We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what's all the fuss about?”
Review of The Old Bakery

The Old Bakery
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Carrbridge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“what's all the fuss about?”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've read the other reviews and after visiting today, 18/07/14, I couldn't agree with any of the bad ones. The tables were spotless, the young lass cleaning them as we entered, the young lad serving couldn't have been friendlier. I ordered the Highlander breakfast, my only criticism here was that the toast was served underneath the breakfast, please serve the toast on the side A) to stop it going soggy and B) to make more space on the plate for the huge breakfast. The food was very good quality, locally sourced, and it was well cooked. I certainly could not complain about the food. My partner had a panini, which was proclaimed good and a cappuccino which although good could have been hotter (cold milk?) The array of home baking looked superb, next time we go in we'll try it with coffee. Except for the toast and the lukewarm cappuccino, we couldn't fault the old bakery, what's all the fuss about?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughcunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    10
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived here on Saturday 28th June only to find that all the tables were filled with dirty washing, nobody bothered to come and welcome us, so we walked out. They obviuosly had had a busy day and could not be bothered with more customers. We wont be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanmaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,948 reviews
1,112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Small cafe but good food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Old Bakery is a small cafe so gets very full - you may have to wait for a table. Coffee is good and the cakes and scones excellent. The cafe serves a range of casual food including breakfasts, sandwiches, jacket potatoes and so on. The rather cramped room has a pleasant atmosphere despite its size and there are a few gifts on sale. It is a perfectly good cafe for a coffee, tea or lunch break and is very conveniently located a short walk from the car park.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've been here a few times in the past but todays visit reminded us why we shouldn't have gone back.
It doesn't take much to go around the few tables and give them a clean, they were sticky and crumbs on them.
The girl serving seemed not interested in tidying previous customers plates away and that everything was hassle.
As has been said before, if the owner doesn't have a good attitude its no wonder his staff don't either.
This could be a great little place to stop but it seems the owners would rather not be there, like us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russ_fae_fyvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just accept it!!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Old Bakery is great. Good food cooked fresh. Great scrambled eggs and bacon, breakfast always sorts out a wee 'headache' and the cheese and bacon burgers are a must.
If you are looking for silver service and a three tiered cake stand with numerous French fancies, cucumber sandwiches and tea served in a bone china cups, go to the Ritz.
If you want a good honest homemade food then make sure you stop and have a bite to eat.
Cannot recommend the Old Bakery more highly for what it is.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bakery also viewed

 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing