We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Night's sleep”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Doubletree following a shopping expedition to the Metro Centre. It is only about fifteen minutes in the car from the Metro Centre so a good place to stop over.

This is literally within the airport campus which surprised us a little but once we were in the hotel we wouldn't have known that the airport was next door. We only heard a couple of planes and even that wasn't very loud.

The rooms are modern and very well fitted out, the bathrooms are spotlessly clean and have a good range of toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable and the temperature of the room could be adjusted to suit our preference. This combined with the blackout curtains gave us a superb night's sleep - just remember to set your alarm!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    600
    118
    35
    39
See reviews for
238
902
128
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've stayed at the Doubletree a couple of times this year and both times it has been such a pleasure.

The hotel is a relatively new build and everything is well maintained and clean. The service is very efficient and unobtrusive. Very nice rooms that are a good size and the place just simply feels like home.

The restaurant is fine, breakfast in the morning is good, however the bar is very much recommended with excellent cocktails and good bar food served. Always found the staff be very pleasant and genuinely interested in the guests.

Very much recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at Doubletree by Hilton for 2 nights on a business trip and was blown away as I was not expecting anything significant from an airport hotel (based on past experience). Well I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very modern and CLEAN :-))) The room smelt lovely and fresh and it just did not have that typical 'hotel' smell. Linen was soft and clean, comfy pillows and bed and nice big room with a lovely bathroom. Added to this the staff were really personable and nothing was too much trouble. Very nice Italian restaurant and bar with good selection and great service. Oh yes, very quiet too! What can I say, I will be back and would highly highly recommend to everyone, not just as a business hotel! By the way, you can easily walk there from Newcastle Airport, just turn left out of the terminal and it is across the car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good hotel, very clean and as you would expect its quite a way out of Newcastle but the price you pay is good value for money.
One thing Mr Manager if you read this review go and try the english Breakfast.
Its kept warm in those heaters with the lids on but everything is swimming in water. It is truly awful.
Surely your chef and staff could see this and it is the only negative about this hotel.
I mentioned it at checkout and hope you got the feedback.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rugbyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Loved staying here, beautiful room, cool bar and restaurant, staff very friendly, loved my cookie on arrival, any time I'm in the area i wouldn't hesitate to return. Easy walking distance to terminal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhuari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent stay at this hotel great value, great service and in the in house italian restaurant was a great choice for the evening meal I'm thinking of booking a flight from Newcastle airport just to use it again !

Room Tip: There all good rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A great hotel with excellent restaurants, the Italian being my choice. Superb rooms. Free wifi. Nice big flatscreen TV. Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't be any closer to the terminal (less than 100mtrs).

Room Tip: Some rooms have (superb) shower, some have bath. Request your preference when booking your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linfo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,209 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,095 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing