We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cosy”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

nice little hotel in carrbridge, great food and a nice pub only stayed the 1 night and it was snowing most of the time but the room was nice and warm and the staff very friendly and a real log fire in the bar, will be back next time we go fishing. angus and yvonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

We visited Scotland in June 2011. While driving from Dundee to Loch Ness, we stopped in the small town of Carrbridge for lunch. The town is a wonderful little town with a fascinating old bridge over all small stream. Just down the street from the stream is the Cairn hotel.

We stopped at the restaurant in the hotel for lunch. It was a quiet atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered the steak and ale pie, haddock, and the cairn burger. The haddock and chips was large and very good. The cairn burger was well done and was just what my son needed. Several of us had the steak and ale pie and it was exceptionally good. We tried for the rest of the trip to find steak and ale pie this good again but failed. I highly recommend it.

The prices were reasonable and you can't beat the surroundings this small town is in.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay here, room was spacious, comfy and well equipped. Food was excellent and the bar has a good range of local real ales all served in front of a roaring fire! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Just what a highland hotel should be like!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our party of 11, including 2 children, stopped for lunch, Very friendly welcolme, roaring open fire. Not a large but varied menu. especially liked the children's menu which was a bit diiferent to normal and included starters, main course and sweets. Between us had fish & chips, venison casserole, steak pie and some pasta thingummy - all excellent and very reasonably priced. Would visit again no problem. Very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eltelrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We wanted a couple of days away after New year. We have stayed in the Cairn before, a few years back and were aware that it was under new management. It could not be better. Rooms very comfortable, food excellent value for money and varied menu. Breakfast to order topped off with very friendly staff. Will be back again for sure

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhayes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and this time it was business. Stayed with a colleague and the rooms were clean and tidy. Staff friendly, food exceptional. What more can I say. I will be returning. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Cairn Hotel for two nights on 29th and 30th December 2011 (two couples, three single ladies, two 18 year old boys and two dogs. We all live in different parts of Scotland and had arranged for a long overdue get together. By the time we were ready to leave we wished we had booked in for New Year too! Gareth and his staff were so helpful and very friendly. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and warm. There is a cozy bar with a log fire and an excellent restaurant menu. We would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,368 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
229 reviews
6 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 28 in Aviemore
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range: $82 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing