We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific for families!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape View Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific for families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Carol and Russ, the owners of this beautiful property, could not have been more hospitable! The cottage we booked was perfect for our family (2 little ones). The accommodations are well off the highway and a short walk to a gorgeous beach. The common grounds are great for letting the wee ones play without worrying about the road. I think the best part was the effort that Carol and Russ put into making sure that everyone had a comfortable and restful stay. They were conscious of keep the noise down at night while still accommodating the needs of the younger crowd who were also staying for a wedding nearby. A great place, one I'd recommend again and again. We fully intend to return someday soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
29
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were lucky to find out about this place before we started our trip in Nova Scotia. We booked a cottage and were happy with our stay here. The location, right across the road from Mavillette Beach is fantastic. The actual cottage was nice, it could use some repairs and a bit of cosmetic help but it was fine. The beds were comfortable and the water for the shower was hot. The owner was friendly and helpful with suggestions and the included breakfast, in the morning, provided the basics of what we needed to start the day. I would recommend this place just for the beach alone as it was so beautiful and at low tide it was huge. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sukiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great experience here. We are used to staying in hotels, not motels. But there is little to choose from in the area. We decided once we checked in that we are 'hotel snobs' and should adjust our attitude to motels. The place was simple, but very well kept, clean, and our view was one of the best we had on our eastern trip, even at hotels 3 X the price. The owners are pleasant and helpful. Our car had an escaping air issue, which Russ was very kind to help us out with. I would certainly stay here again without hesitation even if there was a 5 star hotel next door. The only thing I would avoid is the restaurant across the road. it is not connected to the motel in any way. That was the worst meal we've had anywhere in decades. Make the 10 minute drive into town for your meals. The motel offers a continental breakfast, which is basic, but fine and nice to start your day off. We used the 'oops' cloths to wipe off our car in the morning. I own a boutique hotel and I think the 'oops' cloths would even be appreciated there. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose the end room. The patio is beside the room instead of in front which makes it completely pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wish I could have stayed more than one night at this motel. I had been wishing I'd booked one of the cabins until I saw the view from my room. Clean, comfortable, but simple room. Great hosts. Mavillette beach - a 5 minute walk away - was sandy, shallow and warm - not exactly what I've come to expect from the Bay of Fundy. Very swimmable - if you dare go out far enough. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Great views from the single rooms, although the cabins afford more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetawan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We too stayed at the Capeview for 4 nights, and some of my family do smoke, but were very happy with the smoking area. It was right outside the cabin doors, so they could still have drinks with their smokes. Russ has his rules and I'm thankful for them. The place is clean and organized. I liked the " Oops cloths" great idea. We had lots of hot water. At night when all were in bed, we sat out at the campfire spot and no one could hear us. I will stay there again. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marynwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

During August our family travelled to NS for our grandson's wedding. We stayed at this wonderful place , "Capeview Motel and Cottages "for 5 nights. Some of us stayed in motel rooms and some stayed in cottages. Russell and Carol were very hospitable and could not do enough for us.... we all just loved them.
The continental breakfast was very good, especially Carol's cheese biscuits and muffins. The rooms were very clean and we had everything that we needed.
The view of the Bay is magnificent and that was a Bonus because we were so close to it. It was nice to sit outside and admire God's handiwork in front of us.
We wish we could have stayed another week in this beautiful place. We will certainly spread the news about your place to anyone we know who is going to NS.
Thanks for everything.
Lindsay and Mary L.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The absolute worst motel experience we've ever had! The owner seems so nice upon arrival but that sure changed. We arrived at about 8pm to stay for the evening and then golf in the morning. We decided to grab something to eat in Yarmouth and arrived back at the cottage at 11pm. We went out back to have a drink and wanted to relax but were quickly interrupted by the owner living upstairs with all his windows open. He was truly disturbed that he was woken in the "middle of night"?!?! We were laughing because someone locked the keys in their room....I could see it if it were midnight and we were loud, obnoxious and drinking. NOT THE CASE. What kind of person gets upset when you lock your key (the only key given) in your room at 11pm? Is this the type of customer service we payed for? We felt like we were 5 years old and being scolded by and adult! I'm 41 and responsible. The owner has a very very short fuse...disturbing. And the list of rules he has is ridiculous! Yes, I agree, rules must be in place, however, if you don't plan on being asleep in bed at 10pm (his quiet time and a rule) stay away!!! The rules should be posted on the website or prior to getting the key. He never spoke a word when I turned the key in the next day, only a glare. Very unprofessional and childish. I agree with Jane G's entire review, "big brother watching". It was a creepy and very uncomfortable stay... never again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell W, Owner at Cape View Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What Trevor said about his account of the the evening is true, BUT, he left out out the real reason for my being upset. They were Smoking just outside the back door of their motel room.
All our other guest that had there windows open, and children sleeping, also got to enjoy the laughter and of course the second hand smoke.
We have a large smoking area that was shown to these guests and worked well before dinner, but for some reason they seemed to think it moved after dinner!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mavillette
17.3 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
22.3 mi away
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
#1 of 1 in East Kemptville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
15.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.7 mi away
A la Maison d'Amitie
A la Maison d'Amitie
#1 of 1 in Mavillette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Motel and Cottages

Property: Cape View Motel and Cottages
Address: 124 Lake Doucette Rd | Mavillette, Nova Scotia, Bow 2h0, Mavillette, Municipality of Clare, Nova Scotia B0W 2Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Clare > Mavillette
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape View Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Motel and Cottages, Mavillette, Digby County, Nova Scotia, Canada is far enough away to be enjoyable, and yet close enough to have all the amenities of two Nova Scotia towns. Yarmouth is only 20 mile drive with Digby a mere 40 miles. Enjoy a comforting stay while exploring a picture postcard view of Mavillette Beach, Cape St., Mary's fishing village, lighthouse, Saint Mary's Bay and the Bay of Fundy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape View Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Motel And Cottages Mavillette, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing