We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Three of us ate at this hotel today, and as soon as we walked in the door we were made to feel very welcome, the meals were lovely, and very filling, great price, my husband was very impressed with the beer selection, we will be back soon !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojane498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    70
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
95
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I arrived and stay at hotel in New Year. It great room and restaurants. It have super meal and bar have great of beer and whisky range!

It easy access to Aviemore and great local for walk and bike ride!

Great value of money!

I will like go back again in next year!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Travelling down from the North West Highlands of Scotland we stopped here on a whim for lunch. My fish was very fresh and beautifully cooked the best I had all week, my husband had macaroni with smoked haddock in a cheese and leek sauce WOW it was good. Quite cold in the room where we were sat as the log fire was further away but delicious food promptly served by pleasant staff all we could ask for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely, clean room, super comfy bed and utterly delicious food!! Tried the linguini....superbo!!!
An excellent location for travellers, good craic in the bar with friendly, helpful staff.
Would definitely recommend :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemadder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel although the bedroom was quite small (like many places in Scotland), but it was clean and quiet. We had a warm welcome, and even if we arrived late (and wet !) we could still have dinner which was very good actually.
Moreover, the hotel is located in a beautiful area, so it's definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked a single room at an extremely good price. I had to share a bathroom on the corridor which wasn't brilliant for night calls. Also the bed was on the short side which woke me up once or twice. That said the room & bathroom were clean& service and food was good. At this price its still worth considering for a second visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
151 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I got a good rate for a single room. The guys on reception were very friendly and one carried my bag to the room. The room was very small and not en-suite but the shared bathroom was unused and very clean - can't complain for the price paid.

Slept well although the bed was a little £99,99 from Argos style.

The hot breakfast was nice although a lack of fresh fruit and juice was disappointing - just cereal and a bowl of tinned grapefruit available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing