We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice base location, poor maintenance of facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice base location, poor maintenance of facilities”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We chose this as it allowed pets and wanted a break between Xmas and Easter. The chalets are 2 bed self catering and were adequate for our stay although they did get extremely cold at night even with heating on. The site itself is lovely and is set in a forest with plenty wildlife to see, we had a red squirrel at our window everyday looking for food along with ducks and other birds. The facilities are severly lacking maintenance, the swimming pool was only open 2 of the 7 days we stayed and even then it was freezing cold. the sauna, steam room and changing areas also needed a complete overhaul and I wouldn't have been happy If i owned there. Summary :- Great place to rest and explore from but thats about it. Watch out for electricity charge also, way too expensive and you need to budget for that

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
87
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Just returned from a weekend in Lochanhully and wanted to write this straight away. first impressions are of a nice park set around a nice open lake
The cabin could be done with some upgrade but are good basic accommodation. Lodges are not hugs but do have 2 bedrooms - 1 with bunks so are fine for a family.
Cleanlieness is spot on, the staff obviously take a pride in their place of work - outdoor areas well groomed and paths cleared in snow. A 15min drive to Aviemore, 5 mins to Carrbridge and the main road north to Inverness.
The clubhouse has a good menu and a well srtocked bar with entertainment on most nights and an area for the kids to play. (pool table, dart board, ping pong.)
The leisure facilities are adequate and I suppose what you would expect from a park with only 50 chalets. There was a pool, sauna and steam room as well as sun beds. All were pretty clean although could be done with modernisation.
All in all this is a fine place to lay your head and somewhere to go away from the beaten track.
A plus for us was that you could use the facilities at Dalfaber country club in Aviemore for free as this is part of the same group of companies.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ford maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

What a fantastic short break! The idea was to spend a weekend sampling some of the beautiful scenery that Scotland has to offer and whilst a little off the well beaten Aviemore track this resort is by far one of the most nicest places you could possibly stay. Set in beautiful woodland it was self catering heaven! With plenty of room in the chalet and excellent on site facilities there is plenty to keep all the family amused including a swimming pool and gym, a pool table and bar, fishing and tennis, and of course all the nearby countryside. The chalets were spotless on arrival with everything you would need all you have to take is food and yourselves. Would definitely recommend and will most certainly be returning in the future. A late deal was found on the LateRooms website.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MattNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster england
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

very quiet site, idyllic locations, lovely lodges though not too big and eveything was spotless,lodge set in a large forest.
1 mile from nearest village and no shop on site though there is a clubhouse.
ideal for relaxing getaway and ideal for families as well.
enjoy

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.0 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.3 mi away
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Property: Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing