on the ocean and enjoy your meal. Our lunches were quite good and the local Piton beer is excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice stop before the airport - wish we'd known about it sooner.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived early for our flight, so we had time to stop for lunch here. It is a nice place to relax a little before the airport hustle! This is a beautiful part of the island that is probably overlooked becuase most travelers rush to the northwest side of the island. Had we known about this beach and this restaurant, we may have come here for a full day to hangout. They offer kiteboard and windsurf lessons here, as well. Nice, simple food for lunch, fresh and fast. Good espresso, too. If you love animals, plenty of dogs and cats around to finish off what you don't eat, but don't worry, they are well looked after otherwise (confirmed by the owner - who also has an interesting story to tell about her travels to St. Lucia).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Beach Cafe also viewed

Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 
Laborie, Laborie Quarter
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 

Been to The Reef Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing