We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality...Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrmoor Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality...Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were taking our mothers for dinner on the Strathspey Steam Railway and decided rather than drive back to Glasgow we would find somewhere to stay close by. We were delighted with our find you cannot praise Christine and Michael enough. From the warm welcome to our cosy bedrooms, to breakfast and even departure we were made to feel like one of the family. We wished we had booked for longer and we were going to add a night but unfortunately they were fully booked. Breakfast was smashing plenty to eat and all cooked fresh with a great choice. We wished we could have sampled their dinner menu but that will have to wait until the return visit. You will not be disappointed here cannot wait to book again. Christine and Michael I hope you read your reviews - thank you for having us in your home you made us feel really welcome and we can't wait to return. Well done - Scottish Hospitality at its best

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in were lovely Room 4 had a double and single bed and room 2 had 2 singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
108
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carrmoor for two nights while we were up north visiting the Highland Wildlife Park and dining on the Strathspey Steam Railway.

When we arrived, Christine and Michael welcomed us like old friends! Christine showed us to our room, which was a beautiful little double room and then invited us to have tea and coffee in the lounge. We have a good chat with Christine and Michael and they gave us some great tips to help us enjoy our stay in the area.

We had dinner the first night we stayed and breakfast both mornings and the food was very good! Michael does extremely well to offer such a varied menu working out of what I imagine must be quite a small kitchen.

The house was lovely and quiet, brilliant for relaxing after a long day sightseeing and all the other guests were very friendly. The house really did have a very welcoming atmosphere!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carrmoor and I would not hesitate to recommend this B and B to anyone looking for comfortable accomodation with lovely, friendly and warm hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Christine and Michael and we will definitely be returning when we next visit the Cairngorms. 5 stars!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ljriddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was my 50th hotel stay on an extended around-the-world trip. I stayed two nights for an average GBP43/night including VAT and breakfast. Whilst I booked my first night’s stay on a hotel booking site, it is cheaper if you book with the owners directly.

What’s good: Carrmoor is an easy few hours drive from Edinburgh, and was a good base to commence a six day self-drive tour of the Scottish Highlands. The B&B is a lovely old two-storey guesthouse that is clean, comfortable and warm. The hosts were charming, friendly and keen to please. I stayed in a double-bed room on the ground floor and whilst the room and bathroom were quite small, it did have a small desk and great (free) wifi connection. I was able to make Skype phone calls reasonable well on my computer.

The room was cosy for one person, but two could reasonably manage for an overnight stay. Bedding was extremely comfortable with modern linen, and good heating. Room and bathroom very clean.

The Bnb opens their breakfast room as a restaurant in the evenings which is convenient. I had a simple meal of soup one night which was tasty, enjoyable and cheap. Breakfast included yoghurt (home made!), fruit, toast, tea/coffee and a great hot meal option – complete with haggis and black pudding. Free parking available.

Minor issues: My room was next to the lounge area so if guests are up late watching tv, you’ll likely hear a little television sound until they retire. Water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

Nearby: There’s information in the room about local wildlife (including some rare species) and walks on the nearby nature trail. Also, don’t miss the stone bridge (built 1717), just a short walk on the main road through town – it’s the oldest stone bridge in the Highlands. There’s also a petrol station, small newsagent and coffee shop just a few minutes walk into town.

For something unusual: Carrmoor is host to the Scottish Open Chainsaw Carving Competition and in the main street outside the Art Studio (opposite the coffee shop), you’ll see several chainsaw sculptures, including one of Nessie.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just finished a 5 night stay in the Carrmoor Guest House and Restaurant in Carrbridge, Scotland. It was wonderful in all regards. The proprietors, Michael and Christine were welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and the available activities, providing maps and brochures when possible. Michael is a terriffic chef, so we ate in on 3 of the 5 nights of our stay. Christine is a cheerful and genuine as they come. The home was quiet and spotlessly clean. The town is in Cairngorms National Park near Aviemore, but much more authentic and pleasant than touristy Aviemore. What a treat, it made our vacation so enjoyable.

Room Tip: we had room 3 which overlooks the green, shaded backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here on previous occasions and it is so friendly and clean and the hosts Christine and Micheal cannot do enough for you.
My husband kevin and his 3 friends were touring scotland on their motorbikes and stayed there for 2 nights. All 4 of them thought that Carrmour was the jewel in the crown!!! They loved it and as for the food, well they are now all on diets.
The breakfast set them all up for the day, and Both Christine and Micheal are fantastic hosts and it is pleasure to stay at Carrmour Guest House.

Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, verclean and warm. Lovely fresh fluffy towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Carrmoor Guest House is a lovely guest house, that looks stunning form the outside and that has very friendly hosts. Christine and Michael work very hard to make their guests really feel at home. Christine never really seems to be at ease, almost trying to do something extra for her guests.

Lots of information was available at the guest house. Breakfast was good. We even had diner at the guest house, but unfortunately, that was not so good, more like eating at home. But there are not many other options in Carrbridge, so it is a handy option. Our room was very special, with a very cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Could not fault this B&B on anything! Run by Christime and Michael Stitt, Christine is so welcoming and attentive, the perfect host.......and Michael, an ex hotel head chef, provides the kind of food (including a la carte menu) you don't expect to find in a B&B. Would recommend anyone to go there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrmoor Guest House

Property: Carrmoor Guest House
Address: Carr Moor Carr Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrmoor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run licensed Guest House & Restaurant set in beautiful Highland Village. All rooms en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent base for golf, fishing, sailing, ski-ing & birdwatching, RSPB within easy reach. We are centrally situated for touring the Highlands of Scotland ie Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Whisky Trail, Cairngorms and much more. We are also in the Cairngorm National Park. We guarantee a warm welcome and high standard of cuisine prepared by chef/proprietor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrmoor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrmoor Guest House Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing