We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Terrific Value”
Review of Newforge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newforge House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magheralin
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Food, Terrific Value”
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Beaumont room - very comfortable, stylish and well furnished with a large well-equipped bathroom. The best part however was the warm welcome and charm from Ethna and John, whose cooking is superb. He takes great care to source high quality local ingredients (including excellent Irish beef and cheese) and cooks and presents them beautifully. It all represented terrific value (the best of 7 places we stayed in Ireland)

  • Liked — The spacious well-fitted bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
127
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

What a fantastic place! The house is gorgeous, the owners are the epitomy of Irish hospitality and the food is outstanding.
We hope to return.

  • Liked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We had only the one night at Newforge House but rated it the best accomodation of our entire 9 weeks away. So comfortable and spotless, the bathroom spacious and with every attention to detail.

John, our host, welcomed us with tea and homemade shortbread, delicious, we then proceeded to our room and were amazed at the beautiful room and all round luxury.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious, we had a wide variety of menu to choose from.

The garden surrounding the home was gorgeous and although isolated and in the country - 10 minutes from the nearest village - this suited us and we would use Newforge House again as a base to visit other parts of Northern Ireland.

We hope this will help many people to choose their accomodation, the home is just half an hour from Belfast International Airport.

  • Liked — Friendliness and excellent accomodation
  • Disliked — No problems at all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I spent a weekend away in Newforge House (near Lurgan and Moira in Northern Ireland, about 30/40 minutes from Armagh and from Belfast) in August 07. We went up for a 2-night break from life in hectic Dublin. The website is [-] - it is one of the properties listed in the Blue Book.

I loved the place. It is a country house, 6 bedrooms run by a young couple. It was the husband's family house, lovingly restored as a guesthouse. We stayed in a superior room which was just beautiful. the friends we went with previously stayed in a standard room and while they thought the superior room was definitely nicer they said the standard rooms were good too.

I didn't see the standard room but if I was going back I would book our superior room again, I really liked it (if you look at the pictures of the rooms on the website, it's the top one, the Beaumont. Bathroom is massive and very modern without being out of character).

We had a weekend package GBP170 each, so GBP340 for me and my husband (and our 10 month old baby). For this we got 2 nights in a superior room, dinner on one night, Pimms and gorgeous canapes in the drawing room before dinner and a picnic basket with lovely ham, artisan cheeses and cakes on the Saturday. Lovely breakfast both mornings.

Food was delicious. You can only dine in the house if you are a guest (or a guest of a guest) and if you give 24 hours notice. As there are only 6 rooms chances are you will have the dining room largely to yourself - we were the only ones there.

The husband is a trained chef and the meal was one of the best I've had in some time. You can sit in the drawing room in the evenings and they will serve you drinks there if you wish. There are individual tables in the dining room so you choose when you would like to have dinner and you sit with your own party (i.e. it's not one of those communal dining experiences).

The house is very relaxed, very child friendly without being overrun by kids, the couple who run it are lovely and do not intrude at all on your holiday but are happy to offer information and conversation if you wish. The decor is beautiful and the food scrumptious.

For anyone who lives in Dublin I'd recommend it as a weekend getaway especially with the new Dundalk / Newry road (and the port tunnel is only EUR3 at weekends, if you live on the South side).

  • Liked — loved it all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank littlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haacht, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

The house is a charming manor, where the interior has been very beautiful decorated. Our room was very comfortable with a fantastic modern bathroom. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us a 5 star service. Food is first class, breakfast and dinner. No wonder it is in Ireland's Blue Book.

  • Liked — The hospitality of our hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Simply to have the honour to chat with John and Louise would suffice, but then there is the glorious house! We arrived late on a Saturday evening, and John immediately offered to make us some dinner reservations, a complete gesture of kindness. Our room was lovely, even in the rain, complete with luxurious bath products, and decadent chocolates! We met Louise at breakfast, a delightful, gracious, young woman! These two truly love what they do, and they make their home, your home. Please don't miss a trip to Newforge House and a chance to visit the stunning North of Ireland!

  • Liked — everything was lovely!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honest reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Newforge House is pretty close to perfect I reckon.

The house looks great in the pictures, but is even greater and more charming in real life. The atmosphere is calm & relaxing - helped by the fresh flowers, the soft furnishings, the perfect setting.

We spent 2 nights there, in the gorgeous Hanna Room. The four poster bed was soooo comfy, and it was a joy to wake up there. The bathroom is modern and well appointed.

The house has been really wonderfully brought up to a very high standard, while retaining its period features and charm - a great mix, sensitively done.

The food was great - with a great choice for breakfast for a property with a small number of rooms. The drawing room is the ideal place for a post-dinner drink, or a relaxing Sunday morning reading the papers.

I think the real charm of the place is the open, welcoming and personable hosts - Lou & John - who made our stay there even better. Friendly & helpful, they're really doing a great job.

I'm already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magheralin
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
214 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
28 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newforge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newforge House

Property: Newforge House
Address: 58 New Forge Road, Magheralin BT67 0QL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Magheralin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magheralin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Newforge House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled in mature trees, gardens and fields, Newforge provides a unique opportunity to stay in the luxurious surroundings of a lovingly restored historic Georgian Country House. Original features have been retained, whilst modern bathrooms and excellent beds have been installed to ensure the ultimate in comfort. First class food is an important feature of our welcome. We source seasonal local produce and meals are carefully prepared by John, a trained chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Newforge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newforge House Hotel Magheralin
Newforge House Magheralin, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing