We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely location but...”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Lochanhully Woodland Club is in a great location, within easy walking distance of the village of Carrbridge so if you want a drink and a meal in the evening you don't need to use a car.
The staff at Lochanhully were brilliant throughout our stay. On arrival my wife was unwell so we had to cancel a meal booking for that evening. Not only was that done without problem but they even went to the trouble of putting together a freshly prepared honey and lemon drink for me to take back to the lodge. I didn't ask for it - it was simply given to me, and greatly appreciated. Food in the clubhouse / bar was very good and not over priced considering the location. The entertainment during the week was also of a good standard - certainly far better than I have experienced in some other resorts.
The downside was the quality, or lack thereof, of the accommodation. The unit we occupied was in dire need of major refurbishment. The entrance door was badly warped so there was a gap of at least an inch between the door and frame at the bottom. Fortunately the weather was mild and not too windy when we were there! Door sills had chunks of wood missing and I don't think they had been painted in years. The bedroom was very small with no more than about a foot either side of the bed between it and the wall. Thankfully only 2 of us stayed there as even 2 children would have found the 2nd bedroom, with its bunk beds, cramped.
I have owned timeshare at another Macdonalds resort for over 20 years, and visited many, but this one was way below the minimum standard I expect. I wasn't looking for, or expecting 5 star luxury, just well maintained property. I didn't get it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keitht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
87
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent a week here - 3 teenagers and two parents, and all enjoyed our stay. We took bikes and the area is quiet enough for the children to ride unsupervised, and there are woodland bike trails nearby. We also enjoyed the tennis courts and little swimming pool.

What really made the break was the customer service - the staff just could not have been more helpful. As others have said, the accommodation is small but ours was beautifully maintained. We particularly liked the landscaping - the lodges are set at right angles to each other so none are overlooked.

if you want a deluxe break with spacious ultra modern apartments look elsewhere. If you want peace and quiet with friendly people, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadowblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here for a week with 2 teenagers and an 18 month old....lovely quiet area....great to be able to hand feed the local ducks and see red squirrels in the trees around the lodges. Lodges had all you need to be comfortable.
The onsite swimming pool is great with a gym onsite and guest laundry and playpark for the wee ones.
The area around carrbridge has so many things to do you cant fit it into a week, we went dry skiing, horse riding, to Landmark, and enjoyed rock wall climbing.!!!!
There are also many lovely places to eat including the decent food at the Lochanhully woodland club..

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

we were staying for 3 nights and wanted a place that was in the aviemore area but not too far out.

from lochanhully we took a trip to the ski center (that was another story altogether!!) and on the strathspey steam railway. we also took a day trip to ullapool right up in north west scotland which really is not that far away (from carr bridge , ullapool was only an hour and a half)...so the place was great for accesibility and things to do, see and visit.

carrbridge itself was about 2/3 mins drive (maybe 10-15mins walk)

This place was (as my headline says) also really pleasant to stay at. when we arrived we found the staff to be really pleasant and cheerful and they liked to have a little natter with you without intruding which was great to see.

we were allocated a lodge at the back of the park so it was really really quiet but the whole park is centered around the reception/leisure area and the quite big man made fishing loch so even though we were at the back it wasnt far to walk to go for a swim at the pool etc

the lodge itself was really clean although the decor was a little dated but hey it is only a 3 star so really it didnt matter. there was a decent sized living area but there was only 4 of us and if there was 6 it might have got a little tight, but again you get what you pay for and if you had 6 you wouldnt be paying very much per person.

the facilities were again really clean...a lovely warm swimming pool, sauna, steam room, fitness room (which we didnt use along with a tennis court) etc there....also a small games room to help your children part with their money. they also had stuff like dvds to rent which was a good touch. as usual there is more that i havnt listed which is on the resorts website

as i said about the lodges , the leisure area was a little dated (the dvds were current haha) but really it didnt matter as it didnt look too tired and it certainly wasnt scruffy and it is important to realise i am saying it was only a "little" dated

it is often the little personal things that matter and make a stay really good eg there were bird feeders strategicaly positioned near our glass porch/dining area at our lodge which meant we had continual visits from birds and ducks and the occassional red squirrel....also as i said the staff were really nice too

.....so altogether we felt it had been a really relaxing stay and good value (we got it for a spring break 30% off offer which mcdonald hotels often have).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellybutt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was our second visit to lochanhully and we had an extremely enjoyable week – although a holiday is what you make of it!

The good bits:
Lovely setting with small loch, bar/restaurant, pool, steam room, sauna, nightly entertainment, children’s play park, tennis and gym facilities. The bar/restaurant facilities are of a good standard with very pleasant staff. We did not eat here although the food did look good and was very busy – room/lodge service was also available.
The setting is lovely and our two year old loved the ducks and the play park. Also only a short walk away (15 mins) is Carr-bridge which is a small but nice village and also has Landmark – a large children’s play/adventure centre.
The pool facilities at Lochanhully were old but great to have and also the small gym was very useful and great to use. You also have free use of Dalfaber Golf and Leisure resort which is about 10 mins away by car. Here the facilities have recently been upgraded and are simply excellent. Dalfaber also has a 9 hole golf course which you can use free of charge – again most enjoyable.

Good location if you have a car as lots of activities and Aviemore is only 10 mins away.

The not so good bits:
The lodges are old and tired looking with a strange smell. They were clean(ish) but there is only so much you can clean with as much wear and tear as they have had. The bedrooms are simply a disgrace – the double bed is tiny and the bunk beds would be fine for small children but certainly not adults. Also the living area is very small and should not be advertised for sleeping 6 as there would not even be enough seats for everyone! The TV is also extremely basic and only has 5 channels – which I did not even think was possible now we live in the digital age.
There is no (or very limited) mobile phone signal at the resort and the £14.95 Wi-Fi we paid for worked sometimes but not others.

Overall a most enjoyable and relaxing week although serious upgrading and renovating is required in the lodges.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garethcampbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Have been going here now for over 20 years and this establishment has been improving all the time. The staff for the last number of years has been way above average and the catering has been perfectly adequate and value for money ever since we started going there .Meals are served in the bar area where there is usually some kind of entertainment

The grounds have always been kept to a very high standard and in summer the flower displays have always been outstanding

The lodges are undergoing a complete refurbishment at present and have been finished to a very high standard,although I personally would have preferred that some of the original pine had been kept throughout as it made the whole atmosphere much cosier,but that is just my opinion.The kitchens are finished to a very high level, with all the utensils and crockery that one would need.

The surrounding area should be on everyone's list of areas to see as the scenery is some of the most beautiful in Scotland

The village of Aviemore about 7 miles south is a typical tourist trap,and I think it better to go a wee bit further south either to Newtonmore or Kingussie where one does not feel "ripped off"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seniortraveler060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birnam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

first impression were great loved the lodge we were shown into but unfortunatly Father in law didnt so we moved to another lodge which again was nice but smelt terrible. The lodges had everything we needed dont think it wise to advertise the as sleeping 4-6 as we had 4 adults and one small child and it was a definate squash. when we had unpacked i asked at recepttion to purchase the weeks wi-fi and was told by the 2 staff on duty that it wasnt working in the lodges only in the clubhouse and because of that it was free. this didnt bother me at all so later on i came down to use it and realised i needed a username and password which they hadnt given me. The Lady on duty at that time was extremely rude to me when i said i had been told it was free she told me "nothing here is free what do you think we are running?" i apologised and explained. She then shouted on another member of staff who told her yes it was free she then glared at me "im only the manager here what the hell would i know" and stalked off no apology nothing! was not very manager like at all.
apart from that we loved lochanully and would definatly return, very clean and in a perfect location. Didnt eat or drink on site as manager put us off so we made good use of the lodge facilities

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
7.0 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.3 mi away
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Property: Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing