We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff that made my visit to Scotland memorable”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff that made my visit to Scotland memorable”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Came to hotel on a coach tour. Was unsure before I came due to some comments. I liked the free style dining and the food was just rite for our type of eating, not fancy just good food. Breakfast was self service and if u want more just help yourself. The room we had was nice and modern on new extension with a veiw to the golf course. It's in good location for our tour of the highlands and really liked our time there. We had a great coach and very helpful and knowlagable driver and our tour manager was excellent. Would love to go again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thenandnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    106
    60
    42
See reviews for
73
210
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we stayed at the carrbridge hotel in june 2011, hotel was dull dreary in desperate need of a facelift, every floorboard creaked. Staff miserable no personality , waiting staff look terrifed as every thing was so disorganised. Food was terrible, lack of choice, no presentation, just thrown together, in fact it looked like a lot of leftovers from the previous day.We most certainly wont be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treestump1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

In the middle of some of the most stunning and awe inspiring scenery Scotland has to offer.
The Cairngorms, The River Spey, Aviemore, the mountains, Loch Ness etc. etc. But Oh ! what a disaster of a hotel. Greeted in glowing terms by the owner personally. 'Wonderfull to see you - will make your stay memorable - nothing too much trouble - ad Nauseum.. So, nothing negative here.
The room seemed fine but after a long trip looked forward to a shower and change for dinner. . Ran hot water taps for 10 minutes and nothing - just cold. Contacted reception 'Oh yes the boiler has broken down. We are trying to get it fixed'. 'Why weren't we told then by the owner on our greeting ?? Uhhh must have overlooked it but we are trying!' At dinner others complained of the same thing.
Ah well it happens I guess. Never mind menu looks good.
Chose Cheese and brocilly bake. Mistake. Cheapest commercial cheese sauce topped with 4 spears of RAW - no, not al dente - RAW brochilly. Whole thing not even grilled and tastless. Soup was fine, pudding was indescribably poor. Looked at others in the dining room and could see by food left and being returned all had the same experience. Cheap food with poor ingredients badly prepared. a good cook could have done better let alone someone purporting to be a 'chef'.
So breakfast - (oh yes, boiler fixed so all credit.) Eggs, fine- bacon, well-cheap. Tomatoes TINNED. In a greasy spoon cafe you'd expect it but a 3* hotel ??. Sausage worse than Tesco value - tasteless and greasy. Tesco value bread for toast yuk!
We ended up going to a hotel up the road every other evening with several other very unhappy guests and paying for 1st class food and service with wine and fantastic food at £20.00 a head as recommended by the two nearest pubs and guest houses (yes I did my homework!) who wouldn't comment out of politeness except one who said 'yes I know what you mean'. That said it all!.
So at the Carrbridge Hotel I asked how much they charged non residents for an a la carte dinner - '£21.50 sir'.
She asked if I needed a doctor as I stood dumbstruck.
It almost spoiled a special holiday in an unbeatable area as there is almost nowhere else that comes close for mountains and scenery.
What a shame. Get you act together Carrbridge. Scotland deserves better.

Room Tip: Don't eat there if you want quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weebeeglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just returned home from a railway themed holiday and we were based at the Carrbridge Hotel. What a lovely friendly welcome we received on our arrival and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was spotless, and as it was on the 2nd floor we had a good view over the village. Food was great and plentiful. Entertainment is varied to suit all tastes. We had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay there and would recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time touring the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tayquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

OK it isn't the Waldorf, but considering it is catering in the main for Coach Parties, you can't expect too much.

We stayed there as part of Newmarket travel holiday re scenic railways, and the tour was so good we would not let the hotel spoil it.

There were bits falling off in rooms, needed a lick of paint, the beer choice was poor, and the food in the evenings left a lot to be desired, but is gets a hammering by the sheer quantity of guests, and it shows.

Only down side, they showed a propaganda movie about the Highland clearances, and was totally out of order and misplaced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

IN PRAISE of CARRBRIDGE HOTEL, CARRBRIDGE, INVERNESS SHIRE.
During May 2011, my husband and I hoped to spend our holiday (with Newmaket Holidays Co.) with Carrbridge Hotel as our base. Unfortunately my husband was taken ill at the start of our break and had to spend the holiday in Inverness Hospital. The manager and staff at the Carrbridge Hotel could not have been kinder . They were so supportive and helpful, not only looking after me, but also arranging daily travel by bus/train and taxi to and from the Hospital. The joy of a family run business! Both of us shall be for ever grateful.
D&EC Wilson.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gustav866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were on a Newmarket Travel Highland Railways Holiday and can only compliment and recommend this hotel. The room was clean and the restaurant service was excellent. I really can not understand some of the poor reviews on this site.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing