We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good airport hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed recently on a business trip to Newcastle. Having a late arrival we stayed at the airport rather than go into the city.

Friendly welcome on arrival including the always welcome Doubletree cookie. Rooms were fine, nice big comfortable bed everything you need for a night. The bathroom was compact but well equipt with a great rain shower with separate hand held unit to wash those areas not easy to clean with a rain shower!

The bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant and this was not bad, a decent breakfast sausage and scrambled eggs that weren't rubbery like many hotel breakfasts.

Would definitely recommend this as somewhere to stay on a quick business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDonkeyCentreHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    594
    117
    35
    39
See reviews for
236
891
126
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is located so very close to the airport, you may be concerned about noise - well, there is none. The hotel is very well built to a high standard throughout, including in the rooms. The bath/shower was a little bit small for me - I'm 6ft2 and need some space - I would prefer to have just a nice shower, don't bother with a bath fitting. The rooms were on the whole super comfy. There is a gym here, which I could see from my room and looked well fitted out also. The restaurant was comfortable and provided a good quality of food. Room service was provided to typically high Hilton standards. This is another good quality Hilton hotel - and at a reasonable rate which makes the experience even more appealing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank timmeh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed wee recently as it was recommended by a friend for their wedding. If you are looking for an airport hotel ahead of/after a flight this is a great hotel.

All staff we dealt with were wry friendly & helpful.
The room was a fair size, modern & clean. The gym was good though not a lot of equipment.
Would stay again if needed a hotel in this area & would reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and it is a great hotel for business. Check in is always fast and friendly. The rooms have the new feel to them and all you are looking for for business and good internet. The hotel is great for Newcastle if people will come to you, just book a conference room and then you get a good package including lunch for every one and then you can just hop on the plane back to London.

The small gym really works and had a great view as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The DoubleTree faces the Airport building, so we're talking real walking distance here, even with bulky luggage. It offers good deals (I stayed in a King room with free wi-fi for £80) with rooms which are reasonably spacious and decently fitted.
The hotel restaurant is slightly above average, with good service overall. It is Italian-themed and offers a variety of classics, although I was more or less fortunate with my own selection, a bit too revisited to my taste.
Efficient check-in (with one free cookie, which is a bit odd, but still nice, in the evening) and check-out.
Overall, easy-to-use wi-fi and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear MCMember, many thanks for your thoughtful review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the amenities in your room and your meal in our Italian Restaurant. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I definetely enjoyed my stay in doubletree.
It is right in front of the airport entrance, therefore you just leave the hotel and a couple of minutes later you are in the airport.
There is also a metro stop just steps away.
Bar and restaurant experience were just alright as well.
Rooms are clean and spacious, there is a bath for bath lovers, as well.
Breakfast is just good enough for a lovely english breakfast experience.
Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ersinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

as had a flight back to Exeter the next day and as there was only one flight a day and it was fairly early we decided to stay at the Hilton which was superb. The room was so quiet! staff both in reception and in the restaurant were so friendly and helpful - there was even Gluten free bread provided at breakfast which for me was the icing on the cake as it were!
Would most definitely stay there again if we needed too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,078 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,267 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing