We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to get back”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

3 star hotel catering mainly for coaches yes - but should be at least a 4 star b/fast was exceptional ( bacon was great ) dinner was the same standard all meals were hot ( where
applic. ) & more than ample. All the staff were pleasant & helpful rooms were clean ours was room 206 handy for restaurant & the bar. Having read the reviews before we left we
wondered what we were going to experience however the fact is that there were more good than bad reports All in all we enjoyed our 3 night stay & would have no hesitation
whatsoever about returning Go on go for it

Room Tip: room 206 was at the rear very quiet but veiw of river through the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amagoingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    106
    60
    42
See reviews for
73
210
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The whole trip was excellent and marvellous value for money.
Cost per person included return flights to Edinburgh, coach + driver for the entire stay with the services of an excellent tour guide,4 nights B,B&EM at the hotel + entertainment each evening, and 3 trips by train - on the Strathspey Steam railway, to the Kyle of Localsh and Mallaig.
The hotel is basic but clean, with good meals and friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Make sure the 'fridge is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCAMPI206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We are regular visitors to Carrbridge but only stay in this hotel if we can't get booked into much smaller Cairn hotel. Carrbridge Hotel is clean, warm & professionally run but it caters mainly for coach tours so most clients are retirees. Entertainment. is offered, in form of ceildh until 11pm during high season but we got taxi into Aviemore which is much more lively. Breakfast, sadly is almost inedible. Buffet style food is kept hot for ages so fried eggs are like solid rubber, scrambled are swimming in pool of curds and whey. Toast is cold and chewey, Old Village Bakery, close by, gives brill breakfasts if you don't mind paying..Try to book the Cairn hotel first

Room Tip: get into new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandshorty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just spent 5 fantastic days in The Carrbridge hotel. I recieved a very warm welcome from Colin and Theresa the owners and from all the staff. My room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the river and I'm sure my single room should have been a twin or Double it was so big. The food and service in the dining room were excellent and so was the nightly entertainment. Overall this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I would not hesitate to recomend it. A fantastic hotel in a beautiful location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose this hotel for it's location and price and we found it to be an excellent choice.
Our first impressions were friendly and welcoming staff, we really liked the decor of our room and the whole experience was a wonderful stay.
The breakfast was perfect and cooked exactly the way we wanted it.
The bar and entertainment (which was a nice surprise) was great, and really made our stay enjoyable.
We would definitely come back to this hotel, it was great value and a fabulous place to stay in such a beautiful area of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham kent ME72DY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

just had 4 nights at the carrbridge hotel lovely welcome room nice and large bathroom large and clean good shower but no hot water from the sink tap after leaving it running for 15 mins.the food was ok on the first night and went down hill from then on roast potatoes were not fresh but frozen the meat was sliced ready to use not from a joint and every night we had carrots portions were on the small size entertainment acceptable location very good for touring around and a nice goodbye from the reception member of staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABDN
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the carrrbridge for 3 nights , its a great location for siteseeing and a short commute to inverness.The vaule for mony is outstanding , i would defo recommend to any up looking for a nice quiet place to stay with plenty of things to do

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcdonald29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing