We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in August 2013. We had one of the newly renovated rooms which was lovely, clean and had all the modern amenities we could have wanted. We ate in the restaurant twice, both of which were divine, the first night we had steaks and they were cooked to perfection. Breakfast had a large variety however one tiny niggle, the black pudding had broken, but this didn't detract from the overall breakfast experience. Check-in was swift and the young receptionist, Alan, was cheerful informative, as were all the other staff. We visited Landmark and the hotel was kind enough to give us 25% off discount vouchers - a real bonus to our day. I read that people struggled to find their rooms, we managed to find ours without any problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 509 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Weekend Break which fitted in fine to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary which was the previous Wednesday.

Exceptionally friendly, relaxing environment. All the Hotel staff were really good to us and our pet Border Collie. Also people we met while out walking were very friendly.

Our room was comfortable and nice and warm for December. We were impressed by the attention to small detail. i.e. chocolates on our pillows on arrival and a digital clock radio. Very handy if you wake up in the middle of the night.

Dinner menu had a good choice. Food was nicely presented. Portions were huge. Very enjoyable meals.

Breakfast menu was good and varied from Continental to Full Scottish Breakfast. Black Pudding was excellent.

We were also invited to the Rotary Club Race Night. A new experience for us. Very enjoyable evening. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles60-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

spent a couple of nights here with my sister and brother in law recently. we had a lovely couple of days, basic accommodation but great food and lovely staff. our visit was made even better by being asked to attend the rotary club race night. what a wonderful time we all had, cannot rate it highly enough !! thank you & see you next year!

Room Tip: upgraded rooms available in new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights - part of Newmarket rail holiday - terrific place to stay - basic room but comfy and good food. Will always remember the stunning scenery nearby and further north to Fort William. I cannot speak too highly of this hotel. Even my wife liked it !
.

Room Tip: Stay on middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogly-boogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having fond memories of spending a delightful skiing week here over 50 years ago when the hotel was vibrant and bustling we just popped in for a quick beer and a sandwich. And what a disappointment - the whole place felt old and tired, the bar was dingy, the furniture worn and what really summed it up was having to collect a pre-packed sandwich from the hall....but a snip at £1.29!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent one night here en route to Edinburgh from the Outer Hebrides, during October when the trees are turning orange - awesome! The hotel is imposing on a road junction close to the famous pack horse bridge over the river (how they got horse to cross it, amazes me!). The hotel is very cosy, and typical of the stone-clad Victorian buildings in the area.
Our room was in the new wing (when we could find it!) overlooking the car park; very convenient to nip out to the vehicle, also one can walk directly into the dining room from the rear staircase, due to it being split level. Unfortunately this made our room a bit too public for our liking. Also, the room was rather too small. Good job we were staying only one night, therefore didn't unpack our cases, because where can one store two 110 litre cases? The beds were standard doubles, brand new and clean, but we prefer kingsize, which is becoming the norm. It is a pity that the Architect, when designing the new wing, didn't sacrifice a couple of rooms to add an extra couple of square metres to each room. Friends travelling with us were put up in some of the original rooms, which they say are much larger and loftier.
Now the plus's. The food was excellent, very generous and well cooked. The staff throughout could not be more helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. In fact, we would stay there again if we were touring, and if we were to stay a few days, WE would certainly insist upon one of the older, larger, rooms..

Room Tip: Ask for one of the older rooms, not in the new wing, although the front rooms can be subject to some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Although not trendy or chic I really enjoyed the 4 nights I recently spent in Carrbridge. I stayed in a single room which was comfortable and clean. All facilities such as TV, radio,tea and coffee making were included and while it took me a little while to negotiate my way around I soon felt at home. Just one little grip the bed was a bit lumpy. That said a big bonus was the attitude of the staff who without exception were all friendly and helpful, this was clearly due to good staff training and they all genuinely seemed to be happy in their work. The food was well prepared and varied daily...try the wholesome soups they really are good. Outside the hotel the scenery is lovely and there are plenty of local walks and a very handy local Spar store which seems to sell just about everything. While the Carrbridge hotel is not 5 star I certainly would return and if the Scottish weather is anywhere near as good as that during my stay this hotel makes a great starting point each morning after enjoying a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1803 and has been owned and managed by the same family over the last 3 decades The hotel has been extensively expanded to provide a full hotel service within the Cairngorm National Park to include Tourist and Business Accommodation, Conferences or Events, with full set menus or a la carte Grill menu availabile each day. Just off the A9 - some 7 miles North of Aviemore and 23 miles South of Inverness the hotel makes an ideal good value base to expolre the Highlands by bus train or car with Glasgow 3hr, Edinburgh 2:30 min and Aberdeen 2:30min Carrbridge Hotel has a constant well co-ordinated program of refurbishment. There is a £250,000 thousand pound Bedroom refurbishment programmed planned to include new colour schemes,hard and soft furnishings and Carpet from October 2017 until March 2018 All bathrooms were refurbished over the last few years to provide moddern facilitys and the public areas will be refurbished for the start of the 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing