We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean &convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great stay. Had a 4.30am start next morning so it was good to have a comfy quiet bed the night before. My holiday started here. Recommend to anyone who wants convenience of being within walking distance to check in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    563
    106
    32
    38
See reviews for
218
829
117
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Its a 2 minute walk to the departure lounge, and the Metro station. Direct Metro to Newcastle City Center. They do breakfast from 4am. I went there for my birthday, becase we liked the hotel, and got a good deal. With a Hilton Credit card, we got 2 rooms for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Lloyd C, thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us for your birthday, I hope that we can welcome you back for more special occasions in the future. It is very beneficial to join the HHonors scheme in order to receive special offers and opportunities at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is an excellent hotel just yards from the terminal of Newcastle Airport. We had a deluxe room which was well appointed and comfortable - ditto for the bathroom. Soundproofing was good and we slept without any disturbance.

Breakfast was the usual buffet selection with fried eggs to order. Also included quality beef and ham, and smoked salmon whilst we were there. We had a bar meal one evening - fish and chips - and very good too. The breakfast restaurant and bar staff were friendly and efficient.

The only downside is the distance from the city centre - which makes leaving bags at the hotel on your last day whilst you explore a bit impracticable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree when visiting some friends in town.The facility was good.It was very quiet despite being next to the airport.The staff were friendly and helpful and my overall stay was very satisfactory. My only gripe is that over the past 3 months or so they have gone from offering some 3-4 draught beers in th e bar to a single offering when I stayed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a family due to an early holiday flight the next day. Hotel doesn't do family rooms but we were able to book a cot. It's a shame they don't offer this option as the rooms are far nicer than either of the other hotel choices.
It was irritating upon arrival to have to 'prove' we had booked valet parking. At £20 extra and a set price booking you would think this would be obvious. The surly receptionist didn't make this easy plus there was no one to help with our bags. Even a paid extra porterage service may be a good extra ?
Food in the Italian was good , service was really friendly .
The upgrade was really worth it ! Our little girl loved the runway room and watching the planes take off.thr room / bathrooms were well furnished and very comfortable.
Despite adding it to my booking notes and calling a few hours before arrival , nobody deigned to tell me that bedding couldn't be provided for a child. Really not a huge deal at the time but it has since become so.
I added my feedback to a survey sent by the hotel only to receive a 'combative' response apparently disproving my points. (Without checking facts) I'm now a very dissatisfied customer , no further response has been received from the hotel.
Beware of giving any negative feedback as it will result in a points scoring exercise.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank nialls_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear nialls_angel, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointment regarding the response you received from our Front Office Manager, I can assure you that all feedback, be it positive or negative, is important to us and is taken with the utmost seriousness. If you would like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

1 Location: terrific! The metro almost get to the reception desk! Only 20 minutes and you get to the city centre!
2 Reception: what is waiting for you it is a warm and delicious chocolate cookie and fast check in.
3 Room: Hilton standard, amazing bed, good bathroom with shower, good size flatscreen LG. It only needs a deep dusting...
5 Breakfast: from the past reviews I was a bit concerned about it but From my perspective It was great, relaxing atmosphere, helpul staff and large variety of food... all very fresh and well presented.
Overall: do not think it twice, just book it! You will not be disappointed!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nuchesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Doubletree is a fairly new, modern and comfortable hotel ideal for the early morning holiday flight. Deals with the long stay airport parking give superbly priced packages. The hotel is quiet, has a restaurant and bar and has very early breakfasts. The departures desks are 200 metres away and the car park shuttle bus less than that, if you need it at all . There is also a park and collect service if you want to be pampered. On line through Newcastle Airport site is best way to see deals. Used it a few times and will continue to rather than pay nearly as much for a taxi from and to our home 40 miles away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithwolviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing