We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple and standard”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Reviewed July 28, 2007

i stayed here at the weekend along with a my pipeband, we were playing at a competition in inverness and stayed at this hotel for the weekend, the rooms are simple and standard but u get what u pay for, all rooms had toilet and shower and were all very clean. the hotel itself was a little dated and could do with some refurbishment but was not dirty or shabby.
we had dinner in the hotel on the saturday night and the food was lovely, the bar is not too expensive, we paid around 2.50 a drink which is what u would expect from a hotel.
i have one major complaint about this hotel and that was that the lock broke on one of the room doors and the people were stuck in the room until a joiner came to fix it, the hotel then charged us for this even though it was not our fault and the joiner himself said it was because the door and the lock were so old, the hotel argued with us and demanded that we paid for this!!!!
the hotel breakfast is very disappointing, they served stale cold toast and the full breakfast was a buffet but it had been sitting out for hours so the food was cold and not very appealing, however on the saturday they did put on a nice continental breakfast for us because we had to leave at 7.30am to travel to inverness, this was nice of them since they had to open the kitchen early.
overall i would not return to this hotel again but it is ok if u want to stop over for one or two nights but do not expect to be staying in the hilton!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank weefunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2007

Sounds like the previous poster had a particularly bad room.

In my experience it is good value for money in comparison to what is available in the surrounding areas. I frequently go there with my family of four and pay between £50 - £70 per night DBB for us all.

The hotel is old and in the slow process of rennovation. It is one of the many hotels that are popular with bus parties - ie low cost.

The rooms I have had have been adequate and clean (with a shower) and I have enjoyed the simple but good meals. I would recommend this hotel to people who want value for money but don't expect a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights friday to monday , management and staff were pleasant, room however was not near the standard we expected , were given an attic style room , with double bed , covering was no where near ample , no shower in room ,which we would have at least expected , room grubby to say the least , could have done with a good clean , overall very disappointed with our stay ,not worth the money , would not stay again !

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

booked with national holidays 2 night break ended up with family room very comfy bed basic but clean very impressed with welcome from owner colin on arrival meals were good staff friendly would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janThornaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Spent 1 fantastic night at the Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore then moved to a weekend deal at Carrbridge Hotel, Carrbridge, booked through Easybreaks. Purpose of the weekend stay was to take part in dog sled events with our dogs in nearby Aviemore. Arrived at the hotel just before 4p.m. Temp outside was below freezing and there was no heating in the hotel bedrooms. The room we were shown had a 3/4 size bed with mattress so thin that the outline of the spars below were partially visible. ASsked fro another room and on moving the furniture to set up the dog cage, we found paper handkerchiefs, sweet paper wrappings and what looked like a cod liver oil capsule on the floor under the bed. Spoke to management and also asked about the lack of heating. They advised the heating was just about to go on and could not offer any alternative rooms. Easybreaks could not find us other dog friendly accommodation and neither could the local tourist information. All in all we had to travel the 100miles home without taking part in the sled dog event. Easybreaks apologised and said we would receive a refund and nothing more. will be in our account soon. Altogether a very disappointing trip.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank lyndea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Dimitri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1803 and has been owned and managed by the same family over the last 3 decades The hotel has been extensively expanded to provide a full hotel service within the Cairngorm National Park to include Tourist and Business Accommodation, Conferences or Events, with full set menus or a la carte Grill menu availabile each day. Just off the A9 - some 7 miles North of Aviemore and 23 miles South of Inverness the hotel makes an ideal good value base to expolre the Highlands by bus train or car with Glasgow 3hr, Edinburgh 2:30 min and Aberdeen 2:30min Carrbridge Hotel has a constant well co-ordinated program of refurbishment. There is a £250,000 thousand pound Bedroom refurbishment programmed planned to include new colour schemes,hard and soft furnishings and Carpet from October 2017 until March 2018 All bathrooms were refurbished over the last few years to provide moddern facilitys and the public areas will be refurbished for the start of the 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing