We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unwind and recharge!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unwind and recharge!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at a few MacDonald resorts and this was one of the best! although my husband disagreed as he thinks this IS the best resort, The cabins are wonderful for that quiet retreat needed in this busy life! Although like others who have left a review we felt if there had been six staying it would have been a squeeze, bed was very comfortable and area quiet so sleeping was not a problem for some folk too quiet but if this is what you are after its ideal. the leisure facilities although small are very good. restaurant was quick, pleasant food and prices.
We had the heaters on most of the time yet electricity was only £22 for 5 days. The wildlife around the cabin was an added bonus, not often you see red squirrels.
The staff at the resort were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roslyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    67
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
83
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Lochanhully in the last week of August. Although the cabins could have done with updating and a lick of paint (as reviewers have already said, it was quite dark, the lighting was not particularly effective and the decor did not help) it was still very comfortable, especially the beds and large settee in the kitchen/living room. The shower, despite appearances, was powerful and very warm: just what was needed after a day's kayaking on the Spey! We had a late deal, which meant it was very good value for the three nights we stayed there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The inclusion of the use of the facilities of the sister resort in Aviemore was a bonus, and the setting and resident ducks were also a hit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The resort is close to the village of Carrbridge, the pine lodge accommodation set in pleasant woodland.
The two bedroom lodge (sleep six) was just about adequate for the four of us, but would be rather cramped for six people. It was quite well equipped for our needs.
The restaurant was open in the evenings only. We did not use the bar.Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Aviemore is a short drive away where there is a reasonable range of shops, including a Tesco store.
There are many things to see and do in this part of Scotland, the scenery is lovely, but you will definately need a car to appreciate everything the area has to offer.
Lochanhully is a is a good place to stay for a quiet, peaceful holiday and as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lots of wasps found in bedroom and moved lodge one day later
Seems to be a problem in the surrounding area
Dark due to lots of trees and low lighting
Comfortable beds, small rooms
Lots to see and do around including the Potted Shed tearoom, Nethy Bridge, Tomintoul and Strathspey railway
Ducks to feed and squirrels around
Good swimming pool

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic place to have as a base good value children loved it staff very child friendly only
a short drive from the landmark centre. lots to see and do checkout at 10am we were a little
late but staff were relaxed abuot this

Room Tip: lodge 11 at lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

A gorgeous location with loads to do in the surrounding area. Excellent home from home cottages with a bar and sauna and pool nearby. Brilliant week.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LelRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have just stayed for three nights in one of the Woodland cottages. Firstly the Macdonald chain were wonderfully accomodating after I had messed up our booking. Although it was non refundable they were able to change the dates at a moments notice and accomodate us at very short notice, this was very much appreciated. The resort itself is in a nice location bothin terms of the locality and the general positioning within in the Cairngorms. The service is also excellant, the little touches that go a long way were all evident and it appeared that would be the case no matter of how busy the resort was. The downside was the initial first impression of the cabin. The porch area was covered in cobwebs and flaky paint - not good. On enterting the cabin the hall was also very aged and at this point I feared we'd stepped back in time. The rest of the cabin however was very nice, but it did take time to appreciate and accept it. It was very clean and all ammeneties were in place, furnishings were ok and the bed was comfy. But it did need some basic care and maintenance. A lick of paint in most rooms and the woodwork in the aforementioned porch area plus bathroom are in urgent need of treatment. If you can look past these minor details then the place is great. We never ate in the clubhouse but it seemed to be popular enough, if lacking a bit in atmosphere during the day. All in all it was good but could be a whole lot better with some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpediem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
8.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Property: Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing