We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Great place to stay. Very warm welcome from staff. Food very good. Room very spacious. We liked the decor and furnishings which was in keeping with the building. It was like a home from home and if its a quiet relaxing time you want this is the place.
The hotel would suite the outdoor types as it is close enough to winter resorts, hunting and fishing.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

Set in a lovely quiet location with very friendly and helpful staff. The dinner was super and the large Scottish breakfast was fabulous. We stayed in the large superior double room with en-suite which was wonderful. There is a lovely lounge to relax with a drink after dinner. A great hide away to relax and unwind. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

A lovely country house hotel in the village of Carrbridge. We stayed for 4 nights and had very a very nice room on the third floor which was light and spacious. There was a good selection of choices for breakfast and the dinner menu was extremely good and precluded the need to find anywhere else to eat of a evening. The staff were very helpful and accomodating, especially when we arrived early in the morning on the Caledonian Sleeper, allowing us to check in at 8am and have breakfast!

The en-suite bathroom only had a shower attachment on the bath so if you would like a shower then it would be best to ensure the room you book has a proper one.

A first rate hotel in a beautiful area of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ADB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This was our second stay at the Dalrachney. The hotel has lost none of its charm or quality. We stayed overnight for a visit to see the Cairngorm Reindeer and were delighted with the room (twin bed, one double, one single), food (evening meal and breakfast) and reception.

While this is not the cheapest accommodation in Carrbridge for that special overnight stay it was worth every penny.

Be aware that the rooms we have used are en suite but the shower is not separate to the bath - it's just an old-fashioned spray you down. This is however a minor niggle: we would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is also very close to Carrbridge and if you need car parking space, there's plenty.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Just returned from a second stay at this hotel. Both times we were upgraded from the Coach House to the main house and both times we had lovely rooms. Booked through laterooms.com - £42 for the room (breakfast is extra). If you don't have breakfast in the hotel there is a little cafe in the village whcih seems to be open quite early.

This time we were up on the second floor where the room was slight smaller but by no means small. As others have said lovely views from both windows.

We had dinner in the bar area which was beautifully decorated and cosy with the fire on. The food was good and well priced. All the staff were very helpful and polite.

It's also probably worth mentioning both how spotlessly clear everywhere was and how quiet (although the latter is dependant on other guests I guess).

We dont stay that far from Carrbridge but it makes a great get away on a Friday night after work. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

On a recommendation from a friend we took the 3-day romance package in early November. Tremendous value with wine, champagne, flowers, chocs, dinner all-inclusive. Place quite busy with sports shooters. Weather not so good but warm coal/wood fires in Bar and Lounge and hot bedrooms, had to open the windows. The only time you noticed the climate was when the dog had to be walked. Hotel has kennels but not considered suitable for our pampered hound. Would suggest a visit if in area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicelady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

A lovely little country house hotel - well situated for exploring the Highlands.
The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, the bedroom (Superior) was first class - clean and well decorated with all necessary facilities. The decor of the public rooms was impressive and the nightly coal fires added a homely feel.
Not sure that the food was up to the standard of the rest of the facilities though (butcher might need a talking to!) - for a bar meal, the standard was great but the formal meal menu seemed only to be a slight modification to the bar menu.
That said, I would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geomac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
795 reviews
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
6.0 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: $161 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 2 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Some Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing