We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a 'view'”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Room with a 'view'”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day Great Highland Railways break with Diamond Holidays. Long journey
arriving at 6.30 pm in the evening. Our driver Chris was pleasant and helpful and had a good sense of humour! The Hotel is in a lovely position, by a river and the famous Packhorse bridge. There is a Spar a few minutes from the Hotel, very handy for newspapers, refreshments and water to take out every day. A lot of time is spent on the coach before joining the train journey, so advisable to take snacks. We had 7 people on our coach who were staying at another Hotel about 25 miles away, so some of the days we had to pick them up first. It was a pity the whole coach party could not have been accommodated at the Carrbridge Hotel as it was a lot of extra travelling for Chris our driver. When we arrived the Manager of the Hotel came onto the coach to welcome us and we checked in at Reception. Our cases were taken off the coach by Hotel staff and left outside our rooms, which was a nice gesture after a long journey. We were hoping our room was overlooking the surrounding countryside, but what a disappointment when we opened our bedroom door. We had a lovely view of a grey slate tiled roof and could just see the sky. It was a family room, so with a double bed and bunk beds, we did have room to move around. The room was clean and bathroom adequate with thick white towels and 2 sachets of showel gel and 2 of shampoo. This was not replenished during our stay, but luckily we had brought extra with us. By the end of our break we had forgotten about our view from the bedroom window as we would not have been in there long enough to enjoy it as we were out all day, just returning in time for a quick wash and change before our meal! If we had been staying for a leisurely break we would have asked to be moved as the room was quite dark. The meals in the Restaurant were served until 7.30 pm so it was rather a rush to unpack, shower and change for dinner. It would be more relaxing if meal times were extended to 8.30 pm. We found the food to be hot when served, but would have liked more choice for main course, but always found something to eat. Good choice of dessert and also cheese and biscuits and coffee.
Some of the staff were well-trained but unfortunately on one of the nights, we felt we were invisible as were completely ignored until my husband asked if we could order our meals. We realised there were a few coaches staying, but there seemed to be a shortage of staff that evening. The youngsters waiting on were pleasant, but could do with more training e.g. to wait until both people had finished eating their meal before 'grabbing' the empty plates. We had roast beef one evening which we enjoyed, but when I asked for some mustard I had 6 sachets thrown on the table - not quite what one would expect in a hotel! We enjoyed the breakfasts with adequate choices but would have liked some fresh fruit and a faster toaster! We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 train excursions and as a bonus our driver arranged an optional ride on the funicular railway up the Cairngorm mountain - very cold but very enjoyable. Can recommend this Highland Railways break, well-organised and if the Carrbridge hotel were to be re-decorated and some changes made in staff training, it has the potential to be a comfortable hotel in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janus274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    106
    60
    42
See reviews for
73
210
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We also stayed here as part of a Newmarket holiday. The two previous hotels had been fine but this was a subsitute for one in Nairn that they had stopped using apparently because there had been complaints ,so heavens knows what that was like! it is in a lovely setting and the manager was very welcoming as were the staff but it was downhill from there. The decor badly needs a makeover, we were on the second floor accessed by a double door at the top of the stairs which is an accident waiting to happen. Our room had both a double bed and bunk beds presumably it was a family room, but this meant that there was very little room to move about and no where to put the cases. The furniture was shabby as was the bedding and the bathroom was chipped and dated. The dining room reminded me of a school canteen with food to match - the evening meal on the first night was so bad we didn't bother going in on the second night having managed to get a lovely lunch in Inverness.The good news is that there is a good pub in the village which serves good beer and also meals which looked fine.I understand that the owner is going to extend the hotel further but I would suggest he needs to spend the money on getting the hotel up to an acceptable standard first.

Room Tip: Book in somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancslass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCH2, Guest Relations Manager at Carrbridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comment on your stay at the Carrbridge Hotel. We were saddened to learn of your dissatisfaction.

The hotel has a current comprehensive and on-going refurbishment programme with the last major full all area refurbishment taking place in 2008/2009.

Food as always can be fairly subjective. Staff are trained to accommodate reasonable bespoke requests. There is also an A la Carte dining facility available. Guests’ on a dinner, bed and breakfast package can opt to use this facility and receive a substantive discount.

Guests’ are encouraged to use one of the two passenger lifts to give level access to first and second floors. The fire doors you refer to are in compliance with statutory legislation to prevent the surface spread of smoke and fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Newmarket Highlands by Rail holiday which we couldn't fault BUT the Carrbridge was a different matter. The location is ideally situated for visiting the Cairngorms and surrounding areas, with lots of good walks, but the Carrbridge itself is a tired tartan hotel badly in need of some love and attention. Although we were met by the welcoming sight of a living fire in the hall on our arrival it was downhill from then on. Our room gave us a comfortable nights sleep, with just a slight background noise from the evening entertainment creeping in, and was of an average standard. Tea and coffee making facilities were a welcome addition. The bathroom was Ok if you chose to ignore the peeling covering on the cupboards and the dust in the corners. The public rooms were quite non-descript with no atmosphere and not somewhere we felt we wanted to spend a long time in. HOWEVER the 'piece de resistance' was the food.....we use that term loosely as, apart from the breakfasts which were a hot and plentiful buffet style, the rest of the evening meals were dismal, unimaginative and of very poor quality with repetitive choice of vegetables, school dinners come to mind! Two of the meals were partly inedible due to the overcooked gammon being curled up and hard. Four of us decided to upgrade to 'a la carte' to celebrate a special event (at an additional cost to the already paid for meals) the first experience was fine, nicely cooked and presented BUT the second was a disaster! After waiting over an hour and a half the meals finally arrived at just gone 9, three of them were so overcooked that we couldn't get our knives into them and just ended up with vegetables and a tiny piece from the middle of the meat, bitterly disappointing.
The saving grace was that we were not charged for these three 'meals'. There were only 14 'a la carte' customers in that night! All the staff, the majority of whom were quite young, were trying their best to cope with an influx of new holidaymakers (an additional two coach parties) but the stress was showing and we felt very sorry for them. It is a shame that instead of adding a new wing (currently being built at the moment) management have not invested in a refurbishment and more support for the overworked staff. It appears, from report read, that this hotel may be better suited to individual travellers. This could be a wonderful hotel in an ideal location but, as it is, sadly not one we would ever choose to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the evening entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_yokels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good service from what would appear to be a new team of staff trying to do their best. Restricted Table D'Hote menu but well presented an good quality food. Bar prices very good but restricted range of beers and ciders. Rooms large comfortable and clean but requiring some work (Our double galzed windows were shot, he condensation inside them did not clear). Great place to stay overnight when visiting the nearby attraction of Landmark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were part of a Newmarket Holidays tour group and so cannot comment on value as we do not know the cost of the stay. However we can comment on our experience, and this we did NOT enjoy.
Beautifully situated for visiting the Cairngorms and many other scenic wonders, it seemed to offer an ideal base from which to tour. In the event, it was a base we did NOT look forward to returning to at the end of tiring days out.
In the 600 series rooms, we were in the best that the hotel offered, but these are small. It is 'moving by numbers'. Comfortably appointed and clean and warm, but too cramped.
The public rooms are large and anonymous, the bar drab, poorly stocked and poorly run.
Meals - Breakfast was of average composition, with only porridge and square sausage to distinguish it from English Breakfast! The quality was average also.
Evening meal was LESS than average. After our poor experience the first evening, we determined to 'splash the cash' and take dinner in the bar from the 'enhanced menu' in succeeding days.
'Enhanced Evening meals - our first encounter with the enhanced menu brought the hoped for enhanced quality meals. The second did not, and the third was a disaster!
Only one of the four meals was edible, the rest had to be sent back and (no 'enhanced' charge was made for these 3! however it needs to be remembered that we had paid for food in the cost of the holiday, but without having any this evening to eat! Also,we had waited from 7.30pm until the arrival of the 'food' at 9pm.
The hotel suffers from systemic management failure. The staff - many young and without experience - try to please the guests, but without adequate support from management, are fighting a losing battle. Action is required - NOW!

On the bright side, the WiFi was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neddy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st aulaye france
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is dull and in need of a complete overhaul even though extension work is going on they are not attending to the basics. Our room was small,the bathroom always damp and not cleaned properly--if at all. The towels old and frayed,the bath chipped and the shower curtain beyond description. We had to remake our bed each evening --we were not the only ones judging by some of the comments we heard. The bar dark and univiting with uncomfortable seating(looked like old pews) and a small coal fire. No atmosphere what so ever --it could have been great with proper comfy chairs,tables etc spread all round the room instead of just at the edge. The food was awful --just like school dinners was the comment from others in our party. The staff lazy and uninterested in their job or the customers. Plates whisked away too quickly.
This trip was for our 40th wedding anniversary and when my husband asked if flowers could be delivered to our room he was rudely told to order them yourself from Interflora. The promised WiFi failed until our last evening. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel --failing that a room in the new extension river side as its quiet at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Four night stay whilst on Scenic Rail Holiday with Newmarket Holidays. Lovely break excellent service from tour manager and coach driver. All the staff very friendly and helpful, food was fair and adequate. Overall the break was excellent rather a lot of time had to be spent on the coach getting from hotel to rail journey otherwise an excellent break.

Room Tip: Rooms large and quiet, bathroom in our room a little tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claybusterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing