We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Lancers

Lancers
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Bawtry
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Exquisite Indian Dining
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Quite rushed, the staff were ok, but we found them a little distant and unhelpful, the food was ok, slow service food only luke warm. Waited so long for someone to come and take our order for coffee and dessert we didn't bother. A little disappointed we think.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rowent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Away from the elements”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

On a typical cold rainy March night, we decided to cheer ourselves up and go for an indian, so we went to Lancers. the food was fine and good sized portions, and staff were helpfull. the only issue i had, and i only noticed it as i stood up to leave, was that the accompanyments for the popadoms, were stood under the bar sink in large containers with no lids on. this is not good practise. lookinto this lancers please. but apart from that, and it being a bit pricey, as Bawtry is, we enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forget this awfull restaurant”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Forget this dreadful restaurant. For some reason everyone believes that restaurants in Bawtry are good - these are people without any taste at all! The staff were dismissive, food was boring, absolutely tasteless - this is the worst Indian restaurant I have ever eaten in. It is over priced and descriptive. I ordered Balti! What arrived was a pink tasteless mess. Save your money - avoid Bawtry and go to Sheffield or Doncaster! This pretentious mess is unacceptable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good curry, shame about the waiters!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have visited a couple of times now. The food is good, and a pretty good range on the menu.

But the waiters are so unfriendly! Quite honestly, it's as if they don't want you there at all. We have been hurried along at both meals, which is a bit of a shame. Especially when you consider the amount we spend in there.

We said the first time that we wouldn't go back again, and only did because the Dower House was closed.

Such a shame, because the food is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scaltini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Decided to treat my Mrs and have a midweek night out to try and dispell those mid winter blues(February). So after a few beers around Bawtry(the Ship had great real ales), we visited the Lancers for a curry to round off the evening. The food was excellent and portions more than enough(so much so we asked the waiter to put some in a container to take home). One of the best provincial curry's i have had in a long time. Decor is a little bit dated, but the food was so good that this would be nit picking in the extreme..I would definitely return here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy1226793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancers also viewed

Bawtry, South Yorkshire
Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 
Blyth, Nottinghamshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lancers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing