We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay, but some disappointing bits as well.”
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #3 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay, but some disappointing bits as well.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel has a lot to offer in terms of location, comfort and friendly staff. The room was clean (Room 8) but a little bit crowded. It was difficult to find a place to put the luggage stand while we unpacked.
My first disappointment came from ( my opinion ) false advertising. This room states it has a fireplace. In fact there is no place for a fire. What they're calling a fire place is in fact one of those electric thingies which rotate some sort of reflective cylinder in front of a light to give the impression of a fire. As far as I could tell, there was no heat involved. It also made a mechanical noise. I found this cheesy and very disappointing.
Next up is the Wi-Fi....or more accurately the lack there-of. It may be fine in other parts of the hotel but in Room 8 it is not worth the effort and frustration. The connection is constantly being dropped. Unfortunately for us we needed to research alternate routes to a small town nearby because we couldn't use the road signs due to road closures and detours. Obviously there are other ways to sort out navigation, but disappointment is made greater when an advertised feature doesn't exist.
To end on a positive note; the bed was comfortable, the Jacuzzi tub was marvelous and we had a great view of the harbour and glorious sun rise. Perhaps other rooms are better than the one we had, but I know Room 8 doesn't live up to the hype. The continental breakfast was quite nice.

Room Tip: If the sound of people moving around bothers you, try for rooms on the top floor. You'll also he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyVarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    43
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
105
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the Paris room and had a great time. Room was beautiful, well laid out, frig and bar area was small but who cares. Bed and Jacuzzi were to die for. Anne and other staff were more than helpful. Part of the charm and why we stayed there was being on the water and the boats. I would stay there again. The map of theings to see and do was very helpful to make the most of our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband & I visited Port Stanley for our Anniversary and stayed at The Inn On The Harbour.
We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. It was our first time to Port Stanley or the Inn and we will definitely re-visit both.
The Inn was absolutely beautiful, all the rooms are theme oriented .We stayed in room # 8 , "Leopard ".The room was gorgeous, the Jacuzzi was just what we needed and the view ... BREATHTAKING !!
We sat out on the deck and enjoyed watching the fishing boats while enjoying our wine.
The restaurants and people we so friendly they made us feel right at home.
a great little village and a fabulous Inn, thanks for making our Anniversary one we will remember.

Room Tip: We viewed 3 different rooms at the Inn, one just as fabulous as the next ; but we truly enjoyed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is no question that Port Stanley is a charming town and that the Inn on the Harbour has a great location. The in room jacuzzi was also very nice. And they do leave you alone. The maid called and asked if we wanted maid service. Our room, and it was an upgrade, was another story. The bed was hard, the washroom tiny, the air conditioner sounded like an 18 wheeler going by and smelled moldy when you turned it on, the towels were thin and scratchy and we actually had to ask for soap since it was not in our room when we arrived. About 4:30 AM the fishing boats left from just under our window. If you're a light sleeper, beware. The towns people are delightful and the restaurants in which we ate were great. But I would not recommend this inn to anyone who wants a bit more for $189.00 per night than a glorified bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

nice that they leave you alone so if you want something ask which is what i like. walking distance to everything and if you like perch this is the place for you. beaches are great and restaurants are fantastic.

Room Tip: we stayed in the africa and paris rooms. great deck off of the rooms. good idea if going with anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

GREAT LOCATION on Main Street — WALKING distance to main shops and 2 beaches.
QUIET spot steps from the harbour! Loved the sliding doors to patio for evening lounging or morning coffee. Very clean!! Well-appointed; pretty interior.
— BREAKFAST— limited selection; coffee or tea; make-your own toast; cereal; baked muffins. — ROOM — Main Level [no elevator so we did not take larger rooms upstairs].
BATHROOM - fair-sized bathroom; pleny of towels!! Closet w/ iron; ironing board. 2 dressers for personal items. — A/C unit — avoided use; ceiling fan much quieter so you could hear the crickets:)
Ring bell for serivce — they were there within a minute to serve guests.
FISHERMEN — if you are a light sleeper, they take the boats out at 4 am.

Room Tip: Maritime Memories No. 1 has walk-out to patio facing harbour — nice place to relax on lounge chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A few days ago I called this place to place a reservation for my 65th birthday. Initially they said to call back in 10 minutes as the reservation book was unavailable? When I called back they took my number and said they would call back, which they never did and it has now been. 2 days. If this inn is so inept at booking a reservation, I would certain
Not trust them to stay there. I have booked elsewhere in Port Stanley and will never recommend this Inn to snyone

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank acgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
312 reviews
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Saint Thomas
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro
#7 of 41 in London
452 reviews
Ramada London
#22 of 41 in London
275 reviews
Westminster
Courtyard London
Courtyard London
#24 of 41 in London
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 202 Main St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque harbour on the North shore of Lake Erie, they blend with wharf buildings in an architectural style that is reminiscent of days gone by, evoking that Maritime feel in this quaint fishing village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Harbour Hotel Port Stanley
Inn On The Harbour Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing