We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed after a flight arriving after midnight. Checkin was quick, room was lovely, Bed was so comfortable, Shower was great. Breakfast was hot fresh and good quality, would stay again. Great location for airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    595
    117
    35
    39
See reviews for
236
893
127
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

christmas shopping trip. Stayed on the recommended by my daughter who used it as a base when she went to athletics at gateshead. Just a few yards to the airport and down to the metro and into newcastle centre in 25mins £4.40 return ticket well worth leaving the car outside the city. Warmly welcomed at reception with warm cookies and up to our room which was lovely. Tea,coffee and biscuits in the room and bottled water. Nice to see some hiltons still do the biscuits Blackpool have stopped doing them. Bathroom was really nice bath a bit short to lie in but least it had a bath. The next part of my report was about the meal at night. My husband is coiliac and we had received a menu off the reception for him. When sitting down for the meal the italian waitor didnt know anything about it but talked to someone and my husband got some of the meal. There where a few mistakes. The hotel food manager has contacted me since i got home and we went through all the points and he is going to improve the service.I am happy with the way he sorted it out. We bought £20 vouchers for the meal at night from reception as we normally do this at the Blackpool Hilton to save a little. I dont think I would do again here as it was a restricted menu I would just go for the full italian menu. I would recommend staying here for the trains into newcastle and if you got a good deal when flying from newcastle. we got in the wrong lane when going to the hotel and ended up in the airport straight in and out and got charged a £1 at the barrier. Dont think there were any flights at night and the early morning ones didnt bother us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember03312015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Food and Beverage Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear honky2,

I would like to thank you for your comments, it is only through feedback that we can develop our business. We have developed our Coeliac Menu to ensure we can cater for a broader range of dietary requirements, it was introduced during the weekend of your stay and for any inconvenience caused I would like to apologise. Sufficient training and communication has now been done to ensure the menu is a success.

I look forward to welcoming you back in to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards
Matthew Sheath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

superb quality food and service, beds extremely comfortable. The staff were the most helpful I have ever encountered in an airport attached hotel. It was easy access to the city via the metro rail system

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for business in the Newcastle area and it is excellent for this purpose. Easy to get to, plenty of parking, very helpful and attentive staff, large and newly furnished rooms. All round would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed recently on a business trip to Newcastle. Having a late arrival we stayed at the airport rather than go into the city.

Friendly welcome on arrival including the always welcome Doubletree cookie. Rooms were fine, nice big comfortable bed everything you need for a night. The bathroom was compact but well equipt with a great rain shower with separate hand held unit to wash those areas not easy to clean with a rain shower!

The bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant and this was not bad, a decent breakfast sausage and scrambled eggs that weren't rubbery like many hotel breakfasts.

Would definitely recommend this as somewhere to stay on a quick business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDonkeyCentreHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is located so very close to the airport, you may be concerned about noise - well, there is none. The hotel is very well built to a high standard throughout, including in the rooms. The bath/shower was a little bit small for me - I'm 6ft2 and need some space - I would prefer to have just a nice shower, don't bother with a bath fitting. The rooms were on the whole super comfy. There is a gym here, which I could see from my room and looked well fitted out also. The restaurant was comfortable and provided a good quality of food. Room service was provided to typically high Hilton standards. This is another good quality Hilton hotel - and at a reasonable rate which makes the experience even more appealing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank timmeh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed wee recently as it was recommended by a friend for their wedding. If you are looking for an airport hotel ahead of/after a flight this is a great hotel.

All staff we dealt with were wry friendly & helpful.
The room was a fair size, modern & clean. The gym was good though not a lot of equipment.
Would stay again if needed a hotel in this area & would reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,078 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,071 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing