We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Want a good hotel before your flight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Co Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Want a good hotel before your flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want a really good hotel for a good nights sleep before you fly, the Double Tree by Hilton is the one you need. Excellant hotel. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The bar is welcoming and the food is great. You can either eat in the restaurant or in the bar. And the prices are pretty good to. The staff are all friendly. Its only a short walk across to the terminal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    523
    100
    31
    36
See reviews for
208
789
110
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton at Newcastle International Airport before. We stayed in Room 152, great! The staff were all excellent and friendly, including those on reception. We stayed on a DB&B rate which was good and the food and staff in the Italian restaurant was excellent. Parked in the free underground car park was safe and secure and this time had signs to show you how to get to reception, (well done).
Had to get up very early to put my wife on an early flight to Belfast International for a surprise birthday visit for her sister, but breakfast, 4.30am-10.30am was again great as were staff, (even at 6.00am). Well done! It was also on the 17th November.

Room Tip: Room 152 is a long walk from the lift, well worth it for room size and runway view. Room quiet, bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a wonderful stay at the Hilton Newcastle Airport!

We stayed at this hotel on 17th November with a large, all female group and what a fab time we had. Beautiful clean rooms, delicious evening meal and breakfast, helpful and friendly bar and restaurant staff! The hotel is a stones throw away from the airport and a 15min drive into Newcastle Town Centre.

I have stayed in many of the 'Hilton' hotels an I regularly stay at the Hilton Deansgate in Manchester. This hotel is definitely up there with the best of them and very good value for money!

I do have to mention that a blonde receptionist took an immediate dislike to the group and she was very rude and extremely unhelpful on more than one occasion. This resulted in a few upset girls in our party. This lady was very hard faced and had very little people skills. This particular member of staff is in the wrong job and would benefit from some customer service training if she is going to continue working for this popular hotel chain! This is no reflection on the other staff members who we found to be very friendly, pleasant and extremely helpful. The bar staff shared their knowledge of the local area and the waitresses in the restaurant were very happy and eager to please (a credit to the place).

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic_loves_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Used this hotel for overnight stay before flying out of Newcastle Airport early in morning. Very warm welcome from staff, upgraded to superb room with huge comfortable bed, and had an excellent (and inexpensive!) meal in the hotel restaurant, with, again, very friendly and helpful staff.

Have no hesitation in booking here. This is a hotel well run, and which many lesser places might use as a role model for what a guest would hope to find.

Oh, and it was only 100 metres walk to the airport terminal, with airport trolley's available outside reception.

Well done, to all concerned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a really good hotel. We stayed the night before we flew out on holiday. The only reason it did not get a higher rating was because when we went to our room it was not made up. Called reception and someone came up and gave us an upgraded room and a heart felt apology. Our room was very large, king size bed and all the comforts.restaurant was great.food was really good ,wine was not expensive. Would stay again. Our package included car parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamleaderScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here several times and will keep coming back. Fantastic in every way, staff, facilities, location, room, bed etc. A great advert for the Hilton group, the staff are a credit to the brand. rooms are a good size and well equipped. Free wifi is a bonus albeit I regard this as a must have in this day and age. Beds are sooooo comfy! Perfect for anyone staying in or around Newcastle. 15 minutes drive to city centre, Metro 2 mins walk away if you don't want to drink and drive. Airport check in 2 minutes walk away but rooms amazingly insulated so no noise at all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here twice now and i cannot fault it! The beds are to die for!! Literally on the airport so no need for buses etc! Loved the cookie you recieved at reception aswell...

Definately staying here again...Starts the holiday off great!!... Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
6.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing