We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrmoor Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrew, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we arrived at Carrmoor Guest House I was immediately taken with the lovely gardens and location. Christine welcomed us warmly and upon arrival promptly served my husband a coffee and biscuits (I opted for a glass of wine!). In the lounge where we snacked, we met other relaxing guests and learned that they were return guests (always a good sign!). We learned that not only is it a B&B but that Christine's husband, Michael, was a professional chef and that they had a liscenced dining room for evening meals as well. We opted to stay in and eat and were so pleased ... the rainbow trout I ordered was cooked to perfection! Their menu is quite impressive for such a tiny spot and although we had just the one night to sample the goods, the other guests assured us that everything on the menu was delicious! Our room was up a small flight of stairs and was furnished nicely with an ensuite bathroom. Everything was very very clean and there were coffee/tea/biscuits in the room as well. There was no television in the bedroom (not an issue for us) and no WiFi. Christine gave us a couple of options for an evening stroll and we walked through a lovely wooded area surrounding the town before walking through the village itself. I wish we had had more nights to stay at this place. It's a great location for hiking the Cairngorms, taking distillery tours, visiting Loch Ness, Nairn, Forres, etc., and would be a wonderful home base from which to do these things. The beds were quite comfortable and we slept very well. We very much appreciated Christine's hospitality (and her refills on butter and cream!!) and will certainly recommend this place as the best to stay at while travelling through this area. Thanks, Christine and Michael, for a fantastic evening with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stittmichael, Owner at Carrmoor Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words but we would just like to say we do have Free WIFI for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
115
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Perfectly located within ten minutes of the Cairngorms National Park, a very warm welcome, and with a professional chef as one of your hosts, the food was never going to disappoint. The hosts went beyond their duties in making sure our stay was unforgettable, including answering yet another phone call from us for arbitary reasons. Summary. Do stay! When you do, you are also close to the Pottery Shed, which has the best cakes and one of my favourite places of all time to sit and watch the natural world...

John Versfeld

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_versfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were taking our mothers for dinner on the Strathspey Steam Railway and decided rather than drive back to Glasgow we would find somewhere to stay close by. We were delighted with our find you cannot praise Christine and Michael enough. From the warm welcome to our cosy bedrooms, to breakfast and even departure we were made to feel like one of the family. We wished we had booked for longer and we were going to add a night but unfortunately they were fully booked. Breakfast was smashing plenty to eat and all cooked fresh with a great choice. We wished we could have sampled their dinner menu but that will have to wait until the return visit. You will not be disappointed here cannot wait to book again. Christine and Michael I hope you read your reviews - thank you for having us in your home you made us feel really welcome and we can't wait to return. Well done - Scottish Hospitality at its best

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in were lovely Room 4 had a double and single bed and room 2 had 2 singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carrmoor for two nights while we were up north visiting the Highland Wildlife Park and dining on the Strathspey Steam Railway.

When we arrived, Christine and Michael welcomed us like old friends! Christine showed us to our room, which was a beautiful little double room and then invited us to have tea and coffee in the lounge. We have a good chat with Christine and Michael and they gave us some great tips to help us enjoy our stay in the area.

We had dinner the first night we stayed and breakfast both mornings and the food was very good! Michael does extremely well to offer such a varied menu working out of what I imagine must be quite a small kitchen.

The house was lovely and quiet, brilliant for relaxing after a long day sightseeing and all the other guests were very friendly. The house really did have a very welcoming atmosphere!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carrmoor and I would not hesitate to recommend this B and B to anyone looking for comfortable accomodation with lovely, friendly and warm hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Christine and Michael and we will definitely be returning when we next visit the Cairngorms. 5 stars!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ljriddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was my 50th hotel stay on an extended around-the-world trip. I stayed two nights for an average GBP43/night including VAT and breakfast. Whilst I booked my first night’s stay on a hotel booking site, it is cheaper if you book with the owners directly.

What’s good: Carrmoor is an easy few hours drive from Edinburgh, and was a good base to commence a six day self-drive tour of the Scottish Highlands. The B&B is a lovely old two-storey guesthouse that is clean, comfortable and warm. The hosts were charming, friendly and keen to please. I stayed in a double-bed room on the ground floor and whilst the room and bathroom were quite small, it did have a small desk and great (free) wifi connection. I was able to make Skype phone calls reasonable well on my computer.

The room was cosy for one person, but two could reasonably manage for an overnight stay. Bedding was extremely comfortable with modern linen, and good heating. Room and bathroom very clean.

The Bnb opens their breakfast room as a restaurant in the evenings which is convenient. I had a simple meal of soup one night which was tasty, enjoyable and cheap. Breakfast included yoghurt (home made!), fruit, toast, tea/coffee and a great hot meal option – complete with haggis and black pudding. Free parking available.

Minor issues: My room was next to the lounge area so if guests are up late watching tv, you’ll likely hear a little television sound until they retire. Water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

Nearby: There’s information in the room about local wildlife (including some rare species) and walks on the nearby nature trail. Also, don’t miss the stone bridge (built 1717), just a short walk on the main road through town – it’s the oldest stone bridge in the Highlands. There’s also a petrol station, small newsagent and coffee shop just a few minutes walk into town.

For something unusual: Carrmoor is host to the Scottish Open Chainsaw Carving Competition and in the main street outside the Art Studio (opposite the coffee shop), you’ll see several chainsaw sculptures, including one of Nessie.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just finished a 5 night stay in the Carrmoor Guest House and Restaurant in Carrbridge, Scotland. It was wonderful in all regards. The proprietors, Michael and Christine were welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and the available activities, providing maps and brochures when possible. Michael is a terriffic chef, so we ate in on 3 of the 5 nights of our stay. Christine is a cheerful and genuine as they come. The home was quiet and spotlessly clean. The town is in Cairngorms National Park near Aviemore, but much more authentic and pleasant than touristy Aviemore. What a treat, it made our vacation so enjoyable.

Room Tip: we had room 3 which overlooks the green, shaded backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here on previous occasions and it is so friendly and clean and the hosts Christine and Micheal cannot do enough for you.
My husband kevin and his 3 friends were touring scotland on their motorbikes and stayed there for 2 nights. All 4 of them thought that Carrmour was the jewel in the crown!!! They loved it and as for the food, well they are now all on diets.
The breakfast set them all up for the day, and Both Christine and Micheal are fantastic hosts and it is pleasure to stay at Carrmour Guest House.

Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, verclean and warm. Lovely fresh fluffy towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrmoor Guest House

Property: Carrmoor Guest House
Address: Carr Moor Carr Road | Highlands, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrmoor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run licensed Guest House & Restaurant set in beautiful Highland Village. All rooms en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent base for golf, fishing, sailing, ski-ing & birdwatching, RSPB within easy reach. We are centrally situated for touring the Highlands of Scotland ie Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Whisky Trail, Cairngorms and much more. We are also in the Cairngorm National Park. We guarantee a warm welcome and high standard of cuisine prepared by chef/proprietor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Carrmoor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrmoor Guest House Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing