We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy cabins in the central highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy cabins in the central highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed here over 20 times. The cabins are small but cosy feeling, with all you need. No phones in the cabins, but they have wifi and you can get a mobile phone signal.

The staff are fantastic and always willing to help.

There is an outdoor, tennis court, which is well used in the summer.

The clubhouse has a swimming pool that is small but adequate, with a sauna, steam room and sun-beds (your in the highlands, stop pretending you went somewhere sunny). The bar is pleasant and there is entertainment on most evenings. Scottish night has good entertainment and give you a chance to try some Scottish country-dancing. The singer on Tuesdays is excellent.

Room Tip: Best to stay here during the school summer holidays- July and August- or around Christmas/New Years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jross77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    67
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
83
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We've just come back from an 8 day stay at Lochanhully and had a most enjoyable Time. As mentioned before the lodges are on the small side - there were only two of us and found it perfect. The lodge did seem quite basic at first but had lots of features that made it very comfortable such as spare blankets for the beds, a hair dryer, ample space for hanging outdoor gear, outside light and flat screen tv with DVD/video player. The kitchen especially was well equipped, with plenty of spare cupboard space - something that having travelled to many timeshare resorts in the last 20 years we normally find lacking. We were very careful with our electricity consumption only really keeping the main living room/kitchen heaters on and were slightly disappointed with a bill of £36 but having been well warned by the reception staff that the average was £40 plus for a week during the winter on reflection this wasn't too bad. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the facilities much but when I did go swimming the pool and changing rooms were nice and clean, I was lucky enough to have them to myself for most of the time. There is plenty to do in the area even in February, Inverness can easily be reached in half an hour, Culloden and the Highland Wildlife Park were both brilliant to see. Carrbridge can be walked to in 15 mins along a safe path where there are plenty of woodland walks. Aviemore is just a short drive away and has plenty of restaurants and a good supermarket. We'll definitely return.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort is in a lovely area, with lots of walks in the forest behind the site, and the nearest village of Carr Bridge within a mile. There is a lovely pub called Cairn Hotel with good food, real ale and was very welcoming to our two dogs. There is a small spa shop, but for a bigger shop, Aviemore is not too much further and has a good Tesco Metro.
The lodge was OK, quite comfortable and well equipped but fairly basic. It was quite dark inside because the windows are small but in keeping with a lodge type of accommodation. The curtains in the bedroom were very thick and didn't let a speck of light in which along with the comfortable bed made for an amazing nights sleep. The bathroom had a lot of black mould on the grout and round the bath and shower screen and also on the blind. A toothbrush and some bleach would have gone a long way to get rid of this, it was quite unsightly. The lodges were heated by convector heaters in most rooms, but in the bathroom there was just a towel heater which only got luke warm and a fan heater on the wall which wasn't very effective. You have to pay for the electricity which they warn you could be up to £45 + but our bill was only £22.
There is a club which does very basic meals, not a lot of choice and the quality was 'OK', they advertise that there is entertainment on most nights but there didn't seem to be much on when we were there, perhaps because of the weather. There is also a pool and gym which looked small but there were usually children in the pool. I think it would be great in summer for kids, there seemed to be a lot of childrens activities, a play area and climbing area and just down the road was the Landmark Centre theme park.
The resort surrounds a lovely lake and is very pretty to look at. The staff were very friendly.
I have only scored a three but I think its probably 3 1/2!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas and were blown away by the natural beauty of the resort and the ever friendly staff. The lodge was spotless when we arrived and we had everything we needed for our week. The staff made the week, they were excellent and couldn't do enough for us.
Perfect size lodge for a couple or 2 adults and 2 small children.. It would be very cramped with 6 adults.
The location of the lodges is very good, away from the hustle of Aviemore but only 15 mins away in the car.
We will certainly look to spend another week at this resort in the near future... It was good to meet people who have been going to this resort for the last 15 years over Christmas so they must be doing something right...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMDukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A quiet little place in the middle of nowhere really, but really well located for loads of visitor attractions around the area by car. Loads of wildlife around the resort, especially their red squirrels & ducks.
Did a lot of driving around for access to Loch Ness, The Moray Firth for dolphin and seal watching, which is best a little earlier in the year, and what I was there for, Aviemore and the Cairngorms.
Site has a small leisure complex which which was very adequate and appreciated by the kids and I.
Lodges themselves could be improved but were cosy, adequate and well equipped. Sleeping was on a double bed, a single with hidden guest bed for the kids and sofa bed, which was adequate for us, but may not suit all.
I was concerned about having to pay an electric bill, but for our four days it was only £9 something.
A very pleasant and varied little break was enjoyed by all and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at a few MacDonald resorts and this was one of the best! although my husband disagreed as he thinks this IS the best resort, The cabins are wonderful for that quiet retreat needed in this busy life! Although like others who have left a review we felt if there had been six staying it would have been a squeeze, bed was very comfortable and area quiet so sleeping was not a problem for some folk too quiet but if this is what you are after its ideal. the leisure facilities although small are very good. restaurant was quick, pleasant food and prices.
We had the heaters on most of the time yet electricity was only £22 for 5 days. The wildlife around the cabin was an added bonus, not often you see red squirrels.
The staff at the resort were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roslyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Lochanhully in the last week of August. Although the cabins could have done with updating and a lick of paint (as reviewers have already said, it was quite dark, the lighting was not particularly effective and the decor did not help) it was still very comfortable, especially the beds and large settee in the kitchen/living room. The shower, despite appearances, was powerful and very warm: just what was needed after a day's kayaking on the Spey! We had a late deal, which meant it was very good value for the three nights we stayed there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The inclusion of the use of the facilities of the sister resort in Aviemore was a bonus, and the setting and resident ducks were also a hit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
8.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Property: Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing