We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay!!!”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Geyserville, California
1
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Fairwinds because of reviews we saw on Trip Advisor and we were very happy we did. It is a small hotel with an intimate setting, and very peaceful, beauftiful surroundings in the little town of Carrbridge. Carrbridge is very close to Aviemore but has a sincere, genuine atmosphere, not row upon row of modern ski shops like Aviemore.

In Carrbridge we felt we were in Scotland, not Mammoth or Aspen (USA ski towns). The hotel and service are exactly as Alison described in a response to a previous review. As we sat at breakfast or dinner, in the dining pavillion, we could see wildlife out the windows (lots of windows)-birds, red squirrels, cotton tails, and geese. My husband especially was excited about the red squirrels on the Giant Sequoia (Wellingtonia, I think it is called there.) We also enjoyed learning more about Scotland from Alison and Lindsay, and appreciated their friendliness and humor. They knew when to leave us alone, and when we were interested in some company. When we needed something they were only a bell ring away.

The rooms were quite nice, but not extravagent. The food was very, very good. The service was excellent as well. The price was reasonable, and for the best deal, email or call Alison or Lindsay. That's what we did and we stayed two nights. After a day of hiking we enjoyed the informal atmosphere, great food, and a walk around town and through the woods and local cemetary. What can I say-we were interested in genealogy. The attention you receive here is much more personal than a big hotel, so if you want to blend in with the crowd and just be a number, a larger hotel would be more to your liking, I suspect.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2006

Only a short visit this time, but the accommodation, food and friendliness are second to none. The electric pepper mill is out of commission, but the friendliness of Alison and Lindsay more than made up for it. Breakfasts are stunning, just what is needed after a walk through the surrounding woods. Another visit is needed soon, to get a better look at the red squirrels. This is a stopping place to treasure in an area full of competing small and large hotels.

Thank Montyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
49
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We ended up staying in Carbridge because we could not get a room in Aviemore. It ended up being a great move. The B&B is quite nice. The room was clean and quiet. Our hostesses were excellent. They could not have been nicer. Both breakfast and dinner were very good--especially the dessert at dinner.

The town itself is very small. We could walk to a couple of local pubs. This was fun as we saw some great "local color".

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Where do you choose to stay? A question I asked myself in trying to select a hotel for a short break in the Highlands. Being a first time user of TripAdvisor I was a little unsure of whether or not the wonderful reveiws that the Fairwinds Hotel receives could be justified.

Booking purely on the basis of previously posted reviews and now having stayed there, these reviews are justified. If you're looking for hosts who take the time and trouble to make you feel very welcome, ensure the hotel is spotless and provide fantastic food, all at a very reasonable price then do believe what you read. My wife and I were very impressed, and will be extremely happy to return sooner rather than later.

Lindsay and Alison provide a personal touch that large hotels don't even get close to, and all in a beautifully relaxed setting.

Try the Fairwinds, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Broadway, Worcestershire
1
Reviewed April 20, 2006

We have been staying here for the last 3 years and Lindsey and Alison are superb hosts. The food is wonderful, the hotel is immaculate and the setting is so peaceful and quiet, yet easily accessible.

I almost don't want to say how brilliant it is as I would love to keep it to myself!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fife
12
Reviewed April 11, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiggMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: $120 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing