We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour, don't do it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxy - CLOSED

The Roxy
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, On
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour, don't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had been to this restaurant a few years back, and it wasn't too bad. Believe me, I'm going to tell the truth about this place. The Roxy, is really "The True & Original Greasy Spoon". I had the perch dinner, on a Friday evening in July in the height of tourist season. My husband had a club house that was to have no tomatoes, but came with tomatoes. The tomatoes were not the problem though, it was the grease. I have never had food that was this saturated in oil. We have never had this terrible of a meal. We even asked someone sitting across from us, and they agreed-the worst. We didn't even want to pay full price, and didn't. How disappointing this place was. Read my other restaurant reviews and you won't find one like this from me. The waitress was also quite a peach. The table was sticky and the walls dirty. We definitely won't be back here. I'm sorry I drove to Port Stanley, and passed up many places much better. Even the soft drinks were syrup without much carburation. In fact, they didn't even have gingerale. Pepsi, iced tea or sprite was the extent of the variety this date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamaikafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    14
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just plain bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went in with 5 other ppl. We sat down and the waitress came over and ask for our drink order my daughter and mother didn't know what they wanted right away the waitress said to my mother " hurry up I have other things to do" the food was horrible. Chicken fingers tasted like fish, fries were cooked so any times they were greasy and almost black, the salad was a plate full of lettuce slice of cucumber and a slice of tomatoe. I will NEVER EVER recommend this place to anyone EVER. She was rude to other ppl that can in also, ppl came in and sat down and the waitress yelled across the restaurant to them " you seated your self without waiting for me"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedgurl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'll keep it short and to the point. Stick to the bar. We went in with 6 people. One steak, one burger and 4 perch suppers....well, being in Port you would think that the Perch would be reliable if not excellent. Bottom line, the perch was like deep fried drywall and the other dishes were high school cafeteria caliber. Beer was cold, so stick to that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good casual dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went on Sat evening at 6pm, and were seated right away. We ordered perch and crab cakes, which were both tasty. Our toddler was being picky that night and would only eat bread, so our waitress brought us extra rolls each time we asked. Overall, the food was good, the service was friendly, and the atmosphere comfortable and casual.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HabsFanInToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Oaks, TX
Level Contributor
181 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good basic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The window seats provide a very nice view of the water. The waitress was very helpful and willing to provide lots of ice so we could make ice tea. They had very good fish and chips. Their Shepard's Pie was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoneStarTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roxy also viewed

Port Stanley, Ontario
Port Stanley, Ontario
 
Port Stanley, Ontario
Port Stanley, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing