We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunure Inn and Anchorage”
Review of Dunure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunure Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Atmospheric with warm welcome and great food. City comfort. Lovely hideaway.

Room Tip: Always book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

After having previous bad experiences at this place, we always used to use the Cafe next door instead because everyone was so polite and accommodating.
Today we visited the Inn as we knew it was under new management. It was wonderful. The guys in there are so much more passionate about the place, the food and service. They were very welcoming and made sure we were happy about where we wanted to sit, but did not hover or pester us. The meals were really good and as the staff are so friendly, we had no problems asking for food or more drinks. They were happy to serve and be of any help. In fact, some children were brought in for lunch and as they were being a little rowdy, the staff brought out some colouring books fro them to play with until the food was ready! Fantastic.
Great all round. Definitely recommending to friends and any hungry hunters looking for a great place to eat or stay. Thanks guys! Keep it up!

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they seem helpful in every other way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalHungryHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I would highly recommend the DUNURE INN for a meal it has new owners. Its big portions, well presented and tastes brilliant. The staff are really good and are always there to look after you. The Chef came out and went round the tables asking for feedback on the meals served and I never heard one bad comment. Im definitely going back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The best setting on the South West coast finally has a menu worthy of the location. Loads of fresh seafood, locally sourced meat and wine list that doesn't have a bottle over £20.00. The service was very fast and friendly and I was especially pleased to be offered a jug of simple tap water as we sat down. It's a free gesture that is offered world wide that starts the meal off on the right foot: more establishments could learn from this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank AyrSaltCellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Excellent service, attentive staff and the best meal of our 24 days in England and Scotland.

Recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casuba0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Over the years we have dropped in from time to time and this was a delighful place to visit. After a break of a few years we experienced the new Dunure Inn and were greatly saddened by the loss of character and direction we experienced. This is delightful village with wonderful views and walks, however the Inn has tried to yuppify and then forgotten about it. Overgrown fish tank, tatty umbrellas, and distinct a feeling of neglect.

The restaurant was trying to be too high class and the food was pricey and less than plentiful. The decor was tired and confused, neither old world or new Scotland!

The venue needs to find its way and match the surroundings - refreshing, friendly, unspoilt and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I took my wife to the Dunure Inn for her Birthday for a overnight stay in July 2011. The setting was absolutley beautiful and as we arrived I thought we had made a great choice . As we entered I was informed that our room was not yet ready, so we bought a drink and sat down for a natter. A couple of hours past without any member of staff approaching us about our room so I again asked a member of staff about checking in and was informed that staffing levels were insufficient, information i heard frequently on my stay. During my stay I found some members of staff, and there was not that many, rude and aggressive (not all) and when I complained this just seemed to make some members of staff more aggressive. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable but the food was poor and the customer service was terrible. The disappointing thing about this hotel was the majority of staff seem very uninterested and could not care less if this placed closed down for good, which I am sure will happen in the near future.. Will never go back to this hotel, horrible experience...HAPPY BIRTHDAY..... NOT

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyfrancest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunure Inn

Address: 17 Harbour View, Dunure KA7 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dunure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunure
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunure Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with stunning views over picturesque harbor & Ayrshire coastline. Restaurant with traditional food and weekly changing seafood specials. Comfortable lounge & public bar with traditional log fires. All rooms en-suite with satellite TV & tea/coffee making facilities. Two self catering cottages. Many local attractions including the world famous Burns' cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunure Hotel Dunure
Dunure Inn Ayrshire, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing