We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but could do much better!”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Adequate but could do much better!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with a Newmarket Scottish Highlands Railways Holiday. Set in a beautiful location but the hotel is a little shabby and could do with a bit of a facelift, although our rooms appeared to have been decorate fairly recently.

The lounge was a mish-mash of furniture - one half comfortable leather chairs and sofas and the other half garden style rattan furnitue which had seen better days.

Most staff were pleasant, although one receptionist wasn't, she rarely had a smile on her face and was quite abrupt and rude to my friend, also to other guests.

The food was always hot but lacked imagination, as someone said "more like school dinners" - rice pudding every night and apple or rhubarb crumble alternate nights (very little fruit), there were other options, also cold options. The chef was also a little heavy handed with the salt in soups and vegetables and sugar in custard etc..

I do not expect 5* service from a 3* hotel but with a little improvement on the decor and menu, also a little more foresight, this could be a lovely hotel.

I know there have to be fire doors but the narrow double doors at the top of the stairs near room 602 are decidely dangerous and waiting for an accident to happen - there is the possibility off falling backward down the stairs as the doors open towards you. The self-closing hinges are very strong and the doors located just 12-15 inches from the top of the stairs, making them difficult to get through.

The hotel obviously relies heavily on coach parties.

Would I stay here again? Maybe if improvements were made.

Room Tip: Rooms 602 and 603, which are at the front of the hotel were fine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatisfiedVisitor_PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    106
    61
    42
See reviews for
74
210
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of an organised holiday and were not disappointed with the standard of accommodation. Our room in the 600 part of the hotel was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The view from the window was pleasant overlooking the golf course. Food was good with buffet breakfast above average but could do with a second toaster perhaps. Evening meal also good with choices but could do with a better selection of vegetables. The desserts were excellent with hot and cold choices. The serving staff were very helpful and pleasant and keen to please. Minor complaints were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Overall a pleasant and satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy but tired looking in some areas, the bedrooms were clean and tidy and had the usual things like extra clean bathroom with clean towels every day. TV in room and tea/coffee making faciities. I noticed building work going on in the rear of the building and could see they were extending to add more rooms. There was no noise that I heard that could interfere with inside the hotel, but there again we were out most days.The staff were great, friendly & helpful. The food although plentiful was sometimes boring with a lot of cooked dinners and fish with sauces. Quality was very good though. Salads were served and 4 puddings every night. Breakfasts were plentiful. I was there as part of a coach party and there had entertainment every night, the Saturday Night was particular good with a duo who both knew how to sing and play. The locals were great and came into dance, scottish reels and a few of us joined in, it was invigorating. Outside they were tables and chairs next to a river with an exceptional view of a neat half hoop stone bridge which in the summer a "piper" plays the bagpipes.Around the hotel there were some good walks and an adventure park further down the road.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park but was quiet. The night always seem to be light, it only went dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good hotel, clean rooms, comfy beds, maybe needs a bit updating, but the staff were excellent. We were a mixed group of adults and children who were attending a nearby pipe band contest. We were late getting back to the hotel from the contest however the staff were able to feed us all and they put up with some pipe band shenanigans with good humour. I was impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandythepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from a Scottish coach holiday based at this hotel and in our experience it was one of the best ones we have stayed at since we started these sort of holidays six years ago.

Our room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The food was good - self service breakfast with choices not always available in some other hotels e.g continental breakfast and fresh fruit with yoghurt as well as the normal fruit juice ( 3 flavours ) plus three choices of cereal and porridge.

Then there was the cooked breakfast which, being self service meant that men could have more than one sausage and one rasher of bacon which is often the limit in some other hotels.

The toaster wasn`t very efficient because you had to put the bread through twice though later in the week the hotel staff had done the first ` toasting ` for us so we only had to put it through once more. Some people might not like this idea but it is no different to being served cold toast at your table as has happened to us in the past !

Dinner consisted of a choice of three starters, four main courses both of which were served at your table. Then you could help yourself to as many different deserts as you wanted and there were always at least seven on offer - hot and cold. Coffee or tea was then brought to your table to order.

Being part of a coach party often means that you have to sit at a specified table for every meal - often eight or ten people to one table ...... but the tables at this hotel were either two or four seats and you could sit wherever you liked. Granted there was only one other coach trip in at the same time as us so maybe it is different if the hotel is fuller.

We didn`t sample the evening entertainment because we were too tired after being out all day but our room was near enough for us to hear ( when our window was open ) that it was Scottish folk singing. Had we not been too tired we would have gone down for this because it is one of the things that makes Scotland outstanding.

Our room had both a telephone and an electric clock which we have never found in other two / three star hotels where we have stayed. The staff were always very helpful we found when we had to contact them.

Another thing that I have never seen in any other hotel is a display chiller unit filled with sandwiches, biscuits, cakes, crisps, cold drinks etc - anything you might need to make up a packed lunch. These items were individually priced but you could buy a complete packed lunch for a discount price of £4.99 which would be hard to beat in a supermarket. Granted, we were in a very small hamlet so that the only other place you could have bought a packed lunch would have been the local Spar shop but I doubt they could have matched the price offered by the hotel.

For anyone staying here there are some great places to see. There is a forest adventure park just down the road for the children and a spectacular train journey across Scotland from Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh which is well worth the money. The latter could be combined with a trip on the glass bottomed boat ` Seaprobe Atlantis ` from Kyle of Lochalsh sailing up under the Bridge over the Atlantic - also well worth it because you can view life under the sea from its lower level. Another good trip in the area is the Jacobite boat down Loch Ness to Urquart Castle.

I didn`t hear any of our party complain about this hotel and usually you get at least one disgruntled person. We would definitely stay here again if we were ever in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which had a good sized en suite bathroom with both bath and shower. It was cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stocky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Carrbridge Hotel, and found it to be acceptable. Our room was clean, comfortable with a nice bathroom and kept welcoming everyday by the staff. we cannot comment on any of the other rooms, but the rooms on the second floor in the 600 range seemed ok It does need some updating as the Hotel looks tired and isn't more than a 3 star, but if you go expecting this ,then you won't be disappointed.
We had a view of the golf course, which was pleasant. The breakfast choice was excellent and was always very hot and fresh. Evening meal was acceptable, our one concern with this was, a better choice of vegetables would have been nice, but the choice of desserts was very good. We found the staff to be very pleasant, the waiting staff, always tried to sort out any changes you ask for.
We rarely used the evening entertainment , as we were too tired from the day, but this possibly needs reviewing by the hotel. Overall a pleasant stay in a 3 star Hotel which suited our needs for the organised trip we had booked.

Room Tip: we had 616 and 617 they were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toosey360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay was part of a Holiday Tour and lived down to the worst reviews published. From badly maintained rooms to poor quality food and non-existent service it was the low point of our holiday. Thank goodness for the meals in The Cairn Hotel and its friendly atmosphere.

Almost everything provided in the Carrbridge Hotel is of the lowest quality , particularly the food and service at mealtimes, and the universal view of other passengers on our holiday tour was the same as ours. The Hotel boasts an team of "international chefs" who may be from the four corners of the globe but they are not from any place with any culinary heritage judging by their output.

Even a Morning Call, carefully written down at Reception, was never actioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2610MichaelU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
662 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing