We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable accommodation for a young family”
Review of The Old School

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old School
Aberdeenshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Very comfortable accommodation for a young family”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just finished a 4 night break in The Old School and stayed in the 'Staffroom' with our 23 month old son. The only reason we didn't rent one of the classrooms was because of the spiral staircase and our son's inability to foresee danger! Kate showed us one of the classrooms and we would rent one of those next time as they are a lot bigger than the Staffroom.

The accommodation was very comfortable and clean. The living accommodation is one room with a seating, dining and kitchen area. The double bedroom is very spacious with more than enough room for a travel cot (we took our own as Kate does not have them to borrow, but did offer us an inflatable bed). The bathroom is also very spacious. The advantage is also that there are good solid doors and a small hall between the bedroom and the living space allowing us to still access the bathroom and keep the TV noise away from the bedroom so our son could go to sleep uninterrupted at his normal time. It was a really nice environment with a lovely finish on the decor, and this enabled us to relax that bit more as it felt like a home from home.

We cooked in the kitchen area every night and it is well equipped with utensils, pans etc but could do with a few more large glasses for normal drinks as we only had two. It was nice to have a dishwasher which was frequently used! The heating was on regularly making the accommodation very cosy and warm. It felt very homely, and welcoming which was added to by Kate's provision of coffee cake and fresh eggs on arrival. Our son also loved the chickens and the secure grounds where he could stretch his legs. We would definitely stay here again.

Bear in mind that you have to sign Terms and Conditions and pay a £100 good housekeeping deposit. Kate came and checked the accommodation on our last night and gave us back the deposit that night.

The only minor cons:
- Signing the T and C's and giving a cash deposit initially made us feel a little uncomfortable in the accommodation and we were scared we were going to damage something (having a toddler this is a regular occurrence). However we soon chilled out and settled in.
- No bath (despite being a big bathroom). I'm sure a bath would be nice for walkers/skiers etc to have a soak afterwards as the shower is not overly powerful. Luckily our toddler doesn't mind a shower, but it seemed a bit of a waste of such a lovely big bathroom to not have a bath.
- No tea/coffee/oil/clothes washing powder provided. Bear in mind you need to take all that kind of stuff with you unless you want to go shopping straight away. It would have been good just to have a few provisions on arrival so we could have a cuppa and settle in. When we have normally stayed in places like this we normally get a few teabags, sachets of coffee, some washing machine tablets, milk and maybe some bread in a welcome pack. There is also often oil for cooking so you don't have to go and buy absolutely everything. We took some food with us and purchased some from the Tesco in Aviemore, but assumed there would be tea/coffee/oil etc already there so didn't take this with us.
- No WiFi. To be fair we didn't ask Kate about this and just assumed that they didn't have WiFi. I see from earlier posts that we could have used the house WiFi, but we couldn't use it within the staffroom itself.
- DVD player but no DVDs. We didn't take any with us as we assumed there would be some there. When we asked Kate lent us a few.
- Would be good to have a few board games.

Local things to do with a toddler:
- Strathspey steam railway was a HUGE hit with our son.
- Highland Wildlife Park was a great day out.
- Reindeer Centre. We didn't do the trek but should have, as it wasn't worth paying just to go into the paddocks. Our son still enjoyed exploring the paddocks.
- Cairngorm Mountain Funicular railway. Our son loved this, although the exhibition could do with some more interactive exhibits for younger visitors. Food in the cafe at the top of the mountain a bit overpriced and poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiCousins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateClark, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Nicola.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but I'd like to clarify a few things that you have incorrectly pointed out in your review.

The Staffroom does have wifi available in the bedroom. We are about to upgrade this and will be available throughout the accommodation by the end of the year.

I provide both a travel cot and high chair for use by families with young children.I obviously misunderstood you when you said you would take your own.

The Staffroom is compliant with the Disabled Access Act and for this reason there is no bath in the shower room, unfortunately we cannot keep everyone happy, but this was a condition of our planning application. It has been given have an award from "Visit Scotland" for it's disabled access.

On receipt of payment I send an inventory of all items in the accommodation so as guests know what to expect on arrival. In cases when guests cannot get access to the shop due to late arrival I have done some shopping for them or taken receipt of a "Tesco.com" delivery prior to their arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just spent 4 days at the wonderful 'The Old School' in Carrbridge. On arrival we were met by Kate and her lovely labrador's. The chocolate brownies were the icing on the cake!

We stayed in Miss Mackintosh's classroom which was extremely comfortable and thoroughly deserves its 5 star rating.

The Old School is in a fantastic, peaceful location and great for exploring the surrounding areas. We were treated with fresh free range eggs from the hens which we enjoyed every morning.

We can thoroughly recommend the Old School and look forward to returning next year. Many thanks again Kate!

All the best,

Kinlay and Kirsty francis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just spent a week in Miss Mackintosh's classroom and found it to be spotlessly clean with very tasteful decor and furnishings.

The setting is spectacular with a sloping garden leading to a private woodland. They have 10 chickens wandering around, and 3 friendly labradors to play with. There are picnic benches in the garden for guests use, which is great as it is hard to drag yourself inside! (and you need to be outside for a mobile signal) There is a newly built Sauna and Jacuzzi at the top of the garden!

Kate and David were very friendly and gave us homemade cake and fresh hens eggs.
David told us that you can spot Capercaillie and Pine Martens in the wood, although we weren't lucky enough to see them this time.

The only thing that could have been better are the 2 showers. Upstairs is a bit weak, and downstairs is a very small cubicle. However, this did not spoil our visit and we are looking forward to returning.

This was the perfect base to explore the most beautiful part of the UK. It was both luxurious and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaBristolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just back from our third stay at The Old School, and it was as perfect as ever! The accommodation was spotless and the two classrooms have just been awarded their 5 star rating again for another 2 years. The only reason the Staffroom is 4 stars is because it doesn't have a bath. But who needs a bath when you can use the newly installed hot tub in the grounds, we were lucky enough to be able to try it out before Kate makes a few alterations, it was fantastic!! There will also be a sauna available in the next few weeks.
There is so much on offer in the area, for families and couples, a weekly pass at The Landmark Centre is excellent value, the river tubing in Aviemore is amazing fun, there are lots of good places to eat and the most beautiful scenery in Great Britain!
Kate was as welcoming as ever, home made cakes and freshly laid eggs awaited us. All in all another memorable holiday.....already re-booked for next year, we still won't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateClark, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for the great review Heather

Now in our fourth year of business, we try really hard to maintain and even improve on standards to make your stay memorable.

It was lovely to see you all again and I'm sure summer 2013 will be her before we know it!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Luxury accommodation indeed- furnished to a very high standard, extremely relaxing and comfortable. A very warm welcome from Kate, showing us round the spotlessly clean and fresh accommodation and kindly providing her home made brownies and own hens' eggs. Excellent bed linen, towels and furnishings. Beautiful, peaceful surroudings and close to all the activies that this area has to offer - especially Landmark which is in the local village - the kids loved it. Only comment would be no Wi-fi, but Kate is working on it! Would defintely recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateClark, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review Julie and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have wifi available but the signal can be poor due to the thick granite walls of the school building.
Everyone is welcome to access the wifi in the house. I have just bought a Wireless Powerline Extender to improve the signal throughout the holiday accommodation.
We look forward to seeing you and your family back here at The Old School.

Kate Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our second holiday at The Old School, and this stay managed to be even better than the first with the improvements that Kate and David have made to get their five stars! We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the freshly made brownies whilst we unpacked. The residents dogs were very patient as they were constantly pestered by our children during the week. The classroom was spotlessly clean, warm when we returned in the evening, and although it is graded as 'five star' we have no worries about taking children to stay because it feels so comfortable. Next year's holiday is already provisionally booked and we can't wait to go back! Thank you Kate for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Spent a fantastic weekend at the Old School House in the staff room and can honestly say what an amazing place it was. As soon as we arrived Kate was outside to great us and had left a freshly backed cake that was a lovely touch. Location wise it was easy to find and although it stood on its own it was only a few minutes away from some truly stunning views. Hoping to return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Tavistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carrbridge hotels
1.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
2.2 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Duthil, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old School Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing