We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar!”
Review of The Old School

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old School
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Even before arriving at The Old School, I felt warmly welcomed by Kate's very kind emails and quick replies to my numerous questions. She suggested how to get to Carrbridge from Edinburgh (by train or even better by rental car), told me exactly how long it would take, and I found Duthil despite the lack of Satnav or map with the help of two smokers outside one of the hotels in the village.
I was amazed about the lovely "staffroom" in which I stayed all by myself - to be honest, I felt like a princess in her slightly oversized castle.
WiFi - which I needed as I was there reporting on the World Porridge Making Championships in which Kate took part, allowed me to accompany her during that exciting day and introduced me to lots of people - was excellent, the two TVs are rather huge, as is the bathtub in the new second bedroom which not least smelled so wonderfully. Great bed, all very clean, new, comfortable and cosy.
I went on beautiful autumn walks on Nairn beach and around several lochs in the Cairngorms, enjoyed bird-, duck-, reindeer- and squirrel-watching. My one-week-stay felt way too short, I didn't even find time to enjoy the hot tub, but it was altogether nothing short of: wunderbar!

Kate offered fresh eggs and home-made brownies on arrival and had left a few tabs for the dishwasher in the fully equipped kitchen but there was no washing powder when I arrived, so if you need to use the washing machine, remember to bring some. Likewise, pepper and salt were there, but no oil or vinegar, no tea bags or coffee. However, when I asked about the closest shop and it was too late to go there, Kate immediately offered me coffee and milk. She is a very welcoming host and soon felt like a friend. I love the fact that there are dogs, chicken and goats as well as robins in the beautiful garden around the Old School House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia_Germany2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The perfect place to come (home) to after a long journey up from London. On arrival we were welcomed by Kate and her amazing three dogs. We were very impressed by how crisp and clean everything was. We had everything we needed - a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, free access to the WIFI, great beds and a very spacious living area. Beautifully decorated might I add! Kate and David's home cooked meals and home-made vodka shots were the icing on the cake. Our tip: Bring your swimsuit to make use of the sauna and stargaze in the outdoor jacuzzi. We've already booked our return stay... only three days after having left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanitaderuijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a beautiful place this is! We had an amazing time here and the Miss Mackintosh Classroom exceeded all our expectations. It is pure luxury! We loved it all. There's a beautiful kitchen, which has everything you need (do bring your own cooking oil, sugar/salt/coffee/tea, etc, there's a Tesco in nearby Aviemore). There's a lovely cosy living area, with TV/DVD (which we didn't use), iPod docking station (very handy) and two big couches for relaxing. The bedrooms upstairs are big and comfy. We only used the double bedroom, because we were just the two of us. It was beautifully decorated and the bed was comfortable.

There are two nice big bathrooms, one with a shower and toilet (downstairs), and one with a shower/bath and toilet (upstairs).

Kate is very kind, and will help you with any questions you might have. On arrival she had made us brownies, which were honestly the best brownies I had ever tasted. Yum!! Thank you, Kate!

This place was all we could wish for, great for relaxing, but also great for exploring the highlands! No doubt recommended :)

Room Tip: Miss Mackintosh room has a nice view to the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent last Christmas in Miss Mackintosh's classroom and it was perfect!!

The building itself is amazing and Kate has put so much effort into the decor!

From the moment we arrived we were uber impressed! Once inside it instantly felt like a home from home. we loved the spiral staircase and the christmas tree was gorgeous! Kate welcomed us with a fabulous home made chocolate log - lovely touch!

we stayed for the christmas week and it proved an excellent base to explore Aviemore and the local area. The christmas parade in Aviemore is a MUST and its soooooooo christmassy!

Kate came in on xmas day to wish us a merry christmas and came bearing gifts - home made vodka! Lethal but very nice!

although Kate lives next door its not obtrusive, you just feel like your at home for the week!

Would recommend to anyone wanting a cosy christmas away from home and excellent value for money! Looking to find somewhere for christmas this yer but struggling to see anywhere that compares!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHELLE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Old School at the end of July for a week and had the most amazing family holiday. On arrival we were welcomed by Kate and her dogs (that our kids nearly took home!). The hospitality and friendliness shown to us during our whole stay was second to none, from the home baked (still warm!) peanut butter cookies on arrival and friendly chats advising us on on where to go and what to see.

Excellent central base to travel to Aviemore, Cairngorms and Inverness. Took a day at Landmark Adventure Park with our kids (aged 7 & 10) well worth a visit!

All in all would highly recommend this accommodation, the facilities are scrupulously clean and the location excellent - a fantastic week made even better with the excellent weather. David and Kate we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Time again for my annual review, after our 4th visit to this beautiful place.
Thanks again Kate and David for another memorable holiday. This time we stayed in Miss Mackintosh's classroom which is at the front of the house with a lovely view from the bedroom window. The addition of the Wi-Fi access was appreciated by the children, although they spent most of their time playing with Kate's very friendly Labradors. The hot-tub proved a great way to ease away the aches and pains after our canyoning/ gorge walking and hill-climbing activities and we used it every evening!
The Old School is immaculate, but at the same time is a really comfortable place to stay, with loads of space for luggage, and storage for bikes etc - I challenge you to find one speck of dirt!!
The eggs from the resident hens and freshly baked brownies on arrival are the icing on the cake, I would recommend a stay here to everyone, THANK YOU Kate!!

Room Tip: Miss Mackintosh's classroom is slightly smaller than Mrs Clarke's but still has a huge amoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at the Old School with friends and had a wonderful experience. The accommodation has been renovated to an extremely high standard, with great attention to detail. We were all impressed with the manner in which Kate and David have transformed the building, and will certainly return, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kate's banana loaf and chocolate brownies are wonderful too and greet you on arrival -a really nice touch.

The house is set in a terrific spot with a great view of the mountains. The sauna and hot tub are in a lovely woodland setting, with the chickens running around in the garden.

Lovely place, just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albarclay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carrbridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
1.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
2.2 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
2 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Address: Duthil, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old School Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing