We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best hotel in the North East Ease of access to A1 and North East Regions and just a few minutes from Newcastle City Centre. Contemporary and Modern hotel with friendly and welcoming staff only too happy to make your stay pefect. Spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and large screen TV. Fratellos restaurant attached offers really great food at reasonable prices and again staff have great personalties and the ability to deliver great service. This is my favourite Hilton in Newcastle area knocks spots off the Hilton in gateshead Highly recommended its 10 out of 10 I stay nearly twice a month for 5 days

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    600
    118
    36
    39
See reviews for
239
904
128
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stay in the hotel a couple of times a month as it has excellent connections but mainly, apart from being reasonably priced, is the staff as they are always welcoming and always will to help. The rooms are always clean and bed is v.comfy they also provide packs with tooth brush toothpaste and shaving items which is also handy if you are forgetful. The restaurant is very good and the bar is reasonably priced for meals compared to other hotels. The gym is quiet but well equipped but ultimately it is the staff that make my stay a pleasure. I would personally, on this occasion, like to thank them for identifying that I had left my jacket behind and going to some effort to contact me to confirm they had it.

Room Tip: Stayed in several rooms in the last year and all have been excellent and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whithorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed the night before flying on holiday, and upon return.
The room was of a reasonable size, very cumfortable and nicely decorated, ours was a 'Kingsize'.
If that were not enough the restaurant is well worth visiting even if you are not staying.
Excellent service, nice varried menu and wine sellection.
Can not wait to go back.
But do try to avoid the nights of local football matches!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Martin S, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable, and that you found your accommodation to be comfortable and modern. Our restaurant serves a varied Italian themed menu at excellent value and our location makes us perfect for guests flying in and out of Newcastle Airport. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Top notch airport hotel. Far superior to adjacent Brittannia. Bar has good food and surprisingly good music thanks to Dan C. Rooms fine and clean. 'Free wifi' is at dial up speed - if you want to do anything need to upgrade and pay thro the nose. Only other downside was bar that had run out of white wine and tonic after a heavy wedding weekend. Management should note there is a 24/7 supermarket within 5 minutes where these are on sale.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank washbis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a lovely stay here the night before our flight from Newcastle Airport, only downside was having to get out there wonderful comfy bed at 3am for our early morning flight, we ate in the bar in the evening & the food was of a good quality & enough choice for a bar menu, there is also an italian restaurant but we were happy with the choice in the bar.
The rooms are lovely & the welcome cookie on arrival was a nice touch, would definetly stay here again prior to flying from Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kswan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay here the night before we flyed. Very close to airport. Walking distance. Very clean rooms and bathroom with toiletries. Upgraded to a deluxe room but never got this. Was informed the only difference with a deluxe room was bathrobes, fruit and water. Had a meal in the Italian restraunt within hotel which was very expensive and it's not fresh pasta.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelly150474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great stay with a nice comfy bed .Only 100 yards from the airport and a great link with the metro as we came in on the train Brilliant coming back as we managed to get into our room early after a very long haul flight Great breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear william s, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, thank you for your kind comments. Our location makes us perfect for flying out of Newcastle Airport, and I hope that you will come back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing