We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and delicious.”
Review of The Windjammer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windjammer Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
East York, Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restful and delicious.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Windjammer Inn's Carriage House was delightful. It's decorated to make you feel like your in the Italian or French countryside. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the amenities included a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, full and roomy bathroom, fridge, coffee maker, TV, VCR. And, bathrobes! The breakfast offerings included omellette, fishers or farmers breakfast, plus other tasty treats. The beach is a short walk away, the canal and yachts not far either. Port Stanley offers nightlife...or not, whatever you like.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nobleton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Windjammer Inn is a quaint, cute and relaxing place to stay with a fantastic breakfast/brunch menu that will keep you satisfied for the rest of the day!

Getting away for the weekend when you have a dog is often quite difficult but the Windjammer Inn welcomed everyone, including my four legged "fur-child". The Windjammer Carriage House boasts a comfy full queen bed, a fireplace, TV with VCR/DVD and a Jaccuzzi tub in the room. With a coffee maker and a private sitting area inside and outside (covered as well for those rainy days) we felt more like we'd rented a cottage than a room!

Too bad the rest of Port Stanley isn't quite as open-minded about dogs. Warning to dog owners, your puppy isn't welcome on the beach or in restaurants and there is absolutely no doggy daycare to take advantage of. We were chased off the public beach with our dog within minutes of arriving and the private beach owners fiercely defend their property lines to ensure you don't perch on their waterfront (they own up to the water line). A small tip - leave personal belongings on the public beach and walk your dog into the water on the private side. Remember not to linger on either shore and clean up after your dog!

Despite these challenges, we still managed to enjoy our few days in this small town, making the most of our time away but Port Stanley needs to wake up when it comes to dogs.

Room Tip: The carriage house is a fantastic value and well worth booking. You feel like you have your own lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We had one night in here and wished we could have stayed longer. Although our room was small it was clean, cosy and comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome.

The best bit was the food, a great evening meal with friendly service and an even better breakfast. This is the place to stay for a romantic getaway. Hopefully we may get to return one day.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House for 2 nights in early April. The room has a Jacuzzi (near the bed), an electric fireplace, an older TV with cable, an eating nook, a full bathroom, a mini-fridge and a pod-style coffee maker. It also has its own private front porch with a seating area. It gets sun early in the morning.

The bed was decent - queen-sized, firm mattress - and the decor just okay, but that's not what you're there for. You're there so you can watch TV from the Jacuzzi, sleep with the fireplace on, drink your coffee on the porch and, most importantly, eat a four-star breakfast at the main inn (included in room rate). The chef and innkeeper is supremely talented, and as inn guests you get to choose whatever you want on the delectable brunch menu. Baked oatmeal, Eggs benny on a croissant, stuffed french toast, you name it; breakfast also comes with a basket of fresh-baked scones and muffins.

The inn is also pet-friendly. There's a dog bed, bowls and treats waiting for you if you have a dog.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmacalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic mini-holiday here last summer. I really can't say enough about the food. It is of the kind of top notch quality that you don't normally find in small towns like this. The ambience in the restaurant is pretty special too. Loved it.

The room was very nice in some ways. It felt comfortable and was clean. The two person whirlpool tub was great. My only complaints are small. One, there was an abundance of candle holders, but all the candles were burned down to the end so we couldn't really enjoy them. The other is the lame stick-on wall decals. Better to stick with the shabby chic look than to try to create an asian/zen ambience with bamboo stickers. I'm cringing right now as I remember it. My last quibble is that the bed seemed rather small.

I would definitely stay at the Windjammer again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kataboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a girls getaway that was fabulous. We stayed in the main house and everyone loved their room. We had an outstanding dinner with great wine (the wine list is really good). They accommodated food allergies with flair- even making dairy free waffles in the morning as part of our delicious breakfast on the pretty wraparound porch. Staff is fun and take great care if you. Loved our stay- we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I just spent an evening at the Windjammer Inn as an overnight getaway in Port Stanley. The owner Kim is pleasant to deal with but at least one of the other housekeeping staff was curt on more than one occasion, to the point that I wish we had stayed elsewhere. The room we stayed in (Carriage House) was $220 for one night - very much over-priced considering it was a bit dirty and grungy (I had to get rid of a big black spider that was in the room; cobwebs/dirt behind the door). Oh, and did I mention the decals scotch-taped on the walls in the bathroom?? Nice. Normally I'm not overly picky but when I am paying that kind of money I expect cleanliness and a spa-like decor. There needs to be more attention to detail. For example, there were lots of tea-light candles around the room for you to light but .... no matches. And the control for the jacuzzi is on the wall way across the room - kinda irritating when you are in the tub and then have to get out to search around the room for a way to turn on the jets! It would have been nice if the housekeeping staff had pointed out these and other details when showing us the room.

Good things about the room: the bed was really comfortable; big white fluffy towels; big jacuzzi tub.

The breakfast was awesome and service during breakfast was great too. My recommendation is to go eat at the Windjammer but don't stay there, especially during high season when the prices are inflated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
21.4 mi away
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
312 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
86 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoneridge Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Kettle Creek Inn
Kettle Creek Inn
#1 of 9 in Port Stanley
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#3 of 9 in Port Stanley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windjammer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windjammer Inn

Property: The Windjammer Inn
Address: 324 Smith St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Windjammer Inn Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing