We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #3 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gorgeous getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have stayed at Inn on the Harbour numerous times. This Inn is clean, beautifully decorated and the Inn Keeper Ann always makes us feel welcome. The room which we usually stay in The Leopard Room has become one of our favourite rooms to stay in.. The rooms are always clean and well supplied with towels and soaps etc. We both work busy jobs and we are so relaxed when we come here. The sitting room that outlooks the harbour is one of our favourite places to sit especially around Christmas time when it is all decorated up. We would recommend this Inn to everybody. If you just want to get away to relax it is the perfect place to do it. We enjoy all the local places to visit in the Port Stanley area. Mitch and Deb Robinson

Room Tip: We always stay in the Leopard room which is beautifully decorated. The second floor rooms has easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    39
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
98
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, On
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Need to get away for the night but didn't have time for a week-end vacation. So this over night stay did the job. Rooms small but we went in the winter so we had the whole Inn to ourselves. Port Stanley has come along way in many years, so if you haven't been there in a long time, go again and give it another try. It way just do the job.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OUT0fTOWNER79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Inn and had a wonderful experience. The lady that works the front desk was friendly and made us feel welcome. She gave us some restaurant suggestions and always had a smile on her face when we passed by her throughout the weekend. Our room (the safari suite), while not huge, was spacious, (immaculately) clean and nicely appointed. There were stacks of towels, in the washroom and next to the jacuzzi. The electric fireplace was nice to sit next to while catching up on a stack of magazines that I never seem to have time to get to. The only time we heard any sound coming from outside of our room, was when our neighbours were using the (outside) stairs to get to or from their room. In fact, there was a wedding reception being held at the restaurant next door and we didn't hear a single peep. Loved the fact that the room had a DVD player. We brought along some CD's to listen to during the day and some DVD's to watch at night. We ate at the Kettle Creek Inn the first night (we both thought our meals were only mediocre) and at My Suzy's the second night (both loved our meals this time around). For lunch, my husband got some fish and chips from a trailer/wagon which was located in the parking lot of the restaurant next door to the Inn. I'm sure it's owned and operated by the restaurant because we saw the cook go into the restaurant a couple of times for supplies. We were able to see this because we had a spacious deck outside of our room to sit out on that over looks the area surrounding the Inn. During the day, we walked around town and wandered through the shops, walked along the beach (nice wide sandy area), had some wine on our deck and took the 1 hour train ride. Check in and check out were a breeze. We were given a coupon to use for a future stay in celebration of the Inn's anniversary (10 years for the main Inn and 3 for the Little Inn) which we think we may very well take advantage of. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. While the provided breakfast basket was adequately stocked, we much prefer a sit down cooked meal while on holiday. Having said that, I read the fine print and knew ahead of time what the offerings were so I picked up some juice, fresh cut fruit, croissants, and yogurt the morning we left home for our trip to Port Stanley. For anyone interested, there is a Foodland grocery store down the street (2 minute drive) so you could do the same. I would highly recommend this Inn. It's quite charming, cosy and once you unload your car, you can pretty much walk everywhere. Can't wait to visit again:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbaGabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

It was Just after Christmas, and Toronto hadn't seen any snow yet. I had just got home from a month stay in Mexico and my girl friend planned a surprise night stay at the Inn on the Harbor. There was a blizzard that night, which made the town desolate and only a few people staying in the Inn. The Inn was very peaceful. We had the room with the Jacuzzi tub over looking the canal. It was a very inviting and romantic setting.

If I were to recommend this place, I would have to say to go in the middle of winter, because it feels like you have the whole town and the Inn to your self. Also there is an amazing dinner spotup the street called the Kettle Creek Inn. We had an amazing experience there and at the Inn and memories we will hold forever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronAlexV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Staff are welcoming and informative, giving you tips on things to do in the area.

Inn on the Harbour has two buildings - the main inn and the 'Little' Inn. We stayed at the main building. Rooms at the Inn on the Harbour vary in design and colour schemes.Some of them include a jacuzzi creating a romantic setting or just one of pure comfort after a day of travel. All have the very welcome air conditioning that is a must-have on hot, sticky summer days. The main lobby area has a Maritime feel to it, playing up on the fact that Port Stanley is a fishing town.

Beds include a nice, firm mattress which partnered with the extreme quietness of Port Stanley at night gives you a good night's rest.

Breakfast is served in the "lobby"/cafe area and on the outdoor patio if weather permits and consists of breads, cereals, fruit salad, croissants and other baked goods.

The Inn does not have its own restaurant, but this is fine as there are several great dining establishments in the vicinity.

I've posted a full review on my blog: http://www.suburbantourist.ca/2011/08/review-inn-on-harbour-in-port-stanley.html

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve your room. Ask about rooms with a jacuzzi if you want a romantic time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in the Little Inn, the Safari room and have no complaints about the room, a very pleasant, spacious environment - comfortable bed.
When I made the reservation I was told that rooms in the Little Inn generally had breakfast placed in the fridge for the next morning, or we could go over to the main Inn for breakfast. I opted to go over to the main Inn. However when I mentioned that at check in I was told there was no note made on the reservation slip and all rooms in the Little Inn ate their breakfast there in their rooms. The receptionist did indicate she would check and get back to us - she never did. When checking out the breakfast basket I was shocked - 2 slices of ordinary sliced white bread, 2 ordinary English muffins, a small can of fruit, one yoghurt, various individual portions of toppings. For the prices they charge - very ordinary, Hampton Inns provide a much superior breakfast for their guests, we expected much better from one of Ontario's Finest Inns - which Inn on the Harbour claims to be! We also just returned from Europe, and let me tell you their continental breakfasts were amazing. The coffee provided ho hum too - regular motel type coffee and coffee makers. We went to the local bakery to pick up our morning coffees.
As for friendly staff? I noticed a Welsh flag flying at the entrance way, and remarked that I was Welsh and were the Innkeepers Welsh? "No idea, I just work here" was the curt response!
We were provided with suggestions for dining and both restauranst were enjoyable, Kettle Creek Inn the one night, Mickey's the next. And the Inn Keeper we spoke to at the Kettle Creek Inn was everything I would expect to find on walking into one of "Ontario's Finest Inns". The Inn on the Harbour? Does not in our estimation live up to that website's title!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverceleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camlachie
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Inn on the Harbour is our special place when my wife and I just want to get away for a couple of days. The owner and staff are very friendly and welcome us warmly on each visit. The attention to detail in is amazing and the peacefulness and tranquility are definitely appreciated. The location of the inn on the harbour of Port Stanley is wonderful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a better view of the harbour which is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trmCamlachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Westminster
Quality Suites London
Quality Suites London
#19 of 41 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 202 Main Street, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque harbour on the North shore of Lake Erie, they blend with wharf buildings in an architectural style that is reminiscent of days gone by, evoking that Maritime feel in this quaint fishing village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Harbour Hotel Port Stanley
Inn On The Harbour Port Stanley, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing