We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Allison & Lindsay...”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma
2 reviews
“Missing Allison & Lindsay...”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have just returned from my 4 night stay at the Fairwinds (Oct. 4th - Oct. 7th 2012). Linday and Allison made us feel right at home...the food was AmAzInG and Allison had us laughing the whole time!! Our room was huge and spacious with it's own kitchen!! We were able to watch the red squirrels feeding as we sat in the dining room while we dined on fresh fruit, freshly baked scones, eggs cooked to order...and that was just breakfast!! Dinner time was always a delicious adventure...and oh, the desserts!! I would definately return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieFPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
146
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently returned from my second 3-day stay at the Fairwinds. I miss it already! The location is gorgeous and peaceful. Beautiful walking trails begin just outside the front door. The room was comfy and beautiful. And, the meals! The menus are thoughtfully planned. The preparation and presentation of cuisine is fabulous. The sitting room is cozy and inviting. The proprietors are so friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend the Fairwinds! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed two days here in August as a couple...the hosts were very friendly, we spent a lot of time chatting to them in the conservatory. I sank into my bed, it was so comfortable, and the evening meal was beautiful.

The most relaxed we have felt in a long time, listening to music in the conservatory...we would definitely come back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just because it says "hotel" in the name doesn't make it a hotel. Fouir bedrooms above the residence and without a restaraunt is a B&B. That said, the Fiarwinds has comfortable, spacious tooms with modern en-suites. Run be an absolutely charming femalle couple. Breakfast was fabulous with everything prepard to order. They did not offer dinner the evening we were there, but that was an advantage. There was a pub/restaraunt within walking distance (entire village is only a few blocks long) which served an excellent dinner offering local salmon or trout and an opportunity to mix with local residents.
All in all, Fairwinds was a delightful stay with friendly, accomodating hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohringen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We decided to take a trip to the Scottish Highlands and booked into the Fairwinds Hotel in Carrbridge for 4 nights. What a fantastic find! The hotel is secluded, quite, spacious, and very welcoming. The restaurant is the perfect vantage point for viewing nature, such as red squirrels feeding, whilst enjoying a sumptuous breakfast. I would recommend the Fairwinds Breakfast from the menu. I regret not asking where they procured their bacon, sausages, etc. as it's among the best (and I have eaten a lot of hotel breakfasts), if not THE best I have ever tasted.

The rooms are very spacious, clean, and with all the facilities that you would require.

The proprietors made our holiday extra special. Their warm, friendly nature made us feel more like neighbours rather than guests. A truly wonderful experience and highly recommended if you're planning a visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghwbahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Can't praise this hotel enough. Lovely comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting. Spotlessly clean. Lovely atmosphere generated by the owners who have mastered the art of being very friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in August and can not praise this hotel more highly.

Comfortable spacious rooms in a lovely setting. Great food and dinner highly recommended.

Best of all was the warm welcome from the hosts who went that extra mile to make sure your stay was special.

Lots of nice touches, like the home make biscuits in the room, top notch toiletries and free Internet.

We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
529 reviews
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Property: Fairwinds Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing