We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and indeed a hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunure Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunure Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place and indeed a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is an ideal pit stop for travelling down the west coast of Scotland. Food is great and the place is modern and clean. Being on the harbour just adds to this perfect spot for lunch. I had a salad with actual dressing on it which is unusual in most places.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinnclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    54
    13
    11
    20
See reviews for
61
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Second visit, but first visit for a meal and won't be the last. Came here with my partner on a spontaneous night out for a meal and rediscovered the Dunure Inn. Excellent setting and view. Staff who you can chat to with excellent service. And the food was 5 star. Not just sea food on the menu which you would expect at a restaurant by the sea, there is other traditional pub grub on offer also. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormelph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

As usual myself and my partner couldn't make a decision on where to go for some food, so we looked up google to find restaurants close by and found that this menu was the most appealing. We weren't disappointed, helpful friendly atmosphere and the food was even better, you could tell that everything on the plate was made from scratch. Brilliant place to eat, which myself and my partner will definitely be visiting again. Keep up the good work guys. :-))

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited this relatively local restaurant yesterday for the first time. I've now got to ask myself why we've never been here before now having stayed locally for 12 years.
We can truly say that the only thing at miss from this restaurant was the parking, but a two minute walk is no hardship.
The food was fresh and faultless, the staff were excellent and dealt with our every need perfectly and with a bit of local banter which we enjoyed.
We will most certainly go here time and time again if this is the experience you get.
There are by
Erous indoor and out door areas to eat, my only recommendation is for you to get there asap.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lunch today was fantastic. Tempura to share went down a treat, 2 haddock in beer batter were very generous portions. 2 Chicken salad with mango salsa were amazing and a butterfly chicken accompanied with massive onion rings. The sweets for those who could manage were again ample portions with the hot chocolate fudge cake being a big hit. The kids menu also went down a treat. Friendly efficient staff and a clean restaurant with nice views over the harbour. Casual atmosphere. Great fish dishes too, a good varied menu to choose from. My new favourite casual Sunday lunch venue to chill. Thanks Dunure Inn for a nice day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a mid week break and chose the Dunure Inn, we stayed from 21st - 23rd May 2013, What an absolute delight it was, The hotel is set in a perfect location over looking the harbour, our room had a prime view of the harbour and the coast line. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and had everything you would need for a short break.
The bar in the hotel was really relaxing and everyone was very friendly,
The restaurant was very nice, and the service was very excellent. The food was delicious, the menu very good, I am not a lover of fish but decided since we were near the sea I decided to try sea food, the dish was perfect, I think I'm a convert.
The owners of the hotel, Hugh and Helen are lovely, they are so helpful and very friendly, Hugh offered to take me out on his boat to collect the Lobster pots, The crab and the Lobster are brought in daily by Hugh and are on the menu, he made a taster with the crab he had just caught which he let the customers try.
If anyone is considering the Denure Inn for a break, then I would book up and go, We will certainly be going back and can hardly wait.
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have a lovely view of the Harbour and coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spartan1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensferry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from May 18th – 20th 2013.

The Accommodation, Food, Service and Staff were all faultless. Nothing was too much trouble!
We received prompt and attentive service at all times from the very friendly and welcoming staff!
A very relaxed and informal atmosphere! Unusually, no credit card details were required when we arrived yet, we could just ‘Charge’ anything to our room!

We stayed here on a ‘WOWCHER deal, but would happily return at ‘Normal’ rates!

I must add my thanks to the management for the very generous gift of a bottle of Prosecco, brought to our room as compensation for Royal Mail’s Failure to deliver an anniversary card for my wife; something which was absolutely no fault of The Dunure Inn!

This was ‘above and beyond‘excellent service.

I’m more than certain we’ll be back!

P.S. Not forgetting the FREE wi-fi (which actually works).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stumackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunure
7.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
13.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turnberry Road Suites
Turnberry Road Suites
#1 of 1 in Maidens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunure Inn

Property: Dunure Inn
Address: 17 Harbour View, Dunure KA7 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dunure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunure Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with stunning views over picturesque harbor & Ayrshire coastline. Restaurant with traditional food and weekly changing seafood specials. Comfortable lounge & public bar with traditional log fires. All rooms en-suite with satellite TV & tea/coffee making facilities. Two self catering cottages. Many local attractions including the world famous Burns' cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunure Hotel Dunure
Dunure Inn Ayrshire, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing