We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, welcoming and ace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and ace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Very welcoming owners, huge coal fires, amazing food especially breakfast. clean, plenty hot water, will certainly be going back! Top notch, keep it up :-)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewbobs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    61
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
124
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We booked a double room for two nights. The room was large, but the decor was incredibly tired, and poorly lit. (What on earth was an oil painting of a flamenco dancer doing over our bed?) The red padded velvet headboard above the rock hard bed was dusty. The hospitality tray contained a single packet of biscuits. The bathroom suppies consisted of one small bottle of body wash, one shampoo, and one body lotion. For two people. We used the shampoo on the first night. It was not replaced.
The bathroom was carpeted, and shabby. The bath had been chipped and then repainted.

At breakfast we were initially given a tiny pot of coffee for two people. Yes, this was refilled on request, but seemed to say it all about this hotel. Nothing about it was generous, no one went the extra mile. We shared our breakfast table with the weariest, dustiest, most distressed basket of dried flowers I have ever seen.

This hotel was not cheap. It really needs to re-examine the quality of its offering.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We have just completed our third trip to Dalrachney and would have been happy to stay for the rest of the year! Everything about this hotel is great - room, food, service, staff, location - which is why we keep going back. So far we have stayed in the Coach House and always choose the same room but as we had such a fantastic time at Christmas in 2006, we have booked Christmas week this year in the Lodge. Christmas at Dalrachney was pure magic and a couple of days before Christmas Day when it was cold but sunny, we went on the railway up Cairngorm Mountain where people were skiing and the views were spectacular. On Christmas Eve we attended the carol service at 10pm in the local church where everyone made us very welcome. The holiday period at Dalrachney was something else with log fires blazing away in the dining rooms and lounge and so much food we thought we would pop! We went for a woodland walk after dinner each day and the sun sparkling on the hoar frost covering the pine trees was just beautiful. We are really looking forward to Christmas at Dalrachney again this year and would recommend you get your booking in quickly if you are interested!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Great place to stay. Very warm welcome from staff. Food very good. Room very spacious. We liked the decor and furnishings which was in keeping with the building. It was like a home from home and if its a quiet relaxing time you want this is the place.
The hotel would suite the outdoor types as it is close enough to winter resorts, hunting and fishing.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenhousemuir
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Set in a lovely quiet location with very friendly and helpful staff. The dinner was super and the large Scottish breakfast was fabulous. We stayed in the large superior double room with en-suite which was wonderful. There is a lovely lounge to relax with a drink after dinner. A great hide away to relax and unwind. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

A lovely country house hotel in the village of Carrbridge. We stayed for 4 nights and had very a very nice room on the third floor which was light and spacious. There was a good selection of choices for breakfast and the dinner menu was extremely good and precluded the need to find anywhere else to eat of a evening. The staff were very helpful and accomodating, especially when we arrived early in the morning on the Caledonian Sleeper, allowing us to check in at 8am and have breakfast!

The en-suite bathroom only had a shower attachment on the bath so if you would like a shower then it would be best to ensure the room you book has a proper one.

A first rate hotel in a beautiful area of the country.

  • Liked — Excellent Dinner Menu
  • Disliked — Carpet in the bathroom - why do us Brits do that?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ADB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

This was our second stay at the Dalrachney. The hotel has lost none of its charm or quality. We stayed overnight for a visit to see the Cairngorm Reindeer and were delighted with the room (twin bed, one double, one single), food (evening meal and breakfast) and reception.

While this is not the cheapest accommodation in Carrbridge for that special overnight stay it was worth every penny.

Be aware that the rooms we have used are en suite but the shower is not separate to the bath - it's just an old-fashioned spray you down. This is however a minor niggle: we would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is also very close to Carrbridge and if you need car parking space, there's plenty.

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.6 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Property: Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 3 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Our Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. Having taken over just two years ago, a substantial renovation project is ongoing which has seen our Drawing Room and Bar/Bistro refurbished and completion of two new bedrooms with new en-suite bathrooms. In March 2015 a biomass boiler system was installed and another two new bathrooms have been completed. Investment in the Hotel is continuing with work starting on updating more bathrooms later in the year and a self-catering cottage will be available for rental in the Summer. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing