We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family break”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Squirrel!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Squirrel!
Living area with tv Dining area with French windows leading out to your private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Welcome to Squirrel!
Living area with tv
Dining area with French windows leading out to your private garden
Double
Twin
Books galore!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Moo!
Kitchen
Well stocked
Bathroom
Shower over bath in bathroom
Bathroom
Hall with storage
Outside seating overlooking the river
Bike store and BBQ
Enclosed private garden
Outside view
Our resident red squirrel
The pine woods opposite the apartment
Crestie in the pinewood opposite the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carrbridge, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amandawoo...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family break”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of four (children aged 4 & 7) and came up during half term. The accommodation was great and more than enough room for the four of us, even enough for a good game of family hide and seek. It also has gas central heating so it was lovely and cozy (most places I looked at before coming across Squirrel Apartment had storage heaters and having lived somewhere with storage heaters they aren't always that effective so that gas central heating is a great plus). It also has Wifi which most other places I looked at did not have.

Michelle and Toby were always super helpful if we needed anything. Toby gave us maps of the best places to spot Golden Eagles around Loch Ness and Michelle put out some hazelnuts for their resident red squirrel which sure enough turned up shortly after Michelle scattered the hazelnuts.

Squirrel Apartment is in a great location. Aviemore is just down the road, where we went sledding and to the Reindeer Center. The Cairngorm mountain is just a little further on where we went on the Funicular railway and also went sledding there three of the seven days we stayed which the kids loved. The Highland Wildlife Park is also a short drive away and is absolutely worth a visit.

We also went a little further afield, visiting Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle and Fort Augusts (where they had a great little craft shop and also glass blowing).We also took a trip up to Lossiemouth, which was around an hours drive, to spot dolphins and see the lighthouse, stopping at the most amazing little pub on the way back, Mosset Tavern in Forres.

We had an action packed week but there was still so much more we would like to see and hope to return again next year to Squirrel Apartment for another great stay and more family adventures.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
We loved having you stay with us and it was a pleasure to share our special places with you. Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD-LDN
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely apartment in Carrbridge”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We've had a lovely week staying at the Squirrel Apartment in Carrbridge. Michelle was very kind and helpful, she picked us up from the train station and helped us a arrange a Sainsbury's food delivery for our arrival. The kitchen is well-equipped, we cooked most days.
The master bedroom is lovely and cosy and the living and dining room is a really good and useful. We ate dinner at the dining table and watched movies on the sofa most evenings.

Carrbridge is very quiet, and beautiful. We loved looking up at the stars on the dark evenings (you can't see any at home in London!) The train station is a five minute walk away connecting you to Inverness and London.

The Cairn Hotel is really lovely with an open fire, we ate there and sampled some of the local whiskies a few evenings, and the local bakery cafe is lovely for tea cakes and toasties. Both a 5-minute walk away. Would recommend for couples or families. Really lovely village, great views and good walks and entertainment, even if you don't have a car.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
I'm so glad you both enjoyed your holiday in Carrbridge and appreciated its facilities and the dark skies! We are lucky living in such a beautiful area and to be able to share it with our guests. It was lovely to have you both - perfect guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisa r
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Excellently equipped apartment that catered for our every need. Warm, cosy and comfortable. The owners were very helpful recommending places to visit and extremely knowledgable about local wildlife. It was a super central location with plenty to do in the local area. In all it was perfect! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate the area and the wildlife despite the snow! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural-tra...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Wonderful apartment, warm and homely. Everything was perfect. Really close to many different attractions and places to eat. Will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I'm so pleased you all managed to have some fun in the snow!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansson
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Squirrel Apartment in October and enjoyed the lovely walks from the front door and there are lots of other places to visit within easy reach. We went to The Black Isle, Avimore and Inveness City amongst others and thoroughly enjoyed the break from the crowds.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, well appointed and cosy. The charming owners, Michelle & Toby were full of ideas for places to visit and there are restaurants in the village centre just a short walk down the road. The apartment had a pretty and private garden which was full of the comings and goings of birds to the feeders and we saw a Red Squirrel! . The weather was too chilly for us to enjoy but on a summer evening it would be lovely to sit with a glass of wine enjoying the peaceful setting overlooking the river.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer so you can enjoy that glass of wine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing