We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn not up to par”
Review of Kettle Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kettle Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inn not up to par”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked our room through the web not directly with the hotel. I think that is maybe why we were given a room in the old part of the inn rather than one in the obviously newer extension overlooking the inner courtyard. Our room had just a view of the driveway and the building wall next door. The room had a queen and a double bed and it was definitely crowded with just room for two wing chairs, The queen bed only had a night table at one side (my husband's) consequently I had nowhere to put a glass of water or my specs and as there was no bedside lamp on my side I found it difficult to read. The double bed in the other section of the room did not have a night table at all. The bathroom was small and, as there were 3 adults in the room we felt pretty cramped. Fortunately, a friend who had stayed at the inn earlier warned me that the beds were very, very firm. As a result I took along a piece of foam which we placed under the bottom sheet. This allowed us to sleep more comfortably. I definitely suggest that the inn replace these beds. In fact, the room was "tired" and could certainly do with a facelift. Service, however, was exemplary and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the newer section of the inn. These rooms have balconys and a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grafton2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kci_13, Manager at Kettle Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I do appreciate your taking the time to comment on our inn. Thank you for making note of our breakfast & good service. We are also noted for our lunches & dinners, although I don't believe you dined with us. In one of the guest houses we do have a room with a queen plus a single bed, so you may wish to ask for that when you come again. The disadvantage of using Booking.com is that we do not have the opportunity to explain where all of our accommodation is located. That outside guest room was already booked at the time of your booking. Your room works best for a family with children. None the less, we are constantly trying to redo the rooms. The vast majority of our guests love the firmness our custom made beds but for anyone who is accustomed to something soft, we do not meet their expectations. We do wish we could make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    46
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
102
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from a great one night stay with my mom. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the courtyard outside. Excellent service and delicious food. The inn location is perfect for exploring the shops and the inn keepers and staff are all welcoming. A charming little inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a really lovely suite that looked out over their little courtyard. Three of us stayed in the suite and we had plenty of space. The balcony was very private and would be even moreso once the tree outside the window achieved full bloom. The shopping was fantastic and located just down the street; good for returning bags of goods. The walk to the water was pleasant and the beach is a 10. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking as some rooms and suites share the same or similar artists' names.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kci_13, Owner at Kettle Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I do wish to thank you for taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor.
Needless to say we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We now have another reason for you to return. The local spa has changed ownership, completed renovations & is offering everything from facials to massage therapy to RTM. Love to have you as our guests again.
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

You won't be disappointed if you choose their lovely suite, complete with fireplace and a small porch/balcony which my husband used to have a cigar and read his Globe & Mail. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and after checking in and being given a full orientation by a very nice gentleman, we decided to explore the town and the numerous shops and pubs. We had our Anniversary dinner that evening as it was part of our package as well as breakfasts each day. Dinner was delicious, you have your choice of anything on the menu. The perch was yummy and so was the pickerel. Rooms have wifi and flat screen TV, maid service is prompt and excellent. I would recommend this place highly if you are looking for a quick getaway - 2 hours from Windsor - perfect for us and we shall return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 944bev43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stumbled over this lovely inn on a road trip from Toronto to Detroit. I couldn't fault anything, the welcome was great, food excellent and the bedroom was very comfortable. It was such a delight to find a quaint little inn with exceptional service. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from another great 2 day stay along with 2 other couples with the folks at Kettle Creek Inn(Jean, Troy, Dean, Craig) They are so nice and always make us feel at home every time we visit. Great food and accomedations as usual, we can't thank them enough.

Al and Jean Burbige, Waterdown On.

Room Tip: We had a Suite( Excellent) and the others had rooms but all very nice. All in the Main Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well where do I begin...my girlfriend and I went away for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) to get away from our hectic lives. We met in nursing school and are best friends. She works shift work at at Hospital and had these 2 nights off work. I'm currently on maternity leave from work and at home with a 3month old and a 2 year old. We're busy people! We had a very fun car ride up and were excited to get to the inn. When we first entered the inn, we were met by one of the innkeepers Jean. The inn wasn't busy at all-in fact we were the only guests in sight on friday afternoon. Jean met us at the front desk with a glare. She said "checking in?" we said "yes, we are". She then so rudely asked if we were mother and daughter. We were shocked. We said "no, were best friends". She then added salt to the wound by saying "REALLY?" we said "yes, really." We went up to our room to drop off our bags and felt bad about with Jean just said to us on arrival. We decided to go back downstairs and talk to her about how bad we felt. There is a 19 year age difference between the 2 of us. I am 33 and my girlfriend is 52. My girlfriend looks younger than 52 though, I'd say 45. I look about 30. It was so rude of Jean to make my girlfriend feel old on our weekend away. Her feeling were hurt understandably. I was just mad that she would say this to us and then say "really, you girls are friends??". We went downstairs to confront Jean about her comment and to tell her that we were not sure if we wanted to stay 2 nights at the inn. When we talked to Jean about how she made us feel, she was defensive. She said "I'm sorry YOU took it this way". I said I wanted to leave. Jean offered us a bottle of wine to make us stay. We agreed. We tried to find another Inn to stay at the second night but everything was full as it was a long weekend. We were staying in the "White room", which was a tiny room with 2 double beds. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. They were hard and when we took a closer look at them we realized there wasn't even a mattress there-it was a piece of foam on a box spring. How awful. This inn is not up to par with the other inn's I have stayed at in the past such as: Benmiller Inn, Bridalbane inn, etc. This is not an ontario finest inn as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grundy181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
21.2 mi away
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
326 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
88 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoneridge Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ramada London
Ramada London
#21 of 41 in London
283 reviews
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
22.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#7 of 41 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettle Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettle Creek Inn

Property: Kettle Creek Inn
Address: 216 Joseph St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kettle Creek Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kettle Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettle Creek Hotel Port Stanley
Kettle Creek Inn Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing