We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 9pm to a friendly welcome from reception staff. After checking in we had dinner next door. The food and service was great and very reasonable. The room was very comfortable and clean and my two boys loved it. My husband thought the bed was too hard. The all you can eat breakfast had a great selection, we all had a full English breakfast and continental items as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    158
    65
    24
    6
See reviews for
162
154
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Because this Premier Inn is not in a central location it is far cheaper than ones in the centre of Newcastle, yet it is only a short stroll from the local Metro Tram station. So we bought £3.50 area A+B zone daily travel cards. An absolute bargain allowing us to travel not only into Newcastle, but also Gateshead, as much as we liked in 24 hours. It's a quick and regular tram service, highly recommended. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly with good local knowledge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie324_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Came down from Scotland with a few friends for a couple of nights out in the toon. Drove down and was easy to find and car was safe in the car park. Hotel was great value for money and very clean. Had no idea there was an airport nearby as never heard a thing. Metro station literally across the road which takes about 15 minutes and costs around £2 into city centre, a taxi costs about £15 and takes around the same time. Staff were also very helpful and friendly especially Rob on reception. Enjoyed stay, would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFC1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at both Premier inns at Newcastle airport in the past couple of months, even though this is a couple of minutes further away and maybe a little more dated we did get a better sleep than at the other one as there was less road noise. Staff where welcoming as usual and ate in the attached pub on our arrival which was good value and very friendly staff. Got this one at a lot better price than the other at only £29 for a Saturday night compared to £59 for the other.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This premier inn is up to the normal (high) standard although being close to the airport, as you might imaging aircraft noise is a slight issue. It is extremely convenient to take the Metro into central Newcastle. It was clean and comfortable. However, it was let down:

The pub next door is of very average quality and although really cheap, we found the food poor quality. Dinner for two, two courses and a bottle of (terrible) wine was only about £30 but we would have gladly paid more for better food. Breakfast at £8 looked expensive in comparison and the cold, clammy conservatory style restaurant was not the most inviting venue on a dark December morning.

We found the free Internet in the Premier Inn almost unusable and were therefore reluctant to pay for more. Instead we decided to use the free Internet in the pub but found this was equally bad.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the opposite side of the building to the airport apron. Do not eat in the adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langdale12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

First time staying in a Premier Inn and I will have no hesitation in staying again. I'm not sure if this used to be a Travel Lodge, as the rooms look very similar. The Premier Inn has some bells and whistles that the Travel Lodge doesn't have such as higher quality T.V. and vastly superior mattress and pillows also the shower was terrific. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The Wheatsheaf pub that backs onto the Premier Inn serves decent pub grub at decent prices. The cooked breakfast was really good. In terms of location, this Premier Inn is very close to the Callerton Park Metro station, so reaching the town centre without fuss is really easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a great hotel, as is generally the case for Premier Inns. The room was modern, very clean, huge bed etc etc.

Unfortunately for this hotel, the attached restaurant let's it down. We have stayed at many premier inn's (this was our 3rd stay in the past 2 weeks !!) but never before been to one where the restaurant was a "fayre and square", and will avoid in the future!!

Usually, at a premier inn you have the Hotel's "own" restaurant, a "Table Table" or "Brewers Fayre" and all these are fine, but the "fayre and square" element of the whitbread group is bottom of the stack i'm afraid.

The food was very mediocre, probably too cheap, but we had to eat there as we were heading off to a concert afterwards, and did not want to risk trying to eat in Newcastle City Centre in case it was too busy. But the real let down was breakfast. Never had a bad breakfast at ANY premier inn until we stayed here. If this was your first visit to a premier inn, you would prob never go again, thankfully we know otherwise, and will just make a mental note to avoid this particular hotel. Breakfast was only served on the Sunday between 8am and 10am (which is a new first for premier inn - perhaps it was down to the heating failure in the pub??). Very dis-jointed buffet, had to ask for everything, cups for the drinks, spoons etc etc. Drinks were help yourself from push action flasks (come on this is not premier inn standard). Quite rare now a premier Inn was the fact that the hot food was not as a buffet and you had to order what you wanted. The sausages were POOR. Normally the sausages are good quality, these were cheap and DEEP FRIED !!!

So, generally, the hotel itself is fine, but badly let down by the attached restaurant. My recommendation, try and get in at the Newcastle Airport premier inn, half a mile up the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front probably quieter from the unavoidable aircraft noise. No aircraft through the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatleySrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#34 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
Address: Callerton Lane, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newcastle Airport South hotel is an ideal stopover if you're jetting in or out, visiting Newcastle or the local area. We're only 0.3 miles from the airport and 200 yards from Callerton Parkway Metro station leading to Newcastle City Centre. After time spent in the air or out and about exploring, retire to our spacious rooms and ultra comfy beds. Whether your stay is for business or leisure we have you covered and with free parking for hotel guests it doesn't get much more convenient than a flying visit to Premier Inn Newcastle Airport South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel Woolsington
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing