We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, clean, modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bright, clean, modern”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed in this hotel, and as for the first time it was spurred by a flight at an antisocial hour. But it's a great place to stay by any standard, not just an air-travel necessity: it's a "proper" modern hotel with good service, well-lit and well-fitted rooms with comfortable beds, and a not-bad restaurant. For what you get, the price is good too, with no obvious premium for the airport (and metro) accessibility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Andy B, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel so kindly. I am really pleased that you found our excellent facilities to be available at good value, and the service to be of a high standard. We are an excellent choice not just for using Newcastle airport but also for exploring Newcastle and the surrounding areas. I hope that you will return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    595
    117
    35
    39
See reviews for
236
893
127
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. Our stay was for 5 days and although I was dubious about staying near the airport, my concerns were soon dismissed. The room we had was an excellent standard and clean with triple glazed windows and sound proofing wallpaper which meant we heard nothing from the airport whatsoever. There is an excellent gym which we used daily and the breakfast was fantastic whilst the staff throughout went out of their way to meet your every need. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and we intend to use it now for our frequent trips back to the North East.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here a night before an early flight.
We arrived and check in was quick and easy. The rooms were nice and clean and very comfortable.
The restaurant downstairs was lovely. The food was of great quilts but a little pricey for what it was.
The wake up call was right on time for our early flight and check out was great.

Booked to stay again at the end of January before an early flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

For a hotel right next to an airport runway and a main road which is very busy there was absolutely no noise heard from either in the room the sound proofing was so good. The food at breakfast and at dinner in Fratello's restaurant was excellent. Only negative was there was no housekeeping service on Christmas Day which I have not experienced in other Hilton hotels in other countries when staying there on Christmas Day

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice hotel, lovely staff, especially want to complement Sanita, Elena and Jade, who tried their best to make me comfortable inspite of the challenges.
I had to change rooms 3 times during the 6 nights I was here. In the first room, the main switch plate wasn't operating, so I slept with the corridor light on all night. I was moved the following day to another room.
Air conditioning was too cold (I wonder why it's not equipped with heating in winter?) but there was nothing the staff could do as it was running on a programme no one seem to be able to figure out. So I didn't sleep very well in the (16 deg) cold room. My room was next to the housekeepers cleaning room, and I was woken early by noises from them getting their cleaning stuff.
I was moved to another room on my final night..after 5 nights of poor sleep.
I thought I would be able to sleep well on my last night, but to my dismay I was woken up at night by noisy guests who were shouting in the corridors at 2:30 am, it must be after a night out. I was surprised security didn't come up to stop this.

So overall my experience wasn't very good. Though I cannot fault the high level if service provided by the smiling staff.
Hope that it'll be better next time round. I'm giving it 3 stars as sleep is important to guests, and unfortunately it wasn't possible for me to rest well during my 6 nights here.

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room, and make sure you check all light switches are working when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 524Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 542Solo, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that despite the problems that you suffered during your stay, you found the staff to be helpful, friendly and accommodating. I would like to apologise for the difficulties you had and I hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me & my friend used this hotel to stay at whilst we had a night out up in Newcastle. we got this hotel at a discount of the internet for a double bedroom and it as very spacious. we thought that the sound of aircraft would keep us up or be noisy but we didn't hear 1 whilst there. upon arrival we were handed a home made cookie ( pretty sure was cookie) which was warm and had a few drinks in the bar. both women on reception were very helpful with anything we asked even with help of transport, plus very fast on requests for the room. we would defiantly recommend to any one considering this hotel and to try the pub round the corner not the classiest of places but lovely food and cheap. one thing I would suggest to this hotel though would be some different pillows I like mine a bit firmer than they have as my head just sunk into it n I wasn't very comfortable with that but other than that was a brilliant sleep :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stopped for one night before an early flight out on a "Dinner, Bed & Breakfast" deal.
Hotel itself, the bar the rooms and the restaurant are all very fine indeed - a nice hotel to stop in before a flight away.
My issue was the billing of the deal.
It should be simple.... it's bed and breakfast... and at this time of year, as it was explained to me, you either choose from the Christmas menu, or you get £20 per person off the A la Carte Menu.
Pre dinner drinks in the bar, then we chose the Christmas menu and a bottle of wine.
That meant that as the deal was prepaid, we should have a bill for the drinks in the bar and the wine in the restaurant, about £34
On check out my bill was £74. I had to explain that was incorrect and after a little discussion it was corrected.
Not an issue to fuss about you might think.... but we stayed on this deal A YEAR AGO and had the same problem.
Surely Hilton Hotels you can stop this happening?!
Gets the holiday off to a bad start when you need to worry if your bills correct

Room Tip: Despite the billing issue I'd recommend the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topbloke180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,074 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing