We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunure Inn
Nearby Hotels
$103
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
170
60
16
11
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
60
16
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice lunchfish and chipsayrshire coastsmall harbourroaring firebeer gardenfood was lovelyevening mealdunmorecastlevenue
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I used to come regularly to the dunure Inn while visiting relatives. Sadly, last year's visits had us incensed by the couldn't care less attitude of the lady in charge and her morbid staff. The standard had dropped so badly that we gave up calling in until we heard that the Inn is now under new management. We dropped in between Christmas and New Year and what a transformation! The whole place was brighter, warmer, the staff spoke to us as soon as we entered and made sure we had a marvellous dining experience. The owner and his family took time despite being very busy to get to know us and we left with a promise to return soon. The whole place has changed from a cold, dull, miserable atmosphere to a welcoming place to visit and we look forward to returning as often as possible! Food was excellent, the chef took the time to come out of the kitchen to ensure everything was to our satisfaction, which it was. Great food, great prices, great staff, lovely clean surroundings, what more could you want? Would recommend to couples and families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trisham1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Having just come home from a meal at the dunure inn with my hubby I must say we would definitley recommend to others. Hubby had a delicious monk fish starter and I had chicken tempura which was fantastic. Steak pie for both of us could not be faulted as the steak was very tender and melted in your mouth.service also very quick and efficient. Chef, Michael,is doing a fantastic job keep up the good work, can't wait to go back very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Mary and I spent three nights at this wonderful inn. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed and had a great view of the harbour. The staff are friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed an excellent Christmas dinner at the inn. The food was excellent and beautifully presented by the chef, Michael, who also took the time to visit the diners. We highly recommend the Dunure Inn to visitors looking for value, great food and great service. We wish all the best to our hosts, Helen and Hugh, Chef Michael and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We went to The Dunure Inn for our christmas party night on the 10th December 2011 and what a great night was had. The staff are very friendly and nothing was a problem we sat in the lounge for some pre dinner drinks the atmosphere was great with the music and lovely log burning fire. We then got taken to our table downstairs and the menu had such a choice it was hard to decide ! The food was superb and the chef even came to our table to make sure everything was ok. After dinner we went into the bar area listened to some music and had a right good laugh with all the locals and bar staff. A great night was had by all and we will be back to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Day the music died. 

On recent travels through Ayrshire to visit relatives again , we thought we would pop into the Dunure inn for some midweek entertainment. We stayed down in Doonfoot for the last few years and always thoroughly enjoyed their Thursday and Sunday shows. We were met by a smug man who thought he was a comedian ( and a very rude one at that)! The place was dead apart from the train load of staff and the atmosphere was so quiet and eery! Totally not what we were used to from this lovely little place. Last time we were here there were amazing singers and musicians in every corner of the bar and it was electric. On talking to a local having a cigarette , turns out the chap who used to have this place was forced out by this crude glutton of a man that just served me and that he owned the whole street including the coffee shop. Turns out of you've got enough money you can do what you want. 

Well it's a sad day for music and poor Dunure! Although the chap also said the previous owner is now in maybole  and that the music has just moved there.  I know where I'll be going next time I'm down this way again.  Not Dunure ! 

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nickyboydogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Manager at Dunure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

This "review" is purely a vindictive attack on the licencee. It makes no comment on the quality of the food, rooms or service of any kind.

Please bear that in mind and read the other reviews since we took over in late October last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews