We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Attention to Detail”
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #2 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Attention to Detail”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The friendly staff works hard to ensure guests get great service. Wonderful view of the Port harbour. The Safari Club room (#9) is a true gem ... a fabulous little hideaway for a weekend, complete with electric stove, galley kitchen, and several windows that open up to let in the sights and sounds. Highly recommended. Will we be back? Undoubtably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012RambleOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a Saturday evening in Aug. Our room was wonderful with a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace. The king size bed was perfect. We enjoyed our stay and were pleasantly surprised to find that a continental breakfast was included that we enjoyed on the patio overlooking the water. The only negative I had is the very creaky stairs going up to our room on the second floor. They were sooo loud it was hysterical.

Room Tip: The picturesque town of Port Stanley seems to roll up the sidewalks at 5 p.m. Sat. evening..All of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the inn and had an issue with the Air Conditioning. The staff and management handled this issue with professionalism and class, which really impressed us. Our room was cozy and very clean - we enjoyed our romantic time on the deck with our wine and cheese. We will definitely be back again! Thank you!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schmidty373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our toddler. It was one of the few inns we could find in Port Stanley with rooms for three (two double beds). The room size was fine for us, and we really enjoyed relaxing in the second-floor lounge, which was a comfortable way to get some extra space. We stayed here for Day out with Thomas, and loved it so much that we came back two weeks later to go to the beach. The Inn is a 10-min walk from the little beach (toddler walking speed), but we preferred the main beach, because of the amenities- showers for cleaning sandy feet, change rooms.
The view from this inn is beautiful - the harbour, boats, and the bridge that opens every half hour. Breakfast in the deck overlooking this view is a wonderful experience.
The staff at this inn are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HabsFanInToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
642 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had room 6, which is considered a "honeymoon suite" with a jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. Bed was quite comfortable. Owner was quite welcoming and informative. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Oaks, TX
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Port Stanley seems to be in high demand during the tourist season. It is a pleasant village. We were surprised by the very small size of the room for the price. It was clean and obvious that much thought went into the decorations. The air conditioner was very noisy and walls thin. The view from the back patio is so-so. The ice machine is on the second level only accessible by a very steep flight of stairs. We were also disappointed that the earliest breakfast seating was not until 8:30 a.m. on Sunday morning. We were also told that reservations cannot be cancelled within 5 days of arrival. It is recommended to obtain full details before booking. Inquire regarding the floor one's room would be on and stairs - elevator. It was our understanding there is no elevatior.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoneStarTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We do 1 or 2 weekly jaunts a year and my wife booked this gem for our anniversary. The staff and Inn are really 5 star in helpfulness cleanliness and amenities. Won't tell what room we stayed in because we will be booking it again. VERY RELAXING and people of Port Stanley could not be friendlier
Rob/Gayle

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
305 reviews
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
445 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 202 Main St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque harbour on the North shore of Lake Erie, they blend with wharf buildings in an architectural style that is reminiscent of days gone by, evoking that Maritime feel in this quaint fishing village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Harbour Hotel Port Stanley
Inn On The Harbour Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing