We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Activities for Kids”

Landmark Forest Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Winner of the Mumsnet Best Outdoor Playground award and VisitScotland and Daily Mail Readers Award for The PERFECT FAMILY DAY OUT. Where else can you ride a 'runaway timber train', explore the world's only 'Bamboozeleum', a Wonder Wood where nothing is normal and an amazing Lost Labyrinth, or try a rock climb, a skydive, tackle Highwire courses, ride a watercoaster, walk through the tops of pine trees? And much more... Check out the shop packed with great gift ideas and the Xplore Store crammed with really fun goodies. And remember to visit our two food outlets, The Foresters Restaurant and The Pinewood Grill. Don't forget to ask about the AMAZING value weekly and season tickets.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Lochwinnoch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Activities for Kids”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited Landmark Forest Park during an Easter break with my 2 year old son. It is an outdoor park, so if it rains like it did when we visited, there isn't much to do apart from visit Bamboozelum, which has things like optical illusion exhibits and is very good.

There is lots to see, the main highlights being Treetop/Red Squirrel Trails, Water Slides, Steam Sawmill/Clydesdale Horse. A lot of the activities we couldn't do, as my son was too small but they looked excellent. The surrounding forest is beautiful and definitely an area of Scotland children should see.

My son enjoyed it very much and so did I. There were only a couple of things that could be better:
1. The price of the food is high for what you get.
2. There isn't a lot for under 4's. The mini cars are great but they do cost an extra £1. An indoor soft play area/ball pool or little activity centre would be ideal and handy in bad weather.

Apart from that, great place I would visit again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    250
    51
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Disabled visitors - part two!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Seriously.....how nice are the staff at Landmark?
How good was it to be back for another season?
How great is the value of a season ticket compared to a day ticket?

If you can answer all these questions with a big fat POSITIVE, then you are in agreement with me that Landmark is a great place to visit.....apart from the weather.....but we can't hold them responsible for that!

So, if you read my earlier review you will know that I had an issue about the admission charges for disabled visitors. Well, I followed up my issues with the GM there, a particularly nice guy, who welcomed my feedback with interest and gratitude. He promised to look into the possibility of extending the 50% discount on day tickets for disabled visitors, to include the same offer for SEASON tickets. He was also interested to receive my 'disabled persons eye view' of the Landmark experience with a view to making the park more disabled-friendly. How refreshing....top marks to you!

Anyway, the result is that Landmark are trialling the 50% discounted season ticket for disabled visitors for the 2013 season to see how it goes.

So come on disabled people, get out there with your families and have a great season for only £12ish at Landmark - you'll be glad you did (so will I, because if there is enough demand the discount may be back next season!). Blue Badge parking right at the entrance too!

For clarification, proof of disability is covered by:
DLA
Attendance Allowance certificate/book
War Pension Mobility Supplement award letter
Blind/Partially Sighted certificate
Invalidity Benefit certificate/book
DVLS letter (medical condition stated)
Registration as profoundly or severely deaf
Social Services 'Blue Badge'


Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family Adventure”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently visited Landmark forest adventure for the first time, during the Easter holidays. We weren't sure if our 5 1/2 year old daughter would like it.
But after spending 4 hours there she turned round & told us that it was the best day she had this year so far.
When we arrived the main car park was full & had to use the overfill / 2nd car park behind the park which was a good distance away from the main entrance & very muddy. So if possible try & get a space in the main car park.
Once we were in it wasn't as busy as the car park suggested which was good. All the staff were very informative & seemed to be well trained in the various disciplines, which was reassuring when your dangling about on the end of a rope.
There was plenty to do & see & the queue's moved at a reasonable speed so you weren't waiting to long to get on the next adventure.
Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone not just the outdoor type, great fun for all the family.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor fun”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Took a day out from a driving trip around Scotland with the family to visit Landmark. Was surprisingly impressed. It is very "outdoorsy" experience, kind of like a fun park, but with the kids actually getting exercise. It mostly consists of trails and challenges that need to be completed with a harness attached. The age blend means it works well for kids from about 4.5 years old up until teenagers. There is one token roller coaster for the sloths, as well as a slightly incongruous visual exhibits display (which is nonetheless quite cool). Food is fairly prototypical for British amusement parks (burgers and bacon butties), but all told it was a good experience at a good price. One caveat though: we had glorious sunny weather the day we went, but this is Scotland after all. I imagine it could be really miserable in the cold and wet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhone_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Landmark is a great place to go for a day out with the kids. Our family has a 6 year old and 4 year old twin boys. We have bought our season tickets for the second year running. £116 for the whole family, which compares well to £14 - £16 per person per visit. Living locally we will be there a few times as a family and also the kids will go with the school etc. so the savings add up.
The staff are great, really friendly although we visited on a quietish day, maybe the height of summer might stress a few of them out a bit. Our 6 year old was able to get on some of the larger attractions this year as the minimum height for some is set at 1.1m (He is now 1.12m) Unfortunataley the twins would scream the place down when they were told by us that they couldn't take part on the likes of the timber train and the tarzan trail.
Maybe in future children under 1.1m could get in free like aged 3 and under children do now as it does seem harsh to charge 4 year olds the same price when they can't get on the attractions. I believe though that the height restrictions are perfectly valid.
The views from the Fire tower are amazing. We went up on a sunny April day and the views over to the Cairngorm Mountains were second to none.
This is also an educational attraction, teaching people about forestry and then there is Bamboozleum, which you just have to go and see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark Forest Adventure Park also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Landmark Forest Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing