We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice inn with horrible beds”
Review of Kettle Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kettle Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The Kettle Creek Inn is very nice. We stayed for a couple of days and enjoyed the Inn. The atmosphere is nice. The staff were friendly. The food was fantastic. However the bed was horrible. I'm sure there was a board underneath the sheet rather than a mattress. At one point during the night I thought about sleeping on the floor because I figured that it had to be more comfortable than the bed. Please please please upgrade the beds!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn, and at first all seemed perfect. Until we got into our jacuzzi tub and 2 of the jets were floating around joining us. We went down for dinner and informed the Innkeeper of the problem in our room and were seated for dinner. Apps were great, my beef tenderloin came out burnt to a crisp, and when I sent it back, the waitress was very rude and tried to tell me it was "seared". When the Innkeeper offered my husband complimentary dessert or coffee (which was already part of our pricey package), we knew right then that hospitality was not this establishments forte.

Upon checkout, we spoke with the manager who was quite rude as well, and did not even offer a "sorry" for the disappointment of our stay. Again, she tried to tell us that the tenderloin was "seared" and not burnt, that someone tried to call up to our room to fix the jets..... I explained to her that nobody was in the room, as I told the night Innkeeper on my way to be seated!?.

Overall, the money that is charged for a package is not worth it. Extremely low value for the kind of money you are spending. We will never go back, nor will we ever recommend this member of the Ontario's Finest Inns.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at Kettle Creek Inn on the Labour Day week-end. We found the location perfect for walking to all the attractions including beaches, shopping, train station or other restaurants, etc. We stayed in the separate building, not in a suite but found our room quite spacious with a little sitting area, a small deck to read on, etc., and a small area to make coffee or tea and a small fridge.
The town is divided in two by an operating lift bridge which is interesting to watch but can tie up traffic when it's busy. There is a theatre downtown which unfortunately we didn't get to but the play sounded interesting. We took the train ride which was a good way to spend a little time.
There are actually two beaches in Port Stanley, one called Little Beach and one called Big Beach which was explained to us when we checked in. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful and actually took us out front to show us where to go. Little Beach is just down at the end of the street to the left (nice beach, probably more family oriented). Big Beach is about a ten minute walk across the lift bridge and to the left. This side is where more of the nightlife takes place and most of the young people go. There are a good number of stores on the same street as the inn including ladies clothing and jewellery, home decor and antiques and restaurants all within a short walking distance. This side of the harbour is much quainter and quieter and the Big Beach side is much more beachy and upbeat so it depends on your preferences.
We enjoyed a wonderful supper at M.E. & Suzie's on their outdoor patio under the shade of the trees on the first night and on the second night we enjoyed another wonderful meal on the patio at the Kettle Creek Inn. The service and food was excellent at both places.
There are also three wineries in the area and the little village of Sparta to explore just down the road. We had a very restful and enjoyable weekend and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeroy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed 3 days / 2 nights in the P.Johnson suite. It was nice having a private patio overlooking the downtown. The chef's meals were amazing. One of our meals was the beef tenderloin & the braised short ribs. Desserts were yummy ! Staff were very courteous and made sure we enjoyed our stay.
We have always stayed in hotels. But from now on it will be INNS only for thar personal, not crowded feel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suefOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Overall it is a lovely faciltiy, well maintained. The only complaint is that the bed needs to be updated. Breakfast was a nice continental with no frills but did the job. The staff was friendly and took care of us.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The Kettle Creek Inn is located in 'downtown' Port Stanley, which means it is within 5 minutes of almost everything worth seeing in Port Stanley. The Inn is small with a limited number of rooms in a main building and others in a nearby building. We stayed on the second floor of the main building, which seems to have been thoroughly renovated. Our room had two beds (one double, one queen) in separate areas, a good sized refrigerator, a tiny TV with a good selection of channels, and a coffee maker. The stool and shower/tub were in a seperate room with the sink in a small alcove. The beds were comfortable and all furnishings were in good repair.

The Inn is small, with a small lounge area and a tiny bar. The restaurant covers two or three rooms, and so is quite spacious. We had a 'package' that included dinner and breakfast (and the room, of course) for C$250 plus a tax of 14%. Dinner was disappointing. My wife had Cajun/blackened pickerel, which turned out to be very spicy. I had a tenderloin, order medium and delivered rare and not at all warm. Service was sporadic and mostly absent.

Breakfast was, as advertised, a deluxe continental with muffins, bagels, bread and cold cereal on offer. The waitress brought a small dish of mixed fruit and coffee. They seemed to have forgotten the deluxe part that morning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

My husband and I visited the "Inn" in October of 2008 and instantly fell in love... The European exterior caught our eye as we drove into town. As we checked in, the innkeepers were very gracious and friendly to us, explaining details about the property as well as where breakfast would be served in the morning. Our room was absolutely lovely - tasteful and very comfortable. It really had the "home away from home" feeling. We enjoyed dinner at the Inn very much. Our server was charming and the food was top notch. My husband enjoyed the rack of lamb (said it was the best he's ever had) and I was thrilled with my beef curry. Something to note is that the wine list is amazingly affordable! Good quality wine at fair prices, that is unusual and extremely appreciated! They had an outdoor area that we were told was popular for outdoor dining in the summer - it looked so beautiful we will have to make another trip...
All in all, I was completely happy with our experience at the Kettle Creek Inn. From the service, to the accomodation, to the food...everything exceeded my expectations. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank youngandking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 9 in Port Stanley
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#4 of 9 in Port Stanley
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettle Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettle Creek Inn

Address: 216 Joseph St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kettle Creek Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Kettle Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettle Creek Hotel Port Stanley
Kettle Creek Inn Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing